What are the signs of a drinking problem…

There you are happily drinking your wine on a Friday night.  You pour the last glass, so you throw the box into the kitchen bin.

Yes, I do realise how trailer-park that sounds.

I am not going to start defending myself because I drink wine from a box, as really there is no defense other than it stores nicely and decants easily.

Kennith also bought the box for me, so it is very special and dear to my heart. Combined with the fact that I also have rather low standard when it comes to wine.

So I just finished the glass … as you do … it always come as a surprise as you reach for your glass, throw it back and realise it is empty … it is always a shock to me.

I thought to myself … I wonder if there is a new bottle in the fridge …then I thought, I did not actually squeeze the bag out … I just assumed it was empty and tossed it.

Parked my dignity.

Walked down to the kitchen.

Retrieved the box from bin.

Cut open cardboard, took out silver bag, gave it a good squeeze and for all my effort got about 12ml of wine and a “poof” of air… it really is a sad day over in my neck of the woods.

Sidebar:  I did google alcohol abusers versus alcoholics earlier this week.  I got really excited when I realised that I do not really match the traits of an alcohol abuser.  But then a bit depressed when I realised I matched a few too many of the traits of an alcoholic …. yikes …. still does not solve my box problem though ….

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I also drink wine from a box and if that sounds sad – so be it. I think I still have a box in the bar – hopefully it has more than 12ml.

    Reply
  2. I am new to this but would love to share. I work, have two beautiful boys but still fight the urge to open a bottle of wine each morning. I want to stop but find it very difficult.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 14, 2010

      I tend to go to work, so I find that helps me not open a bottle of wine in the morning – however I think if I was a SAHM I would probably uncork around 11am – I also accept that as time went by, I would probably start a bit earlier each morning – and no doubt end up uncorking before I made myself a cup of tea in the morning. It is all a very slippery road …..

      Reply
  3. The scenario you describe is not anything like an alcoholic. I had two relatives which was alcoholics and the things they did was to drink to get drunk, to drink every night (sometimes starting in the afternoons) & to take alcohol to work (when they saw that drinking in afternoons till late in night was not enough anymore.)

    Reply
  4. Tania

     /  September 13, 2010

    U’re a real treat!!! Thanks for putting such a good start to my week :-) I think I would drink a lot more if it wouldn’t damage my body and health any further, thus my reluctance, but believe you me, I really fight back the urge most days…

    Reply
  5. I love my wine too and often have the same problem of reaching for a swig and realizing my glass is empty, it happened last night a few times, while sitting in the playground area of our local Spur surrounded by screaming children!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 13, 2010

      The Spur … the Spur …. the Spur …. yes that may well be where my problems started …. might be, probably not ….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 622 other followers

