Mugshot Monday …..

Today can only be described as an epic fail day.

I wake up, get the kids ready for school, prep myself for work, make tea and coffee, collect Isabelle put her in bed with some milk.

I sit down on the edge of my bed with my “clear lunch box” of medication.

I carefully read what I must take, the dosage and when.  I read them each day, even though I “know” what I should take and in what order.  It’s my little “thing” I do.

I throw them out in my hand and down them with my first sip of tea.

Good.

Me 1: Er, I seem to recall a blue pill in that handful, that looked like Stillnox (sleeping pill).  Was there a sleeping pill that has just gone down the hatch?”

Me 2: “Shit … shit ….. shit.  Check lunch box to see if pill is missing!”

Me 1: “There was definitely a blue pill in that handful.  It is 07h15 and I have just taken a sleeping tablet….shit!”

I phone Kennith and tell him.

He laughs, and laughs some more.

I say, it is fine.  I will get dressed and go to work and take it easy.

Kennith asks if I am crazy?  Considering the circumstances a bit insensitive and well, rhetoric actually.

Kennith then tells me to drop the kids off at school, head home and sleep.

I phone my work colleague to explain my predicament.  I work her up with my call.  Eventually I had to end the conversation because she would/could not stop laughing and I only had few moments of “being awake” left to me and could no longer listen to her raucous cackling in my ear.

I hustled kids into the car.

Drove really slowly.  Hugged the white dotted line the entire time.  Checked and rechecked the robot colours before going or stopping.

Kids got to school fine.

I found myself on two separate grass verges on the way home.

I probably should have got someone else to drive kids to school, it was not my best safe-parenting decision of the day.

However good decision-making & me have been estranged for some time.

I did make it home.  Fell in to bed and slept.

I had to set my alarm as I had a new psychiatrist’s appointment.

I liked the fact that I explained to him that I mixed up my meds and took a sleeping pill this morning, and he totally took that in his stride!

I might like this guy.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Actually a great way to spend a Monday! 😀

    Reply
  2. Julz

     /  July 26, 2011

    Glad you like your new guy! I thought it was really funny too. Next time call me and I will take your kids to school. Please!

    Reply
  3. Oh boy! Shame girl… Well I could seriously do with a whole day’s sleep too.

    Reply
  4. Sharon

     /  July 26, 2011

    Er… in Europe or some obsecure European country, its called a “mental health day” and you don’t need to take a sleeping pill to have the day off! Wish we had those here!

    Reply
  5. lol, oh my. On the bright side you got some much needed sleep. Glad you all ok though

    Reply
  6. I want to accidentally on purpose do just that – i would love love love a day in bed… i don’t think it was a fail day i think it was in fact a WIN day!

    Reply
  7. Charne

     /  July 26, 2011

    You have just given us all a great excuse to use when taking a “duvet day”. Seriously – who can tell you to come to work if you call in and say you have “accidentally” taken a sleeping pill. Love it – I might use that one soon – thanks RM!

    Reply
  8. Tania

     /  July 26, 2011

    BWAHAHAhahahahahahahahahahahaha 😀

    Reply
  9. So, if I give you my PO Box, will you send me the Stillnox? I probably shouldn’t approach this as publicly. I have some Cipralex if you want to trade? Will even through in my birth control. Deal?

    Reply
  10. WHY do my comments go through twice???

    Reply
  11. I have been looking forward to reading this AGAIN! Hahahaahaaahahaa!!

    Sorry, but it’s so funny. And to describe it as an ‘epic fail day’ is even funnier!

    I do think you needed a Stillnox, me-time, sleeping day though. Can’t believe you were in a ‘sober’ enough state to remember to set your alarm.ahaaahahaa!!

    Sorry, but it’s so funny. And to describe it as an ‘epic fail day’ is even funnier!

    I do think you needed a Stillnox, me-time, sleeping day though. Can’t believe you were in a ‘sober’ enough state to remember to set your alarm.

    Reply
  12. Oh hun! Just glad everyone is ok. Glad you went back to sleep.
    I also totally couldn’t help to LOL at this. I tried, but couldn’t. Apologies.

    Reply
  13. I probably shouln’t join the crowd, but this is serious ROFL stuff! Thanks for warming up this cold Monday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

