Connor’s take on wedding days …

I just thought of something today that Connor said years ago.

We were walking through the mall and we were just chatting.  Connor must have been around 4 -5 years old.  I recall Georgia being there, but would have been a tiny little nu-nu at the time.

I think the subject of marriage had recently come up at school.  Connor had assumed Kennith and I were married.  He was at a very strong roman catholic school at the time who believed in family and community values.  Most if not all the parents at the school came from nice mommy-and-daddy-are-married families, so that was what the kids believed to be the “norm” – who was I to shake their little boat?

I was not sure then whether to break it to Connor that actually Kennith and I were not married, but we were living in sin.  So I opted instead to test the waters with him to see what his understanding was of marriage.

This particular day the subject of a wedding or a wedding day came up, and I recall asking Connor why does he think that people have a wedding day.

He said: “So people can dance with each other and kiss each other …”

I thought that would be as good a reason as any to have a wedding.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Tania

     /  July 7, 2010

    Ha Ha …My son, Ethan, was 4 1/2 when His Dad and I finally married… he also had the week long topic at school, for a whole week, in the 1st term, Jason and I married in November of the same year… and NO!!!, it wasn’t because of the lesson at school 🙂 …Ethan just told everyone that HE and His Dad and His Mom were getting married and he was thrilled to be involved in the whole event. He is 9 years old this Saturday and I still don’t think he quite gets it, …he still wonders when looking at our wedding photos where Emily ( his 2 1/2 year sister ) is in the photos. HHHhhhhmmmmm… and he’s a clever boy, I think it just isn’t a priority in his mind. I think I am going to ask him on his thoughts just for my interest sake.

    Reply
  2. What a sweet boy. PS don’t tell him, but we dance and kiss each other too but the wedding thing is not yet on the menu.

    Reply
  3. Nicky

     /  July 6, 2010

    My son apparently shares’ Connor’s view on marriage….last night he saw his dad and I kissing, and he said ” you guys must get married”. out of the mouths of babes- he’s not even three years old yet!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 6, 2010

      One day I’ll post the lecture Connor gave us about a year ago when he realised we were boyfriend and girlfriend AND we were sleeping in the bed … the height of indignation for that little boy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

