My wife ….

Kennith sent this email around yesterday – he did not include me on the mailing list.   I started getting email comments from friends and initially I though “what?” – but then I realised what he had done.

I thought it was very sweet, and it is really nice that he is proud of my little achievements.

So here is the email so you can also know:

While my dear wife will go ape if Georgia does not climb in the bath when asked, she does likes to act all “Cool, calm and collected” about her personal achievements so let me share with you some of her latest achievements. 

1)      She has started her photography dream –  having done 4 or 5 shoots already – http://celestebarlow.wordpress.com/ – not sure why she has not posted the wedding shoot photos yet – but it has started.

2)      She was selected for a make-over feature in a HUISGENOOT type magazine – as winner of the Parenting Blog of the Year – and this should direct more feet to her blog as well.

3)      And most excitedly, she has been asked by one of the parenting magazines to write a 600 word article for their magazine – we are not sure whether this could become an on-going feature or a once off, but it is another step forward in her dream of journalism. Once published please ensure that everyone writes a letter to the editor about the “fresh new journalist and her honest, refreshing outlook on parenting”

So I think making headway on two dreams in one month is well worth a special mention. Well done bunny, proud of you!

Also Celeste and Alice are still signed up for the 2Oceans half marathon at the end of April, so there is another achievement just waiting in the wings…

 Kennith you are a good egg!

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Aww.. how sweet of him!

    Love the new* layout to the blog..

    *haven’t been able to pop by for awhile so I don’t know how long ago you changed it.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 23, 2011

      Thanks, you have not missed much, I changed the look recently – the previous one just did not work for me and I kept staring at it and going “work you stupid thing” and sadly it was time to adios it’s arse.

      Reply
  2. that is fantastic, congratulations!

    Reply
  3. Breanna Marcus

     /  March 18, 2011

    I love your blog and I love this! Every man could learn a little bit from your husband…

    Reply
  4. Baie geluk! Ek geniet die blog BAIE , so ek glo die tydskrifartikel gaan baie goed wees en die lesers gaan dit baie geniet!!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 18, 2011

      Thanks for saying that – I did have to read your comment really slowly because my afrikaans is not so great ….. but that you …. xx

      Reply
  5. Sharon

     /  March 18, 2011

    Dying to know which mag, would love to read it! And how precious that he’s so proud of you, must make your heart pump chuckles! 😉

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 18, 2011

      I will let you know when I have written the article and it has been accepted. It is probably a much bigger deal to me than it is to them …. but it is still pretty huge in my little world! But you being a Radio Super Star and all might not realise as you gaze down from your vantage point of fame and fortunte at the little people …. like me ….

      Reply
  6. To Love Bella

     /  March 18, 2011

    oh my GAAAAAAWD Celeste!!!! How proud is he!? How PRECIOUS is that?? I think that he has scored himself some SEERIAAAS brownie points here!!!! What a little lamb dumpling pie he is!!!

    Reply
  7. Wowzer! So happy for you! Really that is such good news! I looked at your photographs and they are really just too amazing! Will you shoot me & Ben when I come to CT next month? I am completely willing to bribe you with wine.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 18, 2011

      You know the way straight to my heart …….. more importantly you and me are so getting together when you get to Cape Town – we can do an awkward first date and then you can really see my under developed social skills first hand!!

      Reply
      • I am coming mid March. I am thinking lots of wine sans kids and deep drunken philosophical conversations about topics of absolute no relevance. Maybe some kareoke. Maybe Mc Donalds at 3am. Just saying. Bring spare clothing, a construction hat, and the details of your next of kin.

        Reply
  8. It counts the most: the compliments from our loved ones! You are lucky! And well done, of course! 😀

    Reply
  9. Yay for you lady, and doing all that you want to 🙂

    Reply
  10. Tania

     /  March 18, 2011

    I am so pleased for you – Not many people get to follow their dreams and make a living from it – So well done and good going to sticking to your dreams. <>

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 18, 2011

      At this stage it is following my dreams …. but not so much maing a living from it ……… still need to brush teeth and march off to work like a normal person ……

      Reply
  11. Bevan

     /  March 18, 2011

    Thanks Kennith for setting the bar really high wrt to ‘being a good husband’ etc.
    Lets just hope that my wife does not read this blog.

    Reply
    • Tania

       /  March 18, 2011

      Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha …i think my husband should read ths blog …

      Reply
  12. scaredmom

     /  March 18, 2011

    WHICH MAG RM? HE IS REALLY A GOOD EGG. DOE SHE OFFER TRAINING?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 18, 2011

      I will let you know when the article is going to be published …. I still actually have to write it and get it accepted …………….

      Reply
  13. joanne

     /  March 18, 2011

    Ok, will remember not to start my letter off with Celeste and her “good egg” said …..

    Remember to keep us posted re: which mag

    Reply
  14. That is so sweet!

    I’m so excited for your regarding both the photography and the article. Can’t wait to read it! In which mag will it be?

    As for the make-over….is that why you were at One and Only?

    I’m so happy about all these good things coming your way after the miserable time you had towards the end of last year.

    Here’s to newer and better things!

    Reply
  15. joanne

     /  March 18, 2011

    He really is!

    Let us know which mag and when so we can buy and support. I will start preparing my “love your new journalist” letter this afternoon

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  March 18, 2011

      Excellent, keep it natural though, must not look too “prepared” and prompted.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

