The Choking Game …

I am amazed at how an innocent drive to drop kids off at school, can add another item to my list of things to worry about regarding my kids.

This subject was totally out of the blue – I flicked a radio channel and heard it as I was going past, and thought “hey what the fk…” or I said “goodness me, what is that…” = you pick the one that sits better with you.

There is a “game” that is rampant enough to warrant a local website and an organisation.  Yes, I am scared!  Never heard of this one before.

This is a ‘game’ where one child makes themself ‘pass out’ – or ‘self asphyxiate’.  Kids choke themselves or have a friend choke them.  For fun.

It can kill them—  it appears to be more common than I realised.  According to the report if I think my kids are not playing this, or there are kids at my kids school who are not already playing this game, then I need to dig my head out of the hole and face reality.

What??? or What the Fk??

This game cuts off the oxygen/blood supply to the brain leaves those who participate in it feeling an ‘altered state’ when they start to become conscious.  Kids are doing this for shits and giggles.

And you thought that the only thing you needed to worry about was Pokemons or your kid listening to Kurt Darren!

As the child lays on the floor ‘twitching’ it is a sign that their brain is having a seizure – the body releases all sorts of chemicals (adrenaline, etc) so that the body hopefully survives.  The release of all the chemicals creates a “high” – this high is addictive, either as a must have, or that is a cool party trick to do with a great feeling side effect.

I’ll say it again “what the fk?”

It often begins with high-achieving teens choking each other as a way to get high without the risk of getting caught with drugs or alcohol. It ends with thousands of kids dying or suffering permanent brain damage each year.

My mouth is hanging open at the concept of “the choking game” existing – what the hell is happening.  I am disturbed that there is yet another thing to add to my list of things to shit in my pants and worry about.

Do I raise this subject with my kids, or do I quietly burrow my head in the sand and ignore it and hope {and pray} that it never darkens my door …… this is a foreign concept in my neck of the woods, I think I might rather discuss o*sex with my kids as a subject than this one.

In all my things I knew to worry about, none of the baby books mentioned this as something I would need to cover.

Resources in the event that this is a new concept to you as well:-

http://chokinggame.co.za/

http://gaspinfo.com/en/home.html

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I heard of it too but this was no surprise to me because when I was in High School, about 10-15 years ago, this game was played along my friend as well. I know of this game and I know how it’s played. I saw a lot of my friends play this game (very scary b.t.w.) But … I sort of wish that this game have died already … seems I’m wrong :(

    Reply
  2. Super scary!! Just read a post on Raising Men about little bunny choking and now I read this! I have a 2 year old and a 13 yr old so doubly scary!!

    Reply
  3. Anita

     /  April 17, 2012

    Being the parent of a nearly 15 year old, this frightens the hell out of me.

    By the time you get your kids to this age and you’d hope they have good manners, do well at school, are generally well-rounded individuals, you think you have parenting waxed. Then something this terrifying pops onto your radar.

    Gives a whole new perspective on the issues we think are important when our kids are little and we sweat over, like breast / bottlefeeding, co-sleeping, whether little Johnny eats veggies.

    Reply
  4. If this surprised you, you and I need to have a little talk. I can give you a few pointers on a lot of more scary things that happened in MY day. And they (the teenage specie) are now even more clever. Like a teenage writer said to me a few weeks ago: “Seks is SO ounuus” when I wanted her to write about it. So instead she wrote about “huffing”.

    Reply
  5. I just wanted to mention Shawn Thomson too (you may remember him as SA’s world champion surfer) – I heard him speak last year too.

    Reply
  6. John B

     /  April 17, 2012

    I know you don’t want to hear this, but I did it in my mid teens, 15/16 years old, probably 3/4 times. in hindsight, it was very stupid. it did feel kind of cool, when you came around.

    kids do stupid things. SO DO ADULTS. we drink and drive, smoke, speed etc. we just hope that we susrvive through it. sadly some don’t. a lot more adults die as a result of alcohol, yet so many of us do it. weird hey?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 17, 2012

      I am stunned, clearly I have been living under a rock …… wow

      Reply
  7. Charlotte aka Scaredmom

     /  April 17, 2012

    This shit is scary…

    Reply
  8. Celeste!!!!!!!!!!! your quotes are hysterical! Are you posting them on Pinterest? I can see the car stickers already!!xxx

    Reply
  9. I had the privilege of meeting Shawn and Carla Tomson last year on their trip to SA. They lost their 14 year old son like this. Have a look at http://www.surfersvillage.com/surfing/21566/news.htm
    They are a fantastic couple and great parents – their son was well adjusted, got great marks at school, was well liked by all and then this happened. I don’t wish it on anyone. I did a brief post about meeting them as well on http://www.lifecherries.com/2011/06/carla-and-shaun-tomson.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 647 other followers

