Georgia gets hitched …..

Georgia has this boyfriend Jamie – that she adores.

I do realize that 5 ½ is a bit young to be “going steady” but allow me to explain the situation in a bit more detail. 

Georgia used to be at a creche and there was this little boy there named Jamie. From the get go, she spoke about Jamie in soft soothing tones and with a certain sparkle in her eye.

I did not really take much notice as she was also pretty excited about Emma.

At the end of 2008, I took her out of that creche and moved her to a pre-school, so that she could get started on Grade 0.

Jamie remained at the previous school.  Georgia was very sad that Jamie was not at her new school, but she had Emma (Emma had moved schools) and I thought that she would soon forget Jamie.

She didn’t.

Georgia probably spoke about Jamie twice every week.  She didn’t see him, or hear from him, but she referred to him in conversation at least twice a week and reminded me how much she liked Jamie, and that he was was her boyfriend and she was going to marry Jamie.

One evening she bravely told Kennith and I that Jamie was her boyfriend and she was going to marry Jamie.

Kennith told her that she was not allowed to have boyfriends (he was teasing her), and Georgia burst into tears and sobbed big crocodile tears.  Kennith then decided to retract that statement and indicated that she could have boys how were friends, but not boyfriends.

She sniffed and smiled through her tears and told us that Jamie was her boy ….. friend, and she was going to still marry him.

In November last year I called Jamie’s mom and told her that Georgia was still rather taken with Jamie, and maybe we could arrange that Jamie and Georgia got together for a (supervised) playdate.  Jamie’s mom said that Georgia should come to Jamie’s birthday party – and as an extra surprise Jamie was moving to Georgia’s school next year.

Georgia was beside herself with excitement – on both counts.

This year she was even happier and not only was Jamie in her school, but he is in her class.  Georgia is as blissfully happy and in love as any 5 1/2 year old can be (who has remained faithful to her man even though she has not seen or heard from him in more than a year – I know adults who are not that committed).

Today when I fetched her she was telling me that she was looking at Family Barney cards – I have no idea what family Barney cards are, so I just let her prattle on while I attempted to drive.

When I stopped the car she showed me three cards – one had a little girl on it, one had a little boy on it and there was one with a little puppy dog.

So Georgia goes: “This is Kennith when he was a little boy, this was you when you were a little girl and this is your dog!” 

Me: “Okay…”  (clearly the images look nothing like us, but why disagree over this small detail) 

Georgia: “And you and Kennith were best friends…..”

Me: “Sure, Kennith and I are best friends ….. “ 

Georgia: “And you married your best friend…..”

Me: “Yes, Georgia I married daddy and daddy is my best friend.”

Georgia: “And Jamie is my best friend and I am going to marry my best friend ………….” (she sort of squeeled that part out)

Me: “Georgia my love, you can marry Jamie when you turn 37, okay!”

Georgia: “Thirty seven, that is when I am going to marry Jamie…thirty seven”

She was so blissfully happy, I did not want to break it to her that maybe Jamie might have other plans at 37!

 

This is Jamie, who is possibly my future son-in-law …

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Oh man, I think that is ridiculously cute!! Imagine if they actually DO get maRried in 20 (or 32) years time!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 27, 2011

      Yes, then I would be reading this post at thier engagement party …..

      Reply
  2. My Princess has had a marriage proposal at age 4. She wisely decided to discuss it with Father Mark (Catholic school!) who advised her to wait a bit. Her dad was grateful and locked away his shotgun.

    Reply
  3. Tania

     /  March 9, 2011

    Emily turned 3 on 16 December 2010 – By her 3rd birthday she’d already had a 5-6 supervised playdates, with boys!!! She seems to attract the boys. Is it because she has an almost 10 year old brother? She just seems to get along better with boys and their interests interest her. Her 1st, 2nd and 3rd Birthday parties, majority playmates attending were boys, she was actually the ONLY girl at her 1st birthday party. Luckily she does not have a so called BOYfriend but a few of the boys are gagga over her! Hhmmm

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 9, 2011

      Yes, all very disturbing ….. very very disturbing!!

      Reply
  4. Hilary

     /  March 9, 2011

    I know, right? I mean here is me, an emancipated woman with feminist leanings and my daughter comes home telling me that some boy is her king!

    Reply
  5. Hilary

     /  March 9, 2011

    My 5 and a half year old daughter was madly besotted with a boy in her class named Matthew. She told us once that he is like “her brother, her cousin and her king”. We all loved it and teased her about it… sadly she has now decided that all boys suck (except her dad and especially her brother) and she is never getting married and is going to live with us forever. Say it isn’t so!!!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 9, 2011

      …”her king” ………. what are they teaching her at that school!?

      Reply
  6. Sharon

     /  March 9, 2011

    Jamie looks like a real cutie!!!!

    Reply
  7. At least she has the right idea of what she needs in a partner 🙂

    Reply
  8. The friend that made you do it

     /  March 9, 2011

    My two have both had really close friends of the opposite sex over the years. We’ve always encouraged it because every girl or boy needs a good relationship with someone of the opposite sex to give them a sounding board and a way of understanding how the other sex’s head works!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 9, 2011

      I hadn’t thought about that ………. but you are right it definitely will help them understand the opposite sex a bit better and also maybe not be so giddy when they have to deal with boys/girls ……..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

