My kingdom for a school acceptance letter ….

Isabelle is 25 months old, and is desperately in need of kids her age to beat up on.

She has her hands inside everything. Has worked out how to unscrew lids, no matter how tightly I tighten them,

Has figured out access to the knife drawer.  Knows how to put the microwave on.  Knows how to slam the microwave door.

Has recently discovered the toilet plunger can be used as an effective weapon against “suspecting” adults.

This child needs a school like no one’s business.  More for my sanity than hers.

I thought I was jolly clever and enrolled early last year in a school, that I thought was the best thing since that guest turned water into wine at a wedding some while back.

I ticked a block, and my type-A personality felt good.  I did not have an acceptance letter, but I enrolled her in 2010 … ages ago!

June swung around this year and I started phoning said school.

Repeatedly.

I think I  was up to message seventy-seven and most of them ended with “please call me, why won’t you call me, please for god sake just call me ….. okay?”

Principal finally did this week.  We spoke.  Well, granted she spoke, I cried a bit.

She told me there really is no space in her school for my Isabelle.  (I am sure she meant there was no space for any more children, but I took it as a personal snub of my child).

I suggested a bribe.  She got a bit snippy, but said she would keep Isabelle on “the list” just in case something changed.

I also could hear my child’s application being torn up and thrown into the steel metal dustbin next to the phone.

I do not really have a plan B, and I usually do.  But I had my heart set on this school.

I made an emergency plan B yesterday

I piggy-backed on my friend Joyce who has been doing some school shopping and purely based on schools she has seen I went along and started applying to schools.

I have an interview on Tuesday for one school that said they “might have space” in January 2012.

I hope they do not recognize me from my blog, or my alarming updates on Facebook.  Or when I screamed at my child at the local mall.

I also applied to another school Joyce said is so fabulous she is thinking about making “monthly donations” to the school now so that it does not look like a bribe when the time comes.

Always helps if you have single-handedly funded a “Kriel Wing” at a school – it does not hurt when they are weighing up your application against whether to take Johnny’s sibling.

That school I also chased – this week (yes I tad late) but I got my application off to them. They have an open day in September and then make a decision in September for January in take.

Dude, I am down with that as well.

Now that my Plan A has fallen through – I am desperately running around finding plan B through G.  I get a bit manic around now (you might not have noticed!!)

I hate rejection.  I hate finding the right school.  I hate all the running around and the hopeful “perky phone voice”  I have to use to try to get my child into a school, and all those smug moms who have acceptance letters for 2012.

Damn them!

Damn that I did not do this when this child was a fetus! I really should have known better.

I plan NOT to tell them that Isabelle is still not talking or is still using a nappy.

If there is a block I have to tick on an application form –  I will be ticking the one that says she speaks 3 languages fluently.  Plays violin on a Tuesday, and cello on a Thursday and has been potty trained and eating solids since 4 months!

If after the first week, I get a distressing call from the school wondering why my child is still on Purity and does not say anything past “caaaaa” and poo’s in her nappy, I will feign ignorance.

Until then, I am simpering and begging for a school to have space for my child.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Joyce

     /  July 27, 2011

    You are funny…! 🙂

    Reply
  2. So glad that we are mostly sorted, but gosh yes, it is a gauntlet to ride.

    Reply
  3. Tania

     /  July 22, 2011

    Good Luck 🙂 I have nothing more to add as I am in Jhb and you are in CT and would not know where to suggest you try other than open your own Pepe Daycare and get others to bring their little tots to your home….. 😉

    Reply
  4. I am sooo nervous about this very issue.
    I think my kids also need to go to a school where they can just run around and go mad and NOT kill each other!
    N is still not speaking as fluently as her brother but is vocalising alot more to the point where we actually understand her!
    How I am ever going to find a school for these two I have no idea.
    They’ll be 3 in November and I think I should start researching now.
    I might not have the strength too as I have just been so tired I can barely stand up straight at night.
    And so it continues to go….

    Reply
  5. To Love Bella

     /  July 22, 2011

    Have you tried Shuttlekids in Century City? They are busy with an enormous building, which is due to be finished in August. I have an appt booked on 02/08 to check it out. They have put our names down, I just need to confirm if I am happy to go ahead, following the visit. Really reasonable rates too – and CLOSE to work!!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 22, 2011

      Never heard of it, hence the reason why I need friends like you!!!!!

      Reply
  6. That sound so incredibly stressful. Fingers crossed it all works out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

