Facebook Relationship Status married to …. actually that is no longer relevant

I really have not blogged a great deal about the process of divorce.

This process we are going through.

I keep looking at my Facebook relationship status and it says “married” and then I think, no that is not what we are.

Is it complicated or are we separated ….or should I just leave it until we are divorced, and then I only have to push one button.

It is not the time it takes to press the one button, it is just that it again adds “a time stamp” to this process.

It is just another marker on this shit route.  This festival of fucked-up-ness.  I am sure that isn’t a word, but today I really am not giving two flamingos.

Looking at “married” on Facebook somehow disturbs me.   It really does.  I think we aren’t actually – we are in the “between place” — that place of nearly and not at all.

We are no longer married.  Sure we are going through the process so we can get an official document that tells us we aren’t.  But that is just waiting for a sheet of paper?

In my head, and my heart, we are no longer married.  The 20 December 2013 was a defining date in my world.  When things shifted.  A great deal.

In some ways good, in some ways not so good.  I really have tried to constantly keep my eye fixed on the silver lining …. and anyone who knows me will tell you that that is decidedly not my normal style.

I have moved through the various processes of grief a lot faster than I thought I would be able to.  No doubt it is more of a circle of grief, and I will have to go over a few of the ones I breezed over before.

I have been stoic and accepting, and have rolled with this process like a fucking trooper I have.  If there is a shirt for being “accepting and adult” then shits bells I need to get it.

We are no longer married.  We have both stopped wearing our wedding rings.

He did first, and that really hurt me.  It really distressed me.  I know it is silly, but it really distressed me.  I kept thinking “put your freaking ring on …… do it” and then he didn’t.

I kept wearing mine.  Maybe it was whilst I thought that things were not going to go the way I was being told they were going to go.

Then one morning I realised that I can’t actually wear it anymore.  And I took it off.

On that day I told three people we were going through a divorce.  And then three more.  I do not feel married anymore.

No matter how long this process is or how long that piece of paper takes to come through, it is over.  We are no longer married.

This is just the details of that process.

The upcoming m&f (mediation and facilitation) meeting has got me feeling anxious and terrified.  I feel like I am going to be stepping into a room that I am ill prepared to face, and I am terrified of going there.  I know it is a process and we will all sit there like grown ups, but I am not sure I am quite ready to be that grown up, not today.

Every part of me is screaming to postpone to just give myself a few more days to get my head into the right place.

I have asked to postpone it.

I do realise that pushing out and rescheduling something that is horrible and frightening, is not the best way to deal with a heightened anxiety issue.

Anxiety is a bitch, and she crawls in and whispers.

Eventually you can’t actually remember what the problem was because she has created an entirely different set of issues, fueled by anxiety and your mind winding out of control.

So that is how I am feeling today.  Riding that Anxiety Bitch into the sunset as I drink a large glass of wine and listen to Eminem (yep, that tells you something about my mind set right now)

I do want this divorce over with.

I want to click my heels three times like Dorothy and I want it all to be done.  And dusted.

I just do not want to go through the process as we divvy up our lives — it is now down to a spreadsheet, costs, and who should pay and how much ……. cheese and rice how the hell did we get here?

It doesn’t really matter anymore.  We are here.

And no we are no longer married.  But why am I so reluctant to click that stooopid button on Facebook?  But that bitch is getting clicked tomorrow.  Not today, I am just going to stare at it a bit more and sip my wine and listen to Slim Shady.

facebookstatus

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I can’t imagine how hard this must be, you are describing things that would hurt anyone to the point of collapse. All I can say is that every storm does pass, some bring with them more destruction than others, some last longer than others – but they do eventually move on.
    Keep your chin up, remember who and what matters most in these frightening and uncertain times, and keep on keeping on xxx

    Reply
  2. The way forward is definately “no relationship status” – anyone who matters will know what your “status” is… you don’t need a public label.

    Reply
  3. It really is just another shitty reminder that things have changed. Change, often sucks. Good luck, you’ll get through this all but while you are slogging away at it, have another glass of wine.

    Reply
  4. Oh Celeste – this post just describes so well how tough this all is

    Reply
    • I have been fine for so much of this —- but I think yesterday I had a panic attack about the mediation meeting, and I could feel that everything actually was not alright.

      Reply
  5. janefraser101

     /  March 25, 2014

    When I got separated I simply quietly removed my relationship status altogether, it seemed the simplest way to handle it. I haven’t ever put it back, because my status has since remained undefined and frankly I don’t think it needs to be public knowledge.

    Reply
  6. I think it is because it can’t be undone (obviously it can) but once you change it on Facebook it is there for all to see – it makes it real you know? Like before that you don’t have to say anything and no one will know but once you officially put it in writing it makes it so much more real!

    Reply
  7. Good luck and stay strong!

    Reply
  8. Sheila

     /  March 24, 2014

    The head doesn’t find the ‘right place’ until after the horrible and frightening have been confronted! Stand up to the anxiety, screw the FB label, and continue with wine/Eminem girl :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 622 other followers

