I wore a beret …. because they made me …..

So I have been dreading this moment for some time.

<I figured as I had posted images of me puking at my hen party last year, I might as well out myself on this before someone else does>

The experience was really a lot of fun – but I hate being in front of a camera (anyone who has attempted to aim a camera at me will know this), and anyone who sees the result might agree that I look relatively uncomfortable.

About two months ago a few Mommy Bloggers were approached with the aim to be styled by a Style Blogger, and to have hair and makeup done and photographed for Huisgenoot Mooi Magazine.

I was keen on everything, except the being photographed part.

But it appeared that issue was a bit of a deal breaker, so I thought “no one will see it, surely….”

I had my hair coloured and cut by the brilliant Nigel from the Hairdresser & Spa at the One and Only, Cape Town.

Neville gave me the best hair cut I have ever had, and he did a great job colouring my hair – he gave me a hair treatment that will make me think fondly of him for many years to come.

The next day I met Kim Gray (who won Style Blogger 2010) and the merry band of directors/makeup and camera people at the You Studio in Cape Town.

Kim had selected some outfits and we then tried to put my large white body in to them.

I will confess she chose some really lovely pieces, that I probably would not have chosen myself.  I was also nowhere near a mirror so had to take her guidance in terms of what looked good.

I had makeup done and hair was fine from the day before.

At that point I was asked to stand around in a studio and smile or jump or leap – and then it just got very awkward for me.

Everyone had their job, and my job was to do what ever they said … and not try to change anything, or suggest not to wear the beret for instance.

I really hate being in front of the camera and I think every cell in my body was screaming “get me the hell out of here!”

But I stayed and played along – it was actually a lot of fun and quite an experience.

I showed Kennith these pictures and the first thing he said is:”What the hell is on your head?” and then he burst out laughing ….. sigh ……. so I predict the next few days are going to be rather painful for me.

I have taken the images from Kim’s pages, as I have not seen the magazine myself.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Wowzers trouzers! Look at you looking all hot and stuff! Nice.

    Reply
  2. Tania

     /  June 15, 2011

    Me too!! I want an autrographed copy!!!
    Well done RM

    Reply
  3. Kennith

     /  June 15, 2011

    Baby – you are a MILF – with or without the makeover

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 15, 2011

      Nice, now I will have to explain what a MILF is in a later post ….

      Reply
  4. Sharon

     /  June 15, 2011

    You look gorgeous! Not too crazy about the bean bag thing on your head but red is definitely your signature colour.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 15, 2011

      Thanks Sharon, yes, the beret is just not working, on any level …..

      Reply
  5. Charne

     /  June 15, 2011

    You look HOT!!! Would have been Super, Super Hot if they had the good sense to minus the red beret – but really cool look otherwise!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 15, 2011

      I think you are being over generous …. or have a medical condition that causes blindness …… but thank you any way.

      Reply
  6. Scared & Imperfect Mother

     /  June 15, 2011

    I’m not feeling the red beret but other than that, I think you look really good!!! Love your outfit and the shoes… Did you get to keep the Red gloves?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 15, 2011

      Nope, the gloves were lovely – but they firmly took everything back from me, including the stockings I had ripped a hole in …..

      Reply
  7. HAHA! (Sorry) Aside from the big red bean bag on your head, you look AMAZING! The pants and the shoes are just fab! Bloody good job!

    Reply
  8. Joyce

     /  June 15, 2011

    The other question I wanted to ask is, have you been following their advice and dabbing your face with a tissue during the day to make your make-up last longer ??

    Reply
  9. Joyce

     /  June 15, 2011

    I think you look supa cool! I am a bit disappointed that you are not draped across a Biggy Best chair wearing a floral blouse, but I loooove those shoes! The pants are also really cool. The beret is nice, but not quite Celeste… You look very cool though! No idea why you were stressing so much! So when’s the cover shoot??

    Reply
  10. Adele

     /  June 15, 2011

    You look HOT!! I love your look!

    Reply
  11. You look wonderful! I have the same camera issues. I would rather be behind a camera than in front of it.
    It makes me terribly uncomfortable.

    Reply
  12. Wow, stunning!! You should wear that look more often. And the beret really suits you! (though I have a red beret of my own so I may be a bit biased 🙂 )

    Reply
  13. To Love Bella

     /  June 15, 2011

    Oooh! Hot mamma! I’m gonna go out and get me a copy – will you autograph it for me???? xxx

    Reply
  1. The red beret incident ….. picture story « The Reluctant Mom's Blog

Leave a Reply

