The day dawns …

17 July : The morning dawned, I was excited that I got to wake up to peace and quiet … I had booked myself into a guest house for the evening of the 16th. 

If we discount the fact that I had been freezing the night before, and had to contend with a leaking water bottle, it was all quite pleasant to have one night to myself.

I lay there for a few moments toying with whether I should chill and have a long lie in, but then my brain registered the day ahead.  I ran a bath and cautiously headed to open the curtain to check the weather.

July is legendary for very few dry sunny day, and generally weather reports that predict chilly weather with rain, which might explain why it is not widely regarded as a great wedding month.

Of all the things I can control, it would seem the weather was not one of them.  I had made peace with the fact that there was a good chance I was going to be facing torrential downpour and gale-forced winds. 

I flung back the curtain was greeted by shiny-and-oh-so-happy-I -had-a-song-in-my-heart blue skies and not a breath of wind – hells bells, how did we get so lucky!! I might have whooped a bit.  If I was on line I might even have used a smily faced emoticon at this point – I was truly thrilled.

Photographer arrived, flowers arrived, makeup artist arrived, everything was dead on track and going ridiculously well, in spite of my predicting doom and gloom. 

I was getting makeup and hair done.  Sipping a glass of champagne as I dissolved half a dozen Rescue tablets under my tongue.  I sat there slowly gaining confidence that this day might just work.

It was all a carefree morning, buoyed along by alcohol and medication. 

At some point I asked for a time check – 11h30 – I pooped a bit in my new white lace knickers.  We were meant to be at the chapel at 12h15!

Got dressed quickly – as quickly as one can when one is getting corsetted into a rather poofy off-white dress.

Around then I started to panic …. not polite panic, but totally stupid I-am-out-of-my-mind panic. 

Dress was on, shoes were on, makeup was on, hair was done.

I had a bos blomme, everything was perfect, but my mind decided that about now was time to leave the realm of calm and enter total PANIC station.

Shame poor photographer. 

She was trying so very hard to get “peaceful bride before wedding photographs” …. all she got was “totally stressed bride who physically was not able to smile” photographs.

We managed to get ourselves clean, had more Rescue tablets, and got my arse into a car to go to the wedding.

We’re in the car, Joyce up front with Leon driving, me in the back, with Georgia kitted out as flower girl. 

We are drive out of the guest house, and Georgia pipes up: “Let’s go find a wedding!!”

Yes, lets …..

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Mandi Earl

     /  July 20, 2010

    Hi there! WOW – the photos are awesome – Megan really inspires me – love her photography! Celeste, you looked stunning….the kids and Kennith too, of course!

    You know the best part about reading your blog, is ‘hearing’ you write it – knowing you gives a whole new meaning to your story! Keep going – you give us all a good chuckle when we need it!

    Thank you for an awesome day on Saturday – we thoroughly enjoyed the wedding!

    Lots of love…xxx

    Reply
  2. Jeanne Campbell

     /  July 20, 2010

    The black/white pic of you here made a tear in my eye!!! PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT You!!!! Absolutely beautiful C.x

    Reply
  3. WOW! You look amazing! You totally deserved to have that full scale wedding and you pulled it off to perfection!

    free classifieds ads

    Reply
  4. Gorgeous! Absolutely breathtaking.

    Reply
  5. Oh I am so glad you had great weather. I was in Cape town the morning of the 17th – it was freezing and raining, all the way to Paarl, and I worried about your wedding….

    Reply
  6. Kiki

     /  July 20, 2010

    Oh WOW you look absolutely stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  7. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Reply
  8. mums-love

     /  July 19, 2010

    GORGEOUS! Absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful bride in a beautiful dress! WOW

    aaaaaaaaaaaand CONTRATULATIONS! 😀

    XX

    (told you i’d be refreshing the site!) hehe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

