Go the fuck to sleep ….

Finally a book that caters for the mother in me …. initially I thought this was one of those slightly clever photoshop things. 

Someone scanned in the original book in, edited the text a little, and then when it was really funny, saved the file and spammed it around a bit.

Lots of guffawing when you open the attachment, but we all know no one is actually going to say this out loud, let alone write it down, and find a publisher to publish it.

I mean really, where is the decency?

Being the sceptic that I am, I used the fine and not-undying art of google to look around and see where this came from.  True as nuts, there is the book and if you want the original you can pop along and purchase it at: http://gotheftosleep.com/

I have never heard of Adam Mansbach, but I can say that this book has peaked my interest in him and I might be looking a little closer at Adam from this point forward.

I see that Kalahari has this book available http://www.kalahari.net/books/Go-the-Fuck-to-Sleep/632/41300290.aspx June 2011, so I have added that on my wishlist, and pretty much anyone who is pregnant of having a babyshower in the next few months will be getting one of these books as a present.

Anyway, this file is doing the rounds, and in case you have not seen it here, are a few pages for you – how brilliant is this book?

The illustrations are so divine, and this is such a cool cool book for your mommy-and-baby collection ….

<for the record, five people saw this and sent it to me saying “when I saw this I immediately thought of you….”)

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Just like last night….and the night before that….and the night before that! Thank you sooo much!

    Reply
  2. Thank you Adam Mansbach for echoing the chorus of “f”s at night.

    Reply
  3. heyjo

     /  May 23, 2011

    don’t have a child. wouldn’t be a good mom if i had a child. WANT THIS BOOK!!! brilliant on steroids.

    Reply
  4. Meagan

     /  May 23, 2011

    LOVE it!!! Have ordered a few copies for gifts and for myself!!

    Reply
  5. julz

     /  May 20, 2011

    Fekking hell this is brilliant. I think it may just be a best seller!!!!

    I just put it on my wishlist.

    Reply
  6. Very funny and obviously a market to be tapped. Think I’ll have to black out a few words before this will become a bed-time story for a swearword-absorbing 2year old though. 🙂

    Fabulous fabulous illustrations.

    Reply
  7. Perfect! I am going to add it to my list of Tips on how to survive stork parties!
    Thanks! 😉

    Reply
  8. joanne

     /  May 20, 2011

    5 people hey? so much for being original. Actually your lucky you have such a vast network of content finders and joke referers.

    I only got it once *SULKING*

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  May 20, 2011

      hand pat …. hand pat ….. small back rub ….. feel better Joanne …. feel better …….

      Reply
      • Ooooh! You have a troll! Absolutey sign of success my dear. The rest of us are jealous now…

        Reply
  9. Bwahahaha, THAT will definately be added to the bed-time routine!

    Reply
  10. Yup, I immediately added it to my kalahari wishlist too. Because I laughed till I cried when I read it. And I agree, this is one of those best-ever baby shower gifts. I mean, baby showers suck the lifeblood out of me, and this had got to beat getting fourteen tubs of bum cream and having to fish a lunch bar out of a potty, right? Right. That’s what I thought too.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  May 20, 2011

      Totally, I am so excited about this book ….. like more excited than I should be about a kid’s book ….. but there we go!

      Reply
  11. Jems

     /  May 20, 2011

    What a fab book! What thinking this last night while Jade kept on hopping out of bed!

    So buying us one.

    Tania – I am jealous, very jealous indeed…

    Reply
  12. Oh my hat. I have some ebucks burning a hole in my pocket and a child who wakes 2 – 3 times a night. I wonder if I’ll be able to stay awake long enough to read it. I guess I could get through it while she’s screaming at 3am.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  May 20, 2011

      Clearly you are awake, you might as well read …..

      Reply
  13. Oh this was specially written for me, I think Do you think it also works if they wake up in the middle of the night?

    Reply
  14. Tania

     /  May 20, 2011

    Funny !! Yes, excellent idea as a baby shower gift. We all have our positive points we adore about our kids, well mine is sleep. BOTH kids sleep, they get to bed 8pm, sometimes earlier, sometimes slightly later and they BOTH SLEEP ALL NIGHT LONG… since babies and still do at ages 9 and 3. I’m so lucky !!! 🙂

    Reply
    • For the record Tania, I hate you! Ok, not totally, but every parent deserves one kids that will not sleep just in order to appreciate what others go through. (We have not slept in 4 years – half year of a twin pregnancy and then on.)

      Reply
  15. Love love love it!! Must have a look and see if I can get it! 🙂

    Reply
  16. Romaine

     /  May 20, 2011

    hahahahaa OMW I found this absolutely hillarious!!!! BRILLIANT…… and I agree it will make a perfect gift for a Babyshower. Can’t stop smiling!

    Reply
    • Scared & Imperfect Mother

       /  May 20, 2011

      This is brilliant I love it. Me so want a copy… Added onto my wish list.

      Reply
  1. Go the Fuck to Sleep « Scaredmom's Blog

Leave a Reply

