Who said money cannot buy you happiness? Clearly someone who undervalued R5

Connor is really keen on a WII – we are really keen he pays for it himself.

We are funny like that.

He has saved up some money and is always asking me for “chores” for money.  There is not a lot to do around the house as I have a Pepe and a Roderick.

I get him to empty dustbins, water the plants, sweep the kitchen, empty the dustbins, that sort of stuff.

I never ask him to do hard labour or work in a coal mine, or stitch a soccer ball – but I get him to do bits and bobs so he feels he is doing something, and he gets R5.00 – R50.00 for his efforts depending on the level of work.

Yesterday we are driving home, and Connor asks me for “odd jobs for money.”

I know there is nothing I need done.

But then I think “what do I want?”

I realise right now I just want peace and quiet.

Connor can physically not play the “quiet game” as he just speaks way too much, and I know that game will fail before the traffic lights change colour.

Me: “Connor I will give you R5.00 if you do not argue with your sister today.  Over anything.  I don’t care for the reason.  I want to drive home in peace, eat dinner in peace and you two go about your evening without fighting over anything.  How does that sound?”

Connor: “R5.00 – okay!”

Me: “Remember no fights…”

Oh my heavens.  R5.00 bought me peace and happiness for one evening.

Not one fight.  NOT ONE FIGHT over invisible letters, she is touching me, she looked out my window, she is breathing too loud, she is snoring and faking sleep ……

Best R5.00 I ever spent.  I am fine with bribery.  I think we are all learning a valuable lesson.

Connor can make easy money.

R5.00 seems to be a good price.  (I got a flood of them this morning from the PnP lady so I always have them in my purse from this moment forward)

I might keep my sanity (or my rather tentative grasp on it).

R5.00 for one evening x 7 evenings is really not that high a price to pay.

They will fight, odds are I need to bank on 3- 4 evenings at R5.00 at the very most.

Some days my parenting techniques will be spoken about in awe, and with wonder (I wonder how child services did not go and fetch those kids……sooner)

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Scared & Imperfect Mother

     /  July 29, 2011

    Celeste – I’m cheap, I told Amandalynn if she does what she is suppose to do in the evenings without crying she will get 10c. Crying over shit is a problem in my house.

    Last night was wonderful and my child made 60c.

    This morning she cried because she had to get out of bed and she needed to give me 10c back.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 29, 2011

      I should have started off a lower base …. kudos to you for starting at the 10c mark! Damn I can’t go backwards now …..

      Reply
      • Scared & Imperfect Mother

         /  July 29, 2011

        Im not spending all my wine money on getting my children to do what they are suppose to. Luckily for me, Amandalynn does not see R5 coin as more than 10 5c coins…

        Evil mother!!!

        Reply
  2. you are definitely a genius! And even if they don’t fight for all 7 days, R35 is a very small price to pay, one I’d pay over and over again!

    Reply
  3. Janine

     /  July 28, 2011

    I wish it work with just my 3 year old. He doesn’t fight with anyone, he just never stops. He never stops talking, singing, running, jumping, etc. He even talks in his sleep.

    Reply
    • Hilary

       /  July 28, 2011

      My 3yr old is the same. Unfortunately, money means nothing to him so I have to resort to that other trusted method: 22min of the Mickey Mouse dvd 🙂

      Reply
      • reluctantmom

         /  July 28, 2011

        Georgia is bribable with stickers …. she is obsessed with them ….. it is the only “power” I have over her.
        I keep a book of Barney stickers and everytime I am trying to “motivate” her to do something I tell her we can go get a sticker if she does it.

        It’s all I have to bribe her with — nothing else works.

        Reply
  4. You are a genius! I am going to try it with my Princess for being calm and not running like a mad person before bed time. Not sure though if she values money enough.yet

    Reply
  5. countess

     /  July 28, 2011

    F@%k me, if it works, do it I say!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

