Life’s little lessons ….

Connor and me driving home from school on Friday.

Connor: “There is a boy in my class, he is not in my class, he is in the other English class, and he was born deaf.”

Me: “Really?”

Connor: “But he had an operation and there is this thing inside his head and then there is this thing stuck here behind his ear and now he can hear. He has an operation – but it was a really expensive operation, but he can hear.”

Me: “It is called a cochlea implant and it is an expensive operation, but isn’t it wonderful that he can hear?”

Connor: “Mmmmm …. but it is so expensive that not everyone can afford it.  What about the poor kids who are born deaf who cannot have an operation because it costs too much money?”

Me – choking back a lump in my throat: “Yes my boy…”

Connor: “It really is not fair … “

Me – a little tear escapes from my eye and travels down my cheek… “Huh-huh…”

Connor: “But life is not fair is it?”

I am convinced that Connor is an old soul trapped in an eight year old boy’s body ….

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Argh RM this really brought tears to my eyes. Such a sweet child.

    Reply
  2. He definitely sounds like an old soul. Special little boy he is.

    Reply
  3. Nisey

     /  September 7, 2010

    so much compassion in such a little soul. beautiful.

    Reply
  4. Tania

     /  September 7, 2010

    what a lovely boy Connor is… I hope that life is fair to him 🙂 …he deserves it for his 8 year old sense of compassion.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 7, 2010

      I worry about him – he is too sensitive and feels too much for his age — I think he is going to have a hard life. I also worry that he is probably more susceptible to picking up my depression – and that is a hard road for him to travel …. poor lamb chop.

      Reply
  5. It nice that your son realize that life is unfair. I struggle to get that into my son’s head though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

