Boo …. are you scared yet?

This weekend is Halloween.

It is not something we really take part in much – I think primarily because we were not exposed to it as kids, so it is a bit of a “foreign custom” in our neck of the woods.

What I like about it is that you get to dress up and just be stupid.  And then is always the possibility that someone will put sweets in your bucket, which is pretty cool.

Our friends Wayne and Anna throw a yearly Halloween party and they go the full ball.  Everyone dresses up.  They decorate their house and they are great hosts.  Wayne does a great bar thing and it is all around a great evening.

This year we are invited and plan to kick it out there on Saturday night. I have opted to dress as the “corpse bride” and Kennith will be going as “the Joker” –  so that is the plan at any rate.  My friend is out buying me some lace for a veil – because all good corpse brides do need to have veils to protect their modesty.

On Sunday evening we plan to get together with some other moms with kids and do a bit of ‘trick or treating” in our neighbourhood.

Of course we will encounter the “do gooders” who take offense that we have cast a shadow on their doorstep by dressing up and taking part in this unholy thing called Halloween.  I am hoping that even if the fact that we are on their doorstep with a bit too much face paint, a child in a skeleton outfit, a girl dressed as a princess fairy and a baby dressed as a bumble bee – people will have the courtesy to say “no thanks” and not be rude to the kids.

But let’s see how that fares, shall we.

Not something we have done before, but the kids really do enjoy getting dressed up, and are really excited at the prospect of milking the neighbours for some candy.  I do love the way my kids refer to sweets as candy – clearly a sign that I should start limiting american television shows a little more.

So that is our plan ….  I will post some photos next week if you are interested in having a look.

<I am sorry I am not posting posts that make you roll on the floor with laughter, or gasp in amazement.  We have a few things happening on the home front which I cannot blog about, but it is  taking quite a bit of energy and focus from my side.  I find it very difficult to post when there is stuff I want to say, but it probably is not ‘right’ to put it on a public platform, as it also affects Kennith.  Please bear with me, my A-game will return!>

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. We do not bother – nobody does Halloween in our neighbourhood.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 30, 2010

      This is our first year that we are giving it a try – it might suck, and then we will abandon it for next year …. something about trying everything once (except cyanide ….)

      Reply
  2. I will be one of those people who will say nicely: “No thanks.”
    I will never be rude to a kid but also will I nor my kids ever participate in Halloween. No pun intended.

    Reply
  3. LoriF

     /  October 29, 2010

    I lived in the US for a while and really loved halloween. Did not have kids at the time, but certainly made sure I had sweeties for the neighbours kids – it was also an excuse to indulge myself.
    I really miss it – in SA we do not really bother, but in the US they go all out.
    Would you neighbours even have candy for kids that come trick-a-treating?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 29, 2010

      I am not sure if people will have sweets – we might have to just stash some ourselves and maybe turn it into a sweetie-hunt of they come out with very little …

      Reply

Leave a Reply

