Invisible Glasses ….

The only motivation I would ever give anyone to limit procreation to one child in a family, is to “avoid sibling rivalry and stupid brother-sister fights!”

I cannot stand the constant bickering and fighting that goes on in my house.

Over. Nothing.  Absolutely. Nothing.

It does my head in.

And. If you have read any of my recent posts, you probably realise I am “somewhat less tolerant” right now.

But cheese and rice.  I am convinced my kids have made a pact with “who can send mommy over the edge” fastest.

Last night kids are eating dinner.

I left work a bit early to spend some “quality time” with them – well, we know I might not be so hasty to make that decision again.

ometimes it can be a godsend to be available only to kiss your kids good night and turn your back on them as you scratch in the fridge for an unfinished bottle of Chenin plonk!

Kids are eating dinner, I am trying to catch up on work while they natter away.

I am trying my level best to “filter” them out.

But then I realise that Connor and Georgia are arguing about INVISIBLE LETTERS!

Connor is trying to prove a point that Georgia CANNOT READ so she cannot read invisible letters.

I.N.V.I.S.I.B.L.E. L.E.T.T.E.R.S. not food aid to Afganistan or the state of the peace talks in the Middle East.  Invisible Letters!

Connor is trying to make his point as eloquently as you can with a mouthful of rice.

Georgia, not be outdone, retorts in a bit of a weh-leka-pela voice: “I can read INVISIBLE LETTERS because I have INVISIBLE GLASSES!”

It is almost impossible to argue with that sort of logic.

<using my built in fish-wife voice also has a way of abrupt way of bringing an argument to a close>

I was in pains whether to go over and high-five Georgia for coming up with a brilliant come-back, or screaming at all three of them and sending them to bed IMMEDIATELY.

<I opted instead to put my head behind my monitor and snort>

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Adele

     /  August 2, 2011

    LOL I like Georgia’s reply…clever girl you’ve got!!

    I’m with Julz on the post it note ….

    Reply
  2. Oh good lord – it is already hectic in our house. Imagine a few years on. I am very scared right now.

    Reply
  3. Julz

     /  July 25, 2011

    Oh and Georgia Rulz!!!

    Reply
  4. Julz

     /  July 25, 2011

    Insert Post it note here:

    Thank fuck I have only one.

    Reply
  5. Tania

     /  July 25, 2011

    Great decision Mum !! Just hide behind your laptop screen and chuckle !!! 😉

    Reply
  6. Romaine

     /  July 25, 2011

    I Love Georgia’s comeback…..hehehehheee 🙂

    Reply
  7. That is so funny…Georgia says the funniest things 🙂

    Reply
  8. Claire

     /  July 24, 2011

    Yip, today my fish wife voice became a bit of a screaming banshee voice – Sundays seem to be the worst for the bickering in our house.
    Wonder how teachers would feel about a 1 day weekend for children.

    But Georgia is my cyber-hero for her creative thinking and imagination

    Reply
  9. I have that very same fish wife voice! I spent the whole day today screaming again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

