My Skype FAIL Moment …

Yesterday afternoon I am chatting to the guys at work and I am talking about the fact that I do not know how the camera/video thing works on my laptop.

They have MACs. I have a PC so they can’t really offer advise.

I figured I could just work on it later and figure out how it works – which applications it works with and so on.

Really not critical (to be honest I was trying to use it to “scan” something in as we do not have a scanner anywhere nearby.)

Fast forward a few hours later – it is about 9pm I am in my old, grey, torn jammies with my laptop on my lap sitting in my lounge alternating between sips of wine and Flourexitine.

I figure out the camera works if I an in Skype, and then I run it as video and “take a photograph” that route.

All seems fine.

Photographs are always crap, and you know how that goes – lighting bad, you have laptop on your lap, so you and your 3 dozen chins are on show.

But I am getting the idea and can’t seem to export the images. But I fiddling around and the issue is more about the capturing and exporting the image than the quality of the image.

Just to reiterate I AM IN MY JAMMIES – – this is not even a good pair of jammies.

I am trying to see if I can take a photo and copy it out – to edit in another package, and I am not getting it right, but anyway, finish that off, turn laptop off, go to bed.

This morning, I put my laptop on (it’s a work laptop and I check mail, and we do a lot of work with clients who we physically never meet, so it is all done via SKYPE).

I repeat the same exercise this morning as I arrive to see if maybe I can figure it out now that I am more awake – but then I get distracted with work, and carry on with something else.

Later this morning my boss guy (who is in the UK) is chatting to me on Skype and he comments about my new photo on my profile.

I am like WHAT?

And I immediately get this sinking really bad feeling.  You know the one, when you suddenly realise that it has all gone horribly, horribly wrong.

My photos that I have been mucking around with on Skype in my frkn jammies have been posting to my Skype profile.

The rub – is that I deal with clients in a ton of time zones, so someone was on when I was in my grey jammies and happily posting close ups of my left nostril, and exposed pores.

The only “thank goodness” moment is the last image was one at my desk this morning – I was not even aware of it, so I am sort of half in the frame and half out.

My boss guy sent me the screen shot BECAUSE I KEPT GOING WHAT DO YOU MEAN THERE IS A NEW PHOTO OF ME.. I might have had a hysterical aspect to my voice at the time…..

This is one of the jammie shots my entire company has now seen of me.

I realise it is probably not quite a naked sex tape, but ideally you really do not need your clients seeing you in your grey, torn and dirty jammies.

It sort of detracts from the hint of professionalism that you have tried to project.

<I am not subjecting you to the other ones because I only have the ones I saved out, the ones that were happily positing to my Skype status are of course now on the web, so I wish them bon voyage>

<It has now occured to me that I will no longer be playing “with my camera” while my network cable is plugged in …. what a douché bag>

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. John B

     /  July 21, 2011

    let me check that I understand…… you were stressed that some people saw it on skype as it was a “bad” picture, but you then proceed to show it to all your blog followers? puzzled….

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 21, 2011

      No, the stress was the other test pictures I was taking that went live streaming to my Skype profile — this was one of them I saved, it’s the ones of a close up of my left nostril as I was testing the camera that I did not save.

      Dude – did you come back down the mountain with a mountain of scepticism and a bit of “joy” out of you????

      Reply
  2. Now that would so be me too. But actually, I like the pic.

    Reply
  3. Hilary

     /  July 15, 2011

    I agree its really not bad at all. You also look really young in this pic btw. Nothing to worry about – this could’ve gone south in so many ways that I shudder to think.

    P.S. Anyone with a child under 5 has surely worn some not-too-clean pajamas to bed. I always end up with milky puke on my shoulder 10min after changing into a clean pair 😦

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 15, 2011

      this could’ve gone south in so many ways that I shudder to think.

      So, totally ……..

      Reply
  4. Geez!! you look a hell of a lot better than I do at 9pm at night!!
    Trust me, those jammies are rocking! 😉

    Reply
  5. The only thing I can say is ROTFLMAO! That is awesome… I can practically imagine how your heart must have stopped at the mention of a new Skype picture. *snort*

    Reply
  6. KennithB

     /  July 15, 2011

    Love the pose…you are working the camera…just to remind me what I am missing at home I reckon!

    Reply
  7. I love it! This is so something that would happen to me 🙂

    Reply
  8. Scared & Imperfect Mother

     /  July 14, 2011

    Celeste you just gave my day a bit of much needed sunlight. Would love to see one of your PJ pics….

    Reply
    • Scared & Imperfect Mother

       /  July 14, 2011

      Scrap that – I dont know how I missed it. Really you dont look that bad… 🙂

      Reply
  9. countess

     /  July 14, 2011

    you really don’t look bad at all.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 14, 2011

      Obviously this is the one I saved when I was playing transfer-tranfer, you know there is going to be a nostril shot at some point as I leaned over the laptop to adjust something … and it went live ……. FML

      Reply
  10. Charne

     /  July 14, 2011

    You do look very “cute” in this pic Celeste, you just need a teddy tucked under your arm. Probably not how you want your colleagues remembering you though, the “cute” girl who sits 3 rows down……..

    Oh well, by tomorrow it will hopefully be forgotten.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 14, 2011

      Note the torn pink frills on the sleeves … I am so rocking those jammies ….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

