It’s how you market it ….

Georgia is a very head-strong girl – we do not know where she gets that from, but we are looking in to it.

Anyway, the other day I got her to eat cauliflower – and it was because I stressed the FLOWER part of the cauli – and she liked the fact that it was a flower.  She happily devoured it and then said “yumm” and I thought great.  Another win for super mom.

Last week there are a pile of mixed vegetables on her plate – cauliflower, broccoli, carrots and corn.

Georgia tends to eat with her fingers, so she has eaten the carrots and the corn, and has finished off the cauliflower, but was eyeing the broccoli rather suspiciously.

Georgia:  “What’s this?”

Me: “Broccoli …. eat it, it’s nice..”

Georgia: “Yuck, it’s yucky, I don’t want to eat it.”

Me: “No, it is nice, try it.”

Georgia: “Nooooooo….”

Me: “Just eat it …. EAT IT!”

Georgia: “I don’t like brocolli.”

As I am taking a breath to brace myself for the ensuing fight, Connor pipes up: “Georgia, it is green cauliflower” and then he looks over at me, winking knowingly as if I am in cahoots with his diabolical plan.

I glare at him, and think “what idiot is going to fall for that pearler?”

Georgia” Green cauliflower…?” and takes a bite. “Yum, I like green cauliflower.”

And the proceeds to eat the entire pile.

We gave her broccoli last night and told her it was green cauliflower – she just kept eating without even slowing her pace.

Do I feel a bit bad that I am deceiving my child?  Yes, a bit.

Do I feel a little superior that my 5 year is wolfing down cauliflower, broccoli and prefers salad to chips?  Yes, actually I am practically crowing about it.

Connor, that clever rascal, will be getting an extra boost to his I-want-to-buy-a-nintendo-ds fund!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Haha what a great post! I’ve often wondered if those sortof techniques will work with the nintendo wii or Mxit (in reverse of course 😉

    Reply
  2. Tania

     /  October 20, 2010

    Well Done to Mom and Son 🙂

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 20, 2010

      Unfortunately I can’t take much praise here, but I will take a bit of glory. This morning Georgia was listing some of her favourite food which included: sweet corn, strawberries, cucumber, green flowers and tomatoes.

      I was very proud that broccoli managed to sneak on to the list ….

      Reply
  3. My Mom told us that broccoli was baby trees. We then refused to eat it because we felt bad for the trees! FAIL.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 20, 2010

      Ha ha ….. I personally never ate cauliflower or broccoli and still am very opposed to cauliflower. I can manage a bit of broccoli now and then, but I don’t tell me kids that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

