Tangle Teezer — my pink bit of magic …….

Georgia has got ridiculously long hair.  It runs way past her bum when loose.

I adore her hair, and hope that when she is twelve and decides she hates me, that she does to run out to a hairdresser and have it cut as a sign of rebellion.

I generally keep her hair in plaits to stop it getting too knotty.

On the rare occasion I leave it loose in all it’s glory, but knowing that I will have an evening of conditioner + huge knots + Georgia screaming as I detangle her hair.

Usually it remains plaited or styled and then in the morning it gets brushed out and retied up.

Pretty simple system. I really love her hair, I often touch it …. as you do …….

Georgia often screams or cries during brushing and the lament of: ‘Mommy, you are hurting me, mommy you are hurting me, mommy please stop hurting me …” usually fills the house.  It is not my finest moment and makes me feel somewhat sh&t that I insist her hair remains long, when clearly it is not fun for her.

To say I am less than excited when it comes to brushing Georgia’s hair, is an understatement.

I use a lot of conditioner.

I use a very wide toothed comb.

I drink a large glass of wine.  I brush slowly and carefully.  Georgia does not enjoy it.  She always tries to find ways to negotiate her way out of having her hair brushed.  Whining and crying are usual weapons of defense.

Last week in London, I was watching a BBC show “Dragons’ Den” and saw a product called a Tangle Teezer.

I was not overly impressed as I figured it is a strange brush, and trying to sell on hype, probably does not work much better than my fancy-comb.  I showed mild interest, but not a lot.  It did appear to work, but I tend to be somewhat distrusting of “telecommercial” products.

Then I was at Boots.  They had the product and a little display.  I remembered the show.

I was seduced by the flourescent lights, the large signage offering buy-3-only-pay-for-2 signs.

I was intrigued by the ridiculous prices of cosmetics (even when I converted pounds to rands).  I had a credit card and no idea of the bank charges for purchases.

I picked up a Tangle Teezer – stared at it for a bit, threw it into my basket.  I was not feeling overly confident with my purchase, but wanted to give it a try.  And it was pink, so that helped. (I must confess that the fact that I had seen the show, and the merits of the product whilst staring at the display did come back to me, and did encourage me to make the purchase.)

I got home on Monday and in the evening opened the Tangle Teezer and used it on Georgia’s just-washed-and-very-knotty hair.

This would normally be a mammoth undertaking.

Seriously!!  One two three strokes and bob’s your monkey, her hair was brushed, knots were gone and she was not screaming. It was done.  I stood there in amazement and stared at my pink brushy thing in amazement.

Last night Georgia ASKED me to brush her hair.  She NEVER asks me to brush her hair.

She went to get her cool new Tangle Teezerand I brushed her hair.  I am amazed (like mouth gaping amazed) and how easy it brushes out knots and does not cause her pain and she was sitting there quite content.

I had her brush my hair to see the effect.  Normally if Georgia brushes my hair, a good portion of my hair leaves my head with their roots in tact.

But it was pain-free and really cool.

I have no idea how or why it works, but seriously if you have a child and have been struggling to brush hair amid tears and threats of violence, do yourself a favour and get one of these brushes.

No idea where you get them, but my giddy aunt, really really good.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Gail

     /  October 31, 2011

    While shopping at Makro yesterday, I found a generic one called a Hair Bean. It is sold through Verimark or one of those companies. Works like a bomb!

    Reply
  2. What a handy thing to have. I wonder if they come in any other colour but pink…

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  October 30, 2011

      They do, I saw several colours when I saw them … but bright pink seemed like a winner …… to me …. at the time

      Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, I so need one! Off to search for one in Pretoria

    Reply
  4. LoriF

     /  October 26, 2011

    Okay you have me sold even without the show.
    I was Georgia once. Now I just swear as I drag the comb through my knotted curly hair every morning.
    I am so getting me one in London next month, unless Michele can just tell us all where to get it in CT then I can stop my early morning swearing sooner!

    Reply
    • Michele

       /  October 26, 2011

      Lorif I found one at Mooi Beauty Salon in Tamboerskloof 021-423 6553 .
      The salon’s address is Shops 3 and 4, 14 Kloofnek Road, Tamboerskloof, Cape Town.
      The price is R220.00
      Sorry should have put the details in the first post

      Reply
  5. Gail

     /  October 26, 2011

    Awesome! I’m going to get me one of those when I’m in London in January!

    Reply
  6. Michele

     /  October 25, 2011

    The most amazing brush, i bought one a few weeks ago (had to really hunt one down in CT) and the results have been mind blowing. My daughter has ethnic hair and brushing or combing her hair out if an extremely painful experience but with this brush it takes a few minutes and no crying HUGE BONUS!!! Lol i sound like a commercial but shit it’s made my life a whole lot easier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

