Educational Worksheets … use them or don’t … just don’t send me hate mail!!

I am not an educator.

I do not suggest I am anything when it comes to teaching children.

I am not even suggesting this material will or will not cause your child to drool excessively and develop an ugly twitch.

From time to time I sit and devise little educational work sheets for my kids.  Sometimes for no other reason that “just because.” I do find I am most inspired when I am rushing to a deadline and need to really focus my attention on something else, then I am really good and doing pretty much anything, other than focussing on the deadline.

The problem is that I seldom remember to bring them home and actually give them to my kids. <I also write letters, put them in envelopes and never put stamps on them and post them.  Thank gd for email — and sms ……>

I have loads of worksheets, and really no one to give them to.

I once labelled nearly everything in the house with little name tags, so Connor could learn the spelling of the “fridge” and the “cookie cupboard” with neatly printed ARIAL font tags.

I printed them out.  I had them laminated. I never brought them home.  They are still in a box from  “a job I had 4 years ago…”

I really am quite a good mother-educator, problem is I have zero follow through.

With that in mind, I thought it might be useful/fun/play it forward to upload the little educational sheets I create.

At least if I am too lazy to get my A into G and give them to my kids, there is a remote chance that you might print them out and your kids can benefit from them.

Or you can just print them out and doodle with them at work.

I find making paper aeroplanes of really important documents really a great way to pass time.

You can ignore them and just sigh into your cup of coffee.

What ever you do – please, please please, do not send me critical emails or post comments explaining how I can make them better/or how they are educationally deficient and I not really doing anything more than wasting your precious time and the life of a tree.

Really – don’t!

Want the pdf of this so you can print it out in better quality?  You can get access to it here.

 

Let me know if it works for you, or doesn’t – would be nice to know.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Farhaway

     /  November 5, 2011

    I cannot access the link. 😦 please send it to me on mmhen21@gmail.com. Thanks

    Reply
  2. JULZ

     /  November 2, 2011

    Cool. Can you start doing origami instructions too? I really fancy doing them. Oh and I saw a really good example of how to draw a bird today. Ummm let me just find it among all the pinterest ideas I am so going to do. Here it is http://pinterest.com/pin/427152332/

    Reply
  3. Colleen

     /  November 1, 2011

    hey, off topic, have you registered for the SA Blog Awards this year? I dont see your vote button….. Put it on 😀

    Reply
  4. Elaine

     /  November 1, 2011

    I’m also a “worksheet collector” that forgets it at work 🙂
    fourielaine@gmail.com

    Scared & Imperfect Mother we are Afrikaans, would you mind sending me the links?

    Reply
  5. You procrastinate in the most useful ways – I just surf the internet and look at blogs…. 🙂

    Reply
  6. natasjap

     /  November 1, 2011

    Hi there! Could you please send me the link?
    natasja@nantes.co.za
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 1, 2011

      Please check out this link – C:\Users\celeste.macleod\Dropbox\Public\ReluctantMom_Stuff\20111031_EducationalSheet
      Let me know if it does not work and I can send it on to you.

      Reply
  7. Charne

     /  November 1, 2011

    Now I could learn from this you know – I suck at drawing stick figures (or anything really)……………… but how easy you have made it!!!! See, not just for 6 year olds.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 1, 2011

      Thanks, I wanted to create my own …. not sure why …… but thanks for the links, good to get an idea of what to do …. and never print out for my children ,,, >sigh<

      Reply
      • Scared & Imperfect Mother

         /  November 1, 2011

        Very sad that your children are not Afrikaans, I basically have the entire curriculum printed and filed at home already and Amandalynn is not even in Grade R yet.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

