Ssshhh don’t tell Peter, Flopsy, Mopsy and Cottontail …

I tend to retain really useless information – like totally irrelevant stuff.

For some reason when I hear something ridiculous I pack it away in my mind and pull it out later – usually when I have had too much to drink, the timing is totally inappropriate and the audience, well, is less than receptive.

That my friends is the way I roll.

Today I was driving and listening to Cape Talk and they had the Giggling Gourmet – Jenny Morris (http://www.gigglinggourmet.com/) on the show.  Someone called in and said that they had some rabbit and what was the best way to cook it.

A discussion ensued that included white wine, celery, lots of garlic and cooking really slowly.  I almost felt like a bit of rabbit myself at that point – yes, the power of radio!

Giggling Gourmet person asked where caller got said “rabbit” from.  He said from a farmer in Somerset West who farmed rabbits.  I am not sure if “farm rabbits” means that farmer got tired of child’s Hassie # 1 and Hassie # 2 and decided to skin them and sell them, or farmer actually has a large paddock were rabbits roam, until he decides otherwise.

I am not quite sure how it works.  Any-the-how caller had rabbit and I sense it was not hopping happily in the back yard at the time of the call.

Giggling Gourmet person then commented that you (the listeners, that would be me) can buy rabbit at Checkers – she actually managed to punt this at least three time in rapid succession.

Checkers is her sponsor (not as in she has an alcohol problem and she can call them any time when she is having a rough moment, but more like she punts them and they give her money … or they give her money and thus she punts them.  I am not sure of exactly what the arrangement is, but I guess it is something like that.)

She mentioned a few times that if you want rabbit then you should go along to Checkers and buy them there.

I thought – good to know!!  (not so much, but I was interested now to pop to Checkers and peruse their meat section – if only to see the sign that says “rabbit” – would it be before or after “lamb” and “chicken” –  Rabbit must be a difficult animal to market to the public who is thinking white and fluffy and twitching pink nose.  But they do manage to sell lamb – and that animal is pretty sweet, so I guess an ad agency out there needs to just get on board with the rabbit and we will start seeing Rabbit boerewors, Rabbit on a stick, you get the idea.)

Then she said something quite interesting – “Checkers sells rabbits with their heads on…”

Mmmmmm … another interesting tit-bit of information gathered on my drive …

Even I can recognize radio static …. and for the record if you have ever listened to 567 Cape Talk you will know radio static is a permanent feature of their transmission, but I digress.

She says – and here is the interesting part : “The reason that they sell rabbit with their heads on, is so that people can not sell you cats …..”

You can recognize when a cooking show takes an awkward turn, I would say this would be one of those moments.

I now know that rabbits look much like cats when skinned (odds are taste the same) and the only differentiation is the size of their ears …  and who says you do not learn interesting facts when reading blogs?

Now off you go and work that in to conversation today – I am going to casually raise it as lunch chatter at Sunday lunch …

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. julz

     /  July 5, 2010

    I listened to this feature and was horrified that they sold the rabbits with the head still intact.

    Oh and you still plan on marrying him after that?????

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 5, 2010

      I thought I was not the only person who heard this and was seriously bothered by heads-on-rabbits!!!!

      Reply
  2. Hilary

     /  July 5, 2010

    Can you hear my stomach turning. EEEEWWWWWWWW 😦

    Reply
  3. Hi there, this is that Giggling Gourmet person Jenny Morris,
    I enjoyed the read, I do try and help when listeners call in and want more information to direct them where to find the products being discussed.

    Checkers do have rabbit and other exotic meats like crocodile, warthog and quails at selected stores in the Western Cape, I know of new products they bring in from time to time as I do some work for them at times on food shows, they however do not sponsor my show on Cape Talk.

    Because Checkers stores are wide spread it would be easier for the listener looking to purchase rabbit to maybe give them a call and see which stores would stock them. The reason for rabbit having its head on when sold is a universal practice, I take people on FoodTours and have been am told this they are very cat like therefor the head and tail should be present when purchasing rabbit.

    Besides Checkers there is a butcher in Kloof Street, Gardens Cape Town called The German Continental Butcher he also stocks a range of game and exotic meats, and I know a company Wild Peacock (ask for Sue) who supply the hospitality trade.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 4, 2010

      Thanks Jenny – the story was really funny for me when I was listening as my partner had cooked and served rabbit to me unknowingly several years ago …. and I am still annoyed at the thought.

      Reply
  4. Kristin

     /  July 2, 2010

    Has anyone actually seen this rabbit at Checkers in the meat fridge? I’m going to look today. I find it hard to believe that none of us have ever seen this there before. Maybe you have to ask for it at the butchery?

    Reply
  5. I do not want to see that skinned rabbit with the head on in Checkers! Nope! But I have had rabbit for dinner more than once (in Europe and at german and flemish friends here) and it is quite tasty. But then again, I do not want to cook it.

    Reply
  6. gloeiwurmpie

     /  July 2, 2010

    I hope your children didn’t see “alice in wonderland”, otherwise you might be a bit unpopular…:)

    Reply
  7. oh my gosh I think I just threw up a little. I will certainly use this info in my next anti-meat eating rant!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 2, 2010

      I won’t tell you the story then of how Kennith one day secretly made be rabbit stew and fed it to me – knowing full well that I thought it was chicken – and he knew that I had SPECIFICALLY EXPRESSED that I did not want to eat rabbit … and then when I was finished he said “was it good?”

      he had just made me dinner, I was not going to say “No actually it was a little bland, so I said, it was great.” He then went: “Ha ha, you just ate rabbit, told you you would enjoy it …”

      He can’t understand why I got really angry ………..I still get annoyed when I think back to that.

      Reply
      • *shivers* agreed that is NOT cool.

        (Hi and pleased to meet you by the way I started reading your blog and just jumped into commenting as if I knew exactly who you are and you know exactly who I am LOL! I am hooked and you write beautifully!)

        Reply

Leave a Reply

