I am so crushing on the LeapFrog LeapPad Explorer … like a lot …

Oh my giddy aunt (as my friend Alice would say!)

I really have very little to bribe Georgia with.  Painfully little you might say. I for one would agree.

Georgia is one of those quirky/difficult/does not react well to punishment-praise at all/I have not found anything that works sort of children.

Connor – I can indicate that I might think about taking away television or his DS, and I pretty much get an instant reaction.  The threat alone is warning enough for him to do what I need him to do.

He also does wonderfully if I threaten “time out!”

But Connor has always been that way.  He responds well to “I am counting to three ….. one ….. tw……..”

Then we got Georgia.

Georgia has been given to us to show us that we are indeed sh&tty parents and some children do not fall into the “average” so expertly referred to in parenting manuals.”I am counting to three ….. one ….. tw……..” results in her counting the “two, three…” out loud for me, which of course disarms me somewhat.

Nothing works on Georgia.

N.O.T.H.I.N.G.

I like to refer to her as “marching to her own drum.” In reality, not only does she march to her own drum, she appears to be the only one able to hear the tune.

I really love Georgia.  I love her gutzpah and her rather zany view on the world at large.

But, geez Louise, is she difficult to parent.

I ask her.  I speak in her language. I repeat.  I reinforce. I get her to agree so we are on the same page.  I
kneel so I am eye level. I promise treats and favours. I try not to lose my temper. I speak patiently. I scream hysterically.  I promise to take television away. I promise to pay her if she listens to me. I threaten to give her such a hiding that she will cry for a week.  I threaten to call her dad. I threaten her with time out. I give her time out. I take television away.I send her to her room.  I scream. Icurse. I ignore.  I beg.  I plead. I weep.

Nothing works.

I have never found the secret to motivating Georgia to do anything she does not want to do, or that she is feeling vaguely resistant to.

But then I did.

Oh my heavens, then I did.

I received a LeapFrog LeapPad Explorer to test out.  It falls into Georgia’s age category (ages 4 – 9 years old).

Georgia is not a big gamer, so I was not exactly swooning at the offer as I did not think she would really take to it.  I figgered she would glance at it, and then it would be thrown on the pile of toys-we-have-spent-a-great-deal-of-money-on-and-now-lie-in-the-corner-gathering-dust.

Well I have been mistaken before.  This will not be the last time.

Georgia thought Christmas had come early.  She has been firmly glued to the LeapFrog LeapPad Explorer since it’s jolly greenness arrived on my diningroom table.

It is a bit like an ipad for kids. It has games, and educational stuff, and it sings and it dances.

I have not found the teach-your-child-to-make-tea application, but no doubt is just a case of looking harder.

Last night Connor and Georgia were fighting.

About what?  I have no idea.  It never stops.  I have nearly lost the will to live.

I gave a few warnings.  I said that if they carry on I will take computers/LeapFrog/television away for the night.

Needless to say they never stopped.

I said: “That is it, you guys can keep on fighting but tonight there are no games or television.  If you whine or make a fuss, it will also be off the menu for tomorrow night!”

Georgia looked at me with her huge hazel eyes, with tears starting to well up in the corners: “I can still play my game with the green screen?”

Me: “No Georgia that is still a game, no LeapFrog tonight!”

Man, did she cry.  I am talking the anguish-of-a-nation-cry coming from a six year old – of course this all happened while I was outside in our cul-de-sac trying to be a good parent, so the neighbours were watching this all going on.

Seriously if I was not distracted by my glass of wine (which I drank in the road Jerry Springer style) and my two-year-old throwing rocks at the neighbours dogs, I might have given in to her pleading and tantrum throwing.

I stood my ground, and Georgia did continue to lament her fate.

Later in the evening, she drew a “list of who has been good and nice to me.”

I did make it on to the list.  I was at the end.  I did not get any stars. I actually got a black dot next to my name!  Cara had 8 stars, so clearly Cara had been good and nice to Georgia.

I ♥ LeapFrog right now!  Before I thought it was a luxury but now it has become a necessity.

< LeapPad Explorer comes with 2GB onboard storage, built-in camera, accelerometer, stylus and microphone. The features let the kids to play educational games and apps like Disney Animation Studio, an interactive reader and 100 other apps ready to download. 

Georgia has made several of her home movies already.  There is a little song/story that teaches her the alphabet,and she is singing the song, thus getting her alphabet sorted.  It is totally brilliant. 

Have I told you how in-love I am right now?>

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Good review. My kids love LeapPad Explorer tablet too. It comes with 2 stylus but my kids lose them all. Do you have any idea to get replacement? It just not comfort to use LeapPad by using finger.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 21, 2011

      I have no idea how you would replace the stylus though – one is tied to the leappad while the other is loose.
      I do think you can purchase “spare stylus” from a computer stores ….

      Reply
  2. Jade

     /  October 24, 2011

    PLEASE can you tell me what games/applications come with the leappad when you buy it? Ive looked online and it seems you have to buy the games for R250 each? Im really keen on one, but if I have to spend R250 a game I dont know 😦 What about the learning to write app?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 24, 2011

      Hi Jade — it comes with some things that the kids can start with straight away. There are some seriously game download prices, which also irks me a bit. But the drawing thing, and the fact that she can make her own video and edit some photographs and she is 6 is really cool. We take it with us and she plays with it on car trip and anywhere else if we need her to be relatively quiet. I have not looked extensively at the game apps yet, but it has sufficient to get you going. So far my daughter is less interested in the games, and likes the things that are on the LeapPad already i.e. the installed apps, so thus far we are fine on our end.

      I love the fact that it is helping her fine motor skills and also increases her ability to focus on one thing, which is something she does in OT so this does assist her in that regard.

      Reply
  3. This looks fantastic!

    Reply
  4. Adele

     /  September 28, 2011

    This sounds like a great toy. Will it work for my 3yr old, he is just like Georgia. sigh….

    Reply
  5. Tania

     /  September 28, 2011

    Thank you !! MWAHH to you. I think I have just found what to buy Emily for Christmas. Bless You !

    Reply
  6. Hilary

     /  September 28, 2011

    That sounds quite handy. So what’s the price and where can I get one?

    Reply
    • Hilary

       /  September 28, 2011

      I’ve googled it. Kalahari.com = R1’200.00 :-O

      Reply
      • reluctantmom

         /  September 28, 2011

        I really suggest if you are interested, you call a store and book one now. My guess is Toy Kingdom, Toys R Us and also Look and Listen and as you said Kalahari.net is also a good option. I think you can reserve at most of them.

        Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  September 28, 2011

      In the event that you are struggling to find them – these are the suppliers where you can get your hands on them.
      I do suggest calling and reserving one before you make a trip out there.

      Toyzone
      Pick n Pay Hypers
      Game
      Toys R Us
      Reggies
      Look & Listen
      Musica
      C.N.A
      BT Games
      Makro
      Dion Wired
      Incredible Connection
      Caves
      Lilliputs
      Aladdin’s
      The Toy Shop
      Peggitys
      Toy Kingdom

      Reply
  7. sharon

     /  September 28, 2011

    THIS IS MY NEWLY AGED 7 YAR OLD CHILD!!!!!! SHE TOO HAS HAZEL EYES AND A LEAPFROG, GRANTED, ONLY THE READER,BUT NEVER THE LESS, HER NAME SHOULD HAVE BEEN GEORGIA, OR MINE CELESTE, OR I SHOULD HAVE BEEN FRIENDS WITH CELESTE AT SCHOOL INSTEAD OF DEBBIE FRENCH AND CO!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

