Off the couch and out the door ….

You know how when you work, you are so busy, but make these mental plans that if you had an afternoon off you would re-arrange the spice rack, cure cancer, and figure out how to reset the flashing time thing on the oven.

I also had those dreams, aspirations and misguided delusions that all full-time working people suffer from.  If only I had some time.

Since finding myself in my altered state of employment,I have proceeded to do next to nothing.  Last week I sat on the couch. Okay I lay.  Not as in the grammatical incorrect “to tell an untruth.”

I literally lay on the couch from Monday through to Wednesday.  I just did not feel like doing anything.  What I did instead was curl up on the couch, with a blankie, a cup of tea and two seasons of Game of Thrones.

That series is brilliant, if you do not mind full frontal nudity (boy and girl) people randomly having explicit sex (this makes Californication look like something you would put on for the kids).

There is a lot of having sex, killing people (sometimes at the same time) a very complex system of kingdoms, and wildly different seasons – but if you look past that (or are motivated by that) a really brilliant miniseries.

I did push myself up off the couch on Thursday and decided to finally get down to the South African Jewish Museum, and the Holocaust Museum in Cape Town.

I have never been, and have been meaning to go there for years.

I had some time after that – what with not exactly needing to get to work and found myself at the South African National Art Gallery.

I must confess that I really had a fabulous day.

But then I sat in traffic for 1 hour and 40 minutes for a drive that should have taken me 20 minutes, and that did take away from the shine a little.

{photographs taken with my iphone using instagram}

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I love your pics! I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award.

    Reply
  2. V

     /  May 7, 2012

    Gam of Thrones is the biznis!! Ok, I heard someone say that, it’s supposed to be hip and happening, what do I know…. Anyhoo, my hubby bought me the first book for my birthday and even though I am busy watching season 2 on the telly right now, it is really nice to read the book as well. Kind of helps you to figure out who is who, those families are soooo confusing. There is this great section at the back of the book where they give a full breakdown of each family, basically a who’s who in the zoo. Awesome!!

    Reply
  3. Deby

     /  May 4, 2012

    Found you yesterday. Just in general, thank you for writing about yourself and then sharing it. For a minute I thought you had been stalking me and then tried to play it off as your own life. It’s nice to know that “you” are not alone/weird/horrible/guilt/guilt/guilt, ya know? Never posted a comment on a blog before but reading some of your blog yesterday helped me realize some things about me I had been avoiding. So, thanks for that too. Oh and I know Dr. CBT too! :) Lots of work that one, but then again so is living in my head without it! Take care :)

    Reply
  4. I also have these visions of myself doing stuff at home when I am that so-far-out-of-reach SAHM! I guess it doesn’t happen? ;-)

    Reply
  5. Oh I can assosiate with just not doing anything. That would be me right now. Although going to a museum sounds rather great too.

    Reply
  6. I like the 3rd photograph with the building reflected in the water. nice.

    Reply
  7. Both days, in and out, sound lovely. I’m a teeny bit jealous.
    Okay, so the timer thing on the oven. Press down the first and second button together. No wait, third and fourth button .. or is it first and third .. ? Anyhoo, you press down two buttons together and then use your up and down buttons to set the time. You don’t have up and down buttons? Oh f@*k it, I dunno then.

    Reply
  8. I must say, that your way of doing things (laying on the couch and watching television), sounds like the perfect way to spend your time at the moment.

    Reply
  9. Oh how I would LOVE to take in a museum or art gallery right now… sitting here bored to death in a meeting (with my laptop, reading your blog, yes), but I know if I was off I’d be lying on my bed doing not much of anything. Funny how when we have time we waste it, yet when we don’t we imagine all the lovely things we’d do with it. I wish I had the energy to be productive when I am not at work…. ENJOY your break. It will probably be over before you know it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 635 other followers

