You like me, you really like me …..channeling Sally Field

So today I woke up like an excited six year old at Christmas time.

I was really excited it was Monday – and it had nothing to do with going to work, or getting to see the sunny faces of my children – it had everything to do with whether I got shortlisted for the SA Blog Awards.

As much as I like to say I am a good sport, I am actually fiercely competitive, and always like to be in with a chance.

Kennith can testify to this – once he thought it might be a great family get together to do a FunWalk with the kids. What he did not realise is that I would turn it into a race.

I dragged poor Connor kicking and crying through the course.  I think at one point I might have started calling him names and suggesting that he was not man enough for this race (imagine mother poking fingers into son’s chest at about this point) ….  to which he reminded me through tears and snot that it was just a fun walk … no fun here mate, get your arse into gear and let’s beat the other kids!

Okay, so I am not the best at playing well with others, and that might explain my ability to spend a great deal of time with myself by myself.

But back to the focus of my frenzied excitement.

SA Blog Awards were going to short list today and I thought I would patiently wait until I got to the office to check the site.

It would seem that patience (adding it to the pile with good manners, mothering ability, ability to hold my tongue when speaking to bigots)  is not really something I have in buckets.

I started logging on via my phone while driving this morning … I felt a bit bad that I was using my phone whilst driving, but I put it down to an emergency of epic proportion.  If it makes you feel any better, I had dropped the kids off, and I was doing it while sitting at an intersection.

Phone found site, and then I squealed (should I appear less excited, is that the more done thing?)

http://www.sablogawards.com/Categories-2010/Top-Two-per-Category.aspx

I am really chuffed that I got to either be the winner or the first princess.  Of course the winner is better, but the first princess also gets to wear a crown and stand next to the big thrown and sort of lean forward to catch a bit of the spotlight that falls onto the winner … that will be me, sort of leaning forward to catch a bit of the light.  I may attempt to do a bit of photo bombing as well, let’s see how it goes.

So yay for the blog and congratulations to Tertia.  Super yay (said with a touch of a squeal) for all the votes and the very clever judges for voting – I realise I am sounding a little self-absorbed, but I am really very excited over here.

Thanks to everyone for voting and reading ….

<sidebar:  I took a bit of Mefilam this morning as we are off to Zanzibar on Friday.  As a result I am having symptoms of a mild psychotic episode.  That should be fun watching that develop through the day … at the office… with clients here… at the moment I have a very dry mouth and suddenly every sound is amplified and the office lighting is a touch too bright … my skin is also starting to feel mildly sensitive …. what fun today is turning out to be >

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Sue

     /  September 21, 2010

    Well done girl! You are very clever and very, very funny! Keep at it – I get such a thrill when I go and click on your blog and I see a new post. I literally rub my hands with glee and start cackling before I have even started reading. Holding thumbs that you win! xx
    PS. Mefliam/um whatever gave me serious nightmares!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 21, 2010

      mefliam = not a good time
      But I need to think sea, sand, surf, waxed lady-bits, large drink, largish woman massaging me = reason to take mefliam.

      Reply
  2. Annelene

     /  September 20, 2010

    Yay for you :) Congrads!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Tania

     /  September 20, 2010

    you deserve it… excellent blog… besides being a good theraputic tool for you I am certain you have helped many a mom who has felt like she is a terrible mom… any tips on dealing with a 9 year old who has totally lost the plot since his turned 9… really!… its like the someone has switched MY ethan with a good copy but replaced him with a little demon ethan, sigh!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 20, 2010

      I am writing a blog about parenting …. unfortunately I am not able to write about good parenting … so as much as I want to offer you advise …. any right now …. I am totally out of good suggestions …. my son turns nine in December, so I get to deal with it after December – I will let you now if a switch also goes off in his head.

      Reply
  4. Congrats! How exciting for you! I’m not a mom and I live in the States, but I enjoy reading your posts! Anyone who can make puking and motherhood still seem exciting and well written is tops in my book!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 20, 2010

      Thanks very much …. if I make that seem exciting, you must let me tell you about how I administer suppositories … hmmm best I save that for another post. Thanks for reading.

      Reply
  5. I saw last night! :) So happy for you! So you won’t be going to the ceremony? I’m thinking of flying down for the occasion, I’m in the top 2 of New Blog and F&W blog! :) YAY! CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 20, 2010

      Double yay congratulations to you!! I won’t unfortunately be attending, but I am sending my mate Alice to sit/stand/eat/drink in my place. I really am very bummed to be missing it!!

      Reply
  6. Ohhhh-I-see. I thought first and second was already finalised.
    Wow. Well done !

    Reply
  7. Congratulations !
    Was the voting close ?!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 20, 2010

      I have no idea at this stage – possibly all is revealed on the 25th. They have two “finalists” and one is the winner and one is not. Unfortunately I have no idea who I am at this stage.

      Reply
  8. Kiki

     /  September 20, 2010

    Congratulations – you really deserve it! Your blog is just great!!!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 20, 2010

      Thanks, funny, I never get tired of hearing that!! Sad, but true …..

      Reply
  9. Congratulations! Well deserved!

    Reply
  10. Yeah! I voted for you. I love Tertia, but I feel we need a new face (you) and let’s face it – you are funnier at present. So I will vote for you again (don’t tell Tertia).

    And seriously, Meflium is no fun! the hubby had huge hallucinations on it – has to stop taking it.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 20, 2010

      Thanks for the vote – Tertia is extremely good, so it is quite daunting to be standing next to her.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

