Dudebru … how cool are these guys?

I want to tell you that I never drink and drive, but I would be lying.

I do.   <hate mail can be sent to the email address listed on the side>

I always reason that I would be fine to pass an IQ test and could negotiate with a reasonable level of sense, and then I get behind a wheel.

We can argue that I am very stupid, or we can discuss that the idea that I go out for a few drinks and drive home, is sort of part of the “way we do things.”

The problem with this method of doing things is that the more you drink the less GREAT your decision-making is.  Dead sober I have questionable decision-making, add two glasses of wine and my decision-making can sometimes be a little out there.  I have been known to really like people I usually cannot stand dead sober, that alone should be a warning.

I don’t feel drunk.I don’t think I look drunk, but odds are if I was tested I may appear delayed.  Driving a large metal object and not having the ability to recreate quickly is probably less than ideal.

Okay all of this we know.

I may hazard a guess here that I am not unique in this regard, you have a few drinks, look at your car parked in pit-sonder-water and then wonder exactly who you are going to get your lazy arse home and your car.

You then decide you have very little option but to climb behind the wheel and drive.

I do not want this post to be about our social culture and our rather lax disregard for not driving once you reach for the wine opener, but I do want to tell you about some really cool guys.

If you live in the Northern Suburbs of Cape Town, right now you MUST GET REALLY EXCITED!!!  Dude, Northern Suburbs people have very little to get excited about, so that god there is something, and this might be it.

The very clever folks at dudebru have come up with a really fabulous solution.

These monkeys get you home.  It is reasonable, and if you are clever you will leave your car at home and just get them to pick you up and drop you at the venue.

Few things are better than going out for a good time, and knowing you driver will be waiting to collect you and safely deposit you at home.

I think calling a company called “dudebru” at 11pm, inebriated and at the corner of Long and Strand will be brilliant.  DUDEBRU!!

I will feature a bit more about them in a few days …. but they are so cool.

Number above, or hook up with them on Facebook.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Hi Everyone,
    You may want to check out our designated driver service, Scooter Angels, which services the whole of Cape Town 🙂

    Scooter Angels boasts:
    • Free membership – no monthly fees
    • Affordability – best rates in the industry
    • Female driver teams for female customers
    • Simple pricing structure- members & non-members
    • Variable contact methods – SMS, call centre, BBM and E-mail
    • Group drop offs – at a small extra charge we will drop off all your friends on route to your house
    • Fast pick-up times – due to clever deployment of waiting driver teams in key areas and the use of scooters

    We hope to be of service to you soon! Thank you.
    Become a Fan Here – http://www.facebook.com/scooterangelsdurbanville

    Reply
  2. There is a similiar service that has opened up in north JHB – The Booze Butler – https://www.facebook.com/groups/265615633462512/#!/pages/The-Booze-Butler/230671710316952?sk=info Good luck to all of them, I think its great.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 11, 2011

      I think the more accessible these services are, and the more they become part of our “cell phone address books” the better.

      Reply
  3. julie

     /  November 11, 2011

    Thanks for this. I have driven drunk. Once to the point where I realised that I was lucky to get home without killing myself or someone else. Since having Dylan I am really strict now and opt to not drink when going out if I am driving Dylan somewhere or I will have one glass if I am on my own. Neil and I take it in turns usually, but sometimes you just want to go out as a couple and really enjoy some wine and not worry about getting home so this is super cool!!!

    Thanks Sharon!!!

    Reply
  4. Our local guys are called Goodfellas. Very handy I tell ya.

    Reply
  5. Sharon

     /  November 11, 2011

    I think we are all guilty of driving under the influence at some time in our lives so no judgement here.
    I have become much more aware of this since becoming a mother and recently discovered the most fantastic tax service run by First For Women Insurance and you don’t even need to be insured by them to use the service – Cabs for Women, stunning pink taxi’s, driven by women and only for women. I’ve used them a few times, they’re 100% reliable and reasonable!
    Check it out for your next girls night out:
    http://www.cabsforwomen.co.za/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

