I have started internet dating … and I think I have met someone ….

It’s been more than a year since we had a dog in our house.

I have never been dogless.  I have been legless, motherless, and sometimes senseless, but I have always had a dog.

We babysat a dog earlier this year.

I really would like to tell you it was a good experience. I really would.

I got very angry that a family had probably had this dog, and given it no discipline.  They decided to move (probably to get away from the dog).  The dog then got passed along to a variety of people, but the dog really was too much dog for anyone.

I really want to find those original owners and make them listen to Whitney Houston’s “I will always love you” on a loop so their ear drums bleed.

I felt so bad for this dog.  I called a dog behaviorist and thought I would take it on the chin and keep the stupid and annoying dog and train her.

I have never met a dog I hated. I hated this dog.  Like day-dream-about-hate.

Towards the end of our “dog-sitting” time, I started wondering if I could kill the dog myself.  I also thought that maybe I could just leave the gate open and the dog could just run away.

I blame the original owners who did not love this dog enough to teach it manners.  They in theory should be found and slapped.  Hard.  With a spade.

Basically they metered out a death sentence for Maya.  And they made me totally shift my thinking regarding ever taking in a “rescue dog” (hate mail email address is along the side, feel free to drop me any hate mail you would like, really!)

In the end, the dog was poisoned.  Not by me, but clearly by someone who had slightly less patience than me, and maybe needed a bit more medication.

So that was my experience with a dog this year.

It jaded me to “thinking” about getting a new do in our house.  I really was not up for it.

I thought about a dog a few months back, but was not ready.  Flash backs of the black-bitch-from-hell kept playing through the VCR in my head.

A few weeks ago, I thought I might be.  Maybe it was a hormonal imbalance, maybe I missed a pill that day.  Who knows.

I started looking around and looking at what I wanted in a breed, and one thing led to another.

I decided that I wanted a French Bulldog or a Boston Terrier.  Then I realised I loved both breeds and I want both.

Recently online I met Declan.  I call him Dexter.  I love the sound of Dexter.

I sometimes say his name out loud in the middle of the day, to no one in particular.

I find Dexter very handsome and he makes me smile and giggle a bit.

I get excited every time I get an email from his mom.  I am quite “in love” with Dexter, but I am trying to act more aloof than I feel.

He comes with his own bowl, lead and collar.

I must confess I am quite smitten.  The only problem with internet dating is that you really do not know who you are talking to.

Dexter could be a 6-year-old Maltese Poodle, with bad breath and a hernia, masquerading as a Boston Terrier!   He could be.

I need to meet Dexter at the airport on the morning of the 18 November …… he comes with a box, as all good dates should.

His mom has asked me to deposit a large wad of money before she sends him, which makes me suspicious that our relationship is not founded on true love.  It has made our relationship a bit less “magical” than it was before.

I am still meeting him at the airport on the 18 November!

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Oh but he is super adorable! Hope he adds much joy to the house, as dogs should.

    Reply
  2. The phot is a clincher! 😀

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 9, 2011

      Totally – I think if you have a long enough tongue and an eye big enough so you can lick it, then it is the clincher …..

      Reply
  3. Yay! I am so glad you chose a Boston! Please mail me who the breeder is. (I’m on my BB and can’t find your address.)

    Reply
  4. Awwww, he is a real cutie!!!
    I hope your love affair grows into something magical in real life…I’m sure it will 🙂

    Reply
  5. Oh my hat, that is possibly the most gorgeous pup I have ever seen. I do hope this is not some hoax and you end up with Dexter 2.0 with a hernia and bad breath. Might be considered animal abuse if you ask for proof of life, perhaps a photo with that day’s paper?

    Reply
  6. Sharon

     /  November 9, 2011

    He is very cute! My Chihuahua’s name is Dexter! Love it, such a big scary name for such a tiny dog!
    On the rescue dog thing I can only speak from my own experience and say that the very best dog I’ve ever had was a rescue dog, she was rescued off an invaded farm in Zim, she’d been beaten and burnt and starved and was quite simply the sweetest best dog I’ve ever had. Sadly she died 2 years ago and I’ll never forget my Penelope!
    Enjoy your new puppy!

    Reply
  7. Celeste, through my meanderings in blogland and some of my favourite bloggers, I found your blog and started reading. I guess I am a closet blog reader?

    Anyway, I have been prompted to post now because of the possibility that your Dexter may be a scam? My hubby and I saw this same pic on the internet when we were lookig for a (would you know it) french bulldog or Boston terrier to add to our family.

    We too, excitedly contacted the owner and requested pricing and breed line and more photo’s. Upon our back and forth e-mails we became suspicious. We were adament we wanted to see the dog before handing over the cash and were willing to travel to do so. The owner kept trying to steer us towards having the dog shipped to us and eventually just didnt respond to our last e-mail saying we definitely wanted to see the dog.

    We eventually gave up our search on a legitimate french bull dog and bought a short haired pekingnese instead. Loving every minute of her company too 🙂

    There are a lot of scams going around via animals being sold over the internet, so please be careful. Your Dexter might or might not exist.

    xoxo
    Petra

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 9, 2011

      Thanks Petra – I appreciate your flagging this. I have met the breeder, and the photos were also time stamped, but I do understand that all of that can be “hoaxed” – with that in mind I am also calling KUSA to verify the breeder and the litter registration before I go ahed and start moving large sums of money around.

      I will also hold back a certain part of the payment until I receive the dog, and take Dexter to his first vet appointment which will be on the day I receive him just to check that he is indeed healthy and is not hiding a “secret German Shepherd” in his bum, or something.

      I do wish to nod and agree that if you purchase a dog via the internet, odds are you will get stung, but I am hoping that this will not be one of those times.

      Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 9, 2011

      I have since spoken to another breeder here in Cape Town who knows the breeder I am speaking to.
      I have also made contact with KUSA to verify some information, so I am fairly sure I am not being swindled and I might actually get a dog in a box.

      Reply
  8. julie

     /  November 9, 2011

    You are going to love him. We found our dog via phone dating. SPCA called us to say they had the perfect dog for us. He was a puppy, we wanted old, we wanted medium, he was xboerbull but he was perfect. Your Internet date will work out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

