Princess and the Penis ….. real book title …. honest

I like books, I really do.

Sometimes I read the odd book that is out of my genre of choice.

I love Alison Weir, Agatha Christie and Bill Bryson. I adore books about Sherlock Holmes and anything that deals with British Monarchy.  Right now I am reading a British Monarchy history dealing with the “War of the Roses” and also a Sherlock Holmes book.

Kennith suggests reading British Monarchy History it is like watching ENews, but with Lindsay Lohan as the Village Tramp and Paris Hilton as Queen Anne …. I don’t disagree.

But I find history books quite enthralling, and I do understand why other people fog over when I tell them about the plot, so I tend not to blab about my books too much …. any more.

<I also like movies set in World War II for some reason … and I “enjoy” reading books that have the holocaust as a backdrop ….>

I once even read a Chelsea Handler book, so I do think I am pretty open-minded regarding books and ones I pick up and “try” even though some times good sense should intervene.

I draw the line at Jody Picoult (hate, really I do) and Sidney Sheldon (hate it more, probably the seventy-seven paragraphs rambling about the scenery) and my personal cringe is Danielle Steele.

I am not suggesting you do not read them, please do.  Buy as many of them as you can.  The more you purchase increases my luck of them being sold out, and then I do not have to see them on the shelves.

Possibility of pure joy moment.

Yesterday on Amazon under Kindle e-books I saw “The Princess and the Penis…” its a book, and it costs $0.99.

I went to look at the reviews, as I was not quite sure if I had read the title correctly or this was a case of a really bad typo.

But it appears it is quite an “enjoyable read…” and “fast paced….”

The product description is described as: A beautiful, chaste, and completely naive princess encounters a strange lump in  her mattress. The lump soon morphs into a shape familiar to everyone but her, triggering her curiosity and her father’s greatest fears. He frantically tries to intervene, but having a large phantom phallus in a curious maiden’s bed is never a good combination.

I loved this excerpt from the one reviewer, which really at the end of the day sums up many romance novels:

After reading about 14,952 romance novels, a few things become clear. No matter what the story is about–a duke, a werewolf, a football player, a Carpathian vampire, a steampunky swashbuckler, a baker, a lawyer, a candlestick maker, or even an Orca shapeshifter–the real star of the show is actually…the p*nis. Yes, this is in fact true. It gets tons of attention, pages and pages of highly detailed description, and often saves the day.

So that is it at then end of it all.

Princess Amelia and her lumpy mattress and the relationship she forms with the mattress.

I am not sure if you left me for 100 years with a pen and a sheet of paper, or a keyboard I would have come up with this particular slant on a rather aging-but-classic tale…

Now who amongst us had not woken up before with a lumpy mattress in our back?

I can’t say I feel like a Princess at the time, but there we go, time to shift your thinking…… or get a double bunk.

If you want to download the book on your Kindle, pop down to: http://www.amazon.com/The-Princess-the-Penis-ebook/dp/B005ORR6HE/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1319525373&sr=1-1#_

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Sue

     /  October 25, 2011

    My best was an episode of Will & Grace when they refered to the guy’s testicles as his “Man Berries”. I did guffaw!

    Reply
  2. Just read that the other day and busy reading RJ Silver’s other book My Third World Girlfriend. Got it on my Kindle yesterday. He is brilliant and has a very twisted view on the world.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 25, 2011

      See, now I am interested in reading him … before I just thought “Freak!” but now I am intrigued. Thanks.

      Reply
  3. Mmmmm…early morning “lumpy mattress in the back” not good.

    Reply
  4. Natasha

     /  October 25, 2011

    Haha, totally agree about the detailed descriptions! And its not restricted to romance – Wilbur Smith has had some gems too. “Man root” comes to mind…

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 25, 2011

      I have not read a Wilbur Smith in years ….. I also get a bit distracted with his long essays about the landscape and how the light falls over the trees …. and skip skip skip paragraph and try to pick up on the dialogue again …… but people love him, so kudos to him. Me, not so much.

      Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 25, 2011

      Man root ……. funny …… better than man bits …….. must remember that one.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

