SA Blog Awards 2011 are upon us …. insert happy face or not ….

Surprisingly I won the Best Parenting Blog in 2010.  No really I did.  NO REALLY!!

I was as surprised as you presently are — trust me.

I could not make it to the Award Evening/Announcement of Winner-and-Losers as I was holidaying in Zanzibar at the time sans children (I love the sound of that.)

Good times.  Relaxed times.

I sent my lovely friends David and Alice to the Awards Evening in my stead.  Bless them.

I won!!  Yay for me.

Alice stumbled up to the stage and collected the little perspex/glass award for me.  She might have used the old but never forgotten speech of: “You like me, you really like me…” which I would have gone with, had I been there.

I did not see images from the night, but I saw this one earlier today, which was great. Olmeca Tecquila was a co-sponsor …..>

The 2011 SA Blog Awards have got started, a tad late, I might add.

But hey, I am not having to organise it, so really I leave it to others who are suitably qualified, and who like the feel of the last minute rush and the chaos that ensues.

There are far fewer categories this year.

Parenting Blog Category has been axed and so too have several others – we could argue the merits of that, but really I don’t want to.  It would be a case of lamenting something I have no control or influence over, and really just getting my big girl panties in a knot.

The present blog categories for the 2011 SA Blog Awards are:-

  • Best Business / Political Blog
  • Best Entertainment / Lifestyle Blog (I was suspicious as Lifestyle was spelt incorrectly on their website, not a good omen)
  • Best Environmental Blog
  • Best Fashion Blog
  • Best Food & Wine Blog (It annoys me when an ampersand is used, when in other instances the word “and” is used ….. anal much?….. yes I am a bit)
  • Best Music Blog
  • Best Photographic Blog
  • Best Science and Technology Blog
  • Best Sport Blog
  • Best Travel Blog

So there we go.  It appears I fit into none of these categories, though I may make a play for “Best Wine Blog.”

Drinking copious amounts of wine whilst blogging does not equal a wine blog, it seems.  Which I think is just a technicality and shows a narrow-mindedness very early in the competition.

If you like a blog enough to spare a few clicks, pop along and see if they are there, and then cast a vote.

The public voting phase opens on Monday 31 October 2011 and runs until Wednesday 9 November 2011.

The 2010 SA Blog Awards were a bit controversial.  People moaned, people complained, people beat their chests in anguish and not everyone was happy with most of it.

I found the process a bit odd and really had no idea what was going on most of the time. Clearly I was somewhat pleased with the outcome, as you would expect.

Winning is a bit like that.

There were a lot of bloggers who had some less than complimentary things to say about the way it had been dealt with (nomination + voting + judges decision) and how it had all run.

Lots of bloggers were annoyed and voiced this on blogs, tweets and on Facebook, and basically shot the awards down. It was my first year, so I had no comment as I did not know any better.

I guess this year will be similar, and already there is a bit of a huff about the categories and the fact that right now “quite popular and much in need of a night out with a bit of dress up and the possibility of an award” Mommy-Bloggers are excluded, or not included sufficiently.

Mommy Bloggers are hardly going to be “right” in the Best Entertainment / Lifestyle Blog Category.  And as mentioned the Best Wine Blog Category is not right either.

Mommy Bloggers float in the abyss, or throw their hat in the ring with Entertainers and see how that rolls.

Motherhood often does requires an ability to fake an interest in sex, all things poo and how-much-does-your-baby-weigh related, and you must appear truly excited when you unwrap the macaroni-painted-necklace again ………. so at best we are fantastic thespians … just with a limited stage and not so much in the way of ticket sales.

Hence we might make it into the Entertainment and Lifestyle Category …. and then Mommy Bloggers are being compared to 2oceanvibe – I mean seriously!!!?

Ah well, such is life.

I think it is great to have a Blog Awards.  It’s cool to be ranked with the cool kids. and it is also nice to have a bit of “props” for something you think is pretty phenomenal.

But at the end of the day, you blog because you like the sound of your own voice, and you like to write about your own sh&t, and you get to cyber-meet some really interesting people.

Does an Award make you a better blogger?  Doubt it. Is it always the best blogger who wins? Probably not – it is subjective and probably not always as “fair” as we would like to think.  Does blogging become a bit of a please-for-fk-sake-like-me-and-vote-for-me? Of course.

Granted it is a nice badge to have, and I was super thrilled in 2010.

Good luck to all the bloggers for 2011.

Maybe Living and Loving or Pampers can run a Best Mommy Blogger of the Year Award …. I would so get on board with that sh&t …… just saying.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I was also a bit disappointed to see that they had axed the Best Parenting blog category this year as that does eliminate any options for mommy bloggers (a huge blog market) and I did ask the question whether anyone really has a chance against the very big boys like 2oceansvibe in the v. board category of Best Lifestyle Blogger. I started blogging earlier this year and was quite keen to enter the New Blog category… Anyway I have my badge up. Let’s see what happens. Miracles do happen. Maybe a mom from the suburbs CAN beat Mr Seth Rotherham! 😉

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 2, 2011

      Yes I think one (me) cannot really compete against the Master-of-the-Universe-that-is-2oceansvibe — it is a different kind of site, and is brilliant, and unfortunately Mommy Bloggers are more “corner shop” than those guys. I am not taking away from how good 2oceansvibe is, as it is a very good site, I troll around there a bit myself.

      Reply
  2. I was also cheesed about the no Best Parenting (or even Best Personal) blog category. It makes me feel like mommy bloggers count for jack sh*t. Which is precisely why we blog in the first place – to be heard. Excuse me while I go attack the sink full of dirty dishes with restrained violence *huff*.

    Reply
  3. Jenny

     /  October 20, 2011

    omg how can they not have a mommyblogger award? that is just pathetic.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 21, 2011

      I am less than happy ….. Your Pregnancy Mommy Blogger Competition maybe???

      Reply
  4. We want a Best Parenting Blog category! We want a Best Parenting Blog category! We want….!

    How stupid to cut it after how popular it was last year. I say lets pressure them into a rethink.

    Maybe if they receive enough queries they’ll still include it?

    Hah! As if!
    Anyhow: you are still a truelly deserving winner. Love your blog!

    Reply
  5. The bloody stupidness of axing such a popular category. But you would ge tmy vote anyways.

    Reply
  6. Spirited Mama

     /  October 20, 2011

    Awhh………
    Wanted to post a pic of a trohy or a medal for you but now can’t seem to upload the fk pic. Argh!

    Anyhoo, found an awesome medal that I know you’ll appreciate- It’s for the “Bloemfontein Yacht Club”!
    Initial thought – where the fk do they use yachts in Bloem? But I guess the Vaal is close enough.

    P.S. You have my vote

    Reply
  7. Kiki

     /  October 20, 2011

    Very uncool not to have a mommy blog section – I found so many nice mommy blogs through the awards last year.

    Me thinks they dont have the proper people running the show!

    Reply
  8. Scared & Imperfect Mother

     /  October 20, 2011

    I forgot that you won last year. Very sad that you can run for 2 years in a row. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

