All clean and shiny …..

I stumbled on Megan Hughes a little while ago when I was pregnant with Isabelle and wanted to do some pregnancy photos.  I decided to commit to a four-photo-package which was maternity, newborn, and then two sets of family shots.

Money was really tight at the time – as it always is – but I saw the value in getting photos done.  I do love good photos, and they last well after the memory of crackers-and-water-to-get-through-the-month has faded.

Megan did some super photos while I was pregnant- my theory is that she can make a block of cheese look good, so it is more because of her that the photos look good, rather than because I looked good at the time.

She did magic photos of Isabelle as a newborn – really really lovely stuff.

We did a great family shoot in about May. I wanted to do some more photos as Isabelle is bigger and has lost that baby part of her – she is a toddler and walking around, so though we have not changed dramatically since the last shoot, I wanted it more because Isabelle has.

Kennith hates having photos taken – to be honest so do I, but I endure it because I focus on the goal (story of my life with so many things actually.)

But anyway last weekend we were hoping to do some outside photos, but the weather turned, and we opted instead to do some studio shots.  Megan has sent me some “sneak preview” shots this morning and I absolutely love them.

I like them because they are not forced and posed – she got so many of us just monkeying around.  I am glad she did not get the one of me screaming at the kids for misbehaving ….

Isabelle – 15 months.  I know everyone says they have the most beautiful child in the world, but I cannot stop myself kissing this child repeatedly … and constantly wondering how something so perfect and divine came out of me!  This photo captures the way she is.

Georgia is at the point where she is a total monkey when you aim a camera at her.  For this entire shoot she kept singing the “elephant song” which is great, not so great if you are trying to get a decent photo.  The head-piece was something she saw the in the studio and decided that she just had to wear ….

Connor feels very awkward and it is quite difficult to get him to just smile “normally” – I asked the kids to hold up their hands to show how old they are – hence the reason Georgia is holding up “five” and Connor is holding up “eight.”

I wanted some individual ones with Kennith and I and the kids …. these worked out really well. (what you cannot hear is me going: “stand still” “smile” “no, not that stupid smile, a proper smile” “do that again and you will get no television” “just do it” “get off that” “no, leave that alone ….”

I love the ones with Kennith and Connor – I can’t wait to see more of those … and we will put up some canvases in his room.

And you are going “don’t you have more children” – and the answer is “yes we do” – but we wanted some shots just with Isabelle here …. also the other two were off destroying Megan’s towels in another room … <sigh>

Group family photos are challenging at the best of times ….

As you can see, this one is not going to plan … and I am also not sure what the plan was exactly …..

 

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Each and every one of them are gorgeous. Love the last one- it’s perfect.

    But I can see that you feel like I do – the amount of energy you spend to get them just makes it barely worth it. That’s why, this year, we will not be doing a big shoot.

    Reply
  2. Group shots are hectic

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous photos. I will have to follow up. I’ve been avoiding a camera due to the pregnancy (ok and prepregnancy!) weight I’ve yet to loose but you’ve inspired me!

    Reply
  4. Mandi Earl

     /  October 29, 2010

    Hi there!

    Wow, wow, wow – these family photographs are absolutely awesome! I actually had tears in my eyes!! I think I need to book a session with Megan while we are in CT in December – I just hope she doesn’t take time off and can do a day for me!

    Stunning…..!

    xx

    Reply
  5. Hilary

     /  October 29, 2010

    Stunning pics Celeste. I think your dress is gorgeous and Isabelle is definately your mini-me 🙂

    Reply
  6. Beautiful!!!!!

    Reply
  7. julz

     /  October 29, 2010

    Stunning, stunning photo’s.

    Reply
  8. Joyce

     /  October 29, 2010

    They are gorgeous. Connor is turning into a real young man now and I just LOVE the pic of him and Kennith looking like they are having a little secret snigger together like men do… probably about something that mom did…

    And yes, Isabelle is the most beautiful little baby (you are not the only one who thinks so!) and Georgia is gorgeous too. She is SUCH a happy child, I just love her spirit!

    Well done, Megan. One day when I have a family I will also be visiting her.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 29, 2010

      Thanks very much for all the nice compliments …. I am always into the black and white shots, but this time around we decided to do the colour ones and wear soem bright clothes. I NEED to get prints/canvases done or I will never hear the end of it from Kennith ….

      Reply
  9. Awesome ! Beautiful-est ! On my list of things to do for and Daina !!!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 29, 2010

      Definitely – Megan has a wonderful flexible/negotiable payment plan that works for me – also I find the kids change so much and we are barely aware of it when it happens before our eyes. I love looking back over photos and realising wow, look how they have developed.

      Reply
  10. These are awesome! I love the family shots!!!

    So so beautiful 🙂

    Reply
  11. Christelle

     /  October 29, 2010

    Absolutely stunning pics! You have a beautiful family!

    Reply
  12. Jems

     /  October 29, 2010

    Love love love the pics!

    We are going in Nov to Megan on your recommendation and I can’t wait!

    Have a fab weekend x

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 29, 2010

      Yay, yay, yay!

      I take some images along before I go for the shoot of the look or feel I want, and then we go along those lines. I often have a clear idea in my mind of what I want to walk away with and Megan is fabulous at adapting to suit what you want, or she will do what she thinks. Her work is lovely – both in and outside the studio.

      Reply
  13. Nayeela

     /  October 29, 2010

    Gorgeous Pics Celeste! I love the last one with your boy holding up your hair 🙂 Lol! And Isabelle and Georgia are both so stunning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

