Girls in cars …. praying

Yesterday on the drive home, Georgia pipes up from the back seat that I need to turn the radio off.  When I ask why, she says that she needs to pray.

Georgia has never struck me as uber-religious, but who am I to stand in the way if a little girl wants to have a chat with her creator?

So music goes off and from the back of the car I hear (add a lisp and a small speech impediment for effect):

“Thank you God for my mommy …

Thank you God for my mommy’s mommy …

Thank you God for my mommy’s mommy’s tummy …

Thank you God for my mommy’s mommy’‘s tummy where my mommy Celeste was…

Thank you God for my mommy’s tummy where Connor, Isabelle and me lived …

Thank you God for my mommy named Celeste ….

Thank you God for the pretty houses made of bricks …

Thank you God for the animals on the farm ….

Amen”

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Oh my word,this child sounds too precious for words!

    Reply
  2. Tania

     /  September 17, 2010

    how precious !!!!

    Reply
  3. she so sweet :P

    *Thank you God for creating this innocent sweet child* :)

    J*A*K*E

    Reply
  4. I am not religious exactly, but practicing gratitude has been one of the greatest gifts of my entire life.
    That is so wonderful to hear of a child who is doing it. I hope she keeps it up.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  5. So sweet!

    Reply
  6. Aww.. that’s so adorable..
    Even if you aren’t religious, you are still doing something right to influence her to be a thankful and appreciative little girl. :)

    Reply
  7. So great to read about a child who is religious. So sweet and good. Well done mommy for doing such a great job.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 16, 2010

      She is religious in spite of me, I am afraid, not because of me … I think it is because she goes to a very conservative quite Afrikaans school and they do a lot of bible lessons and so on, but it is still sweet.

      Reply
  8. Nadine

     /  September 16, 2010

    pragtig!

    Reply
  9. Kiki

     /  September 16, 2010

    This daughter of yours is going to keep you entertained for many years to come! She is the sweetest

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 16, 2010

      Yes, I am also looking forward to all the interesting teacher-parent meetings I am going to be having as no doubt my child is going to come out with some real pearlers in classroom situations too!!

      Reply
  10. aww sweet man

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 632 other followers

