Who knew I could get this excited about urine and fa.ec.es?

Not me.

Isabelle is 2 1/2 and I have realised I fall onto the side of lax parenting. Baby one and baby two I was all in the “baby guides” and if my child did not hit the mark and do what they were meant to do at the required age, I would get myself pretty vexed and into a froth.

That is the ONLY  reason I can explain that I ever went to Mommy and Baby Groups.

When Isabelle arrived I had bought the baby books, joined “how big is your baby when comparing it to a fruit” emails, I had hired an electronic doppler, I had read what ever there was to read – I was SIKED.

I googled everything.  Even though I sort of knew what was going to happen, andgoogle just made me more nervous and more paranoid, I still googled it all.  I checked and rechecked everything.

When Isabelle was born, I realised I did not have the time to be as “anxious” about Isabelle’s development and worry about every little thing.  I had too much going on, and once Isabelle stopped screaming <around month three or four> I could see straight and attempt to do other things.

I was hoping she would be eating McDonalds, swigging Oros, talking gangsta and taking a dump in the toilet by now – but I had set my hopes a bit high.

Isabelle will be 24 + 6 months in December. I only got her exclusively on solids.  About two months ago I was still puree’ing her food – Kennith made me stop.

Isabelle says about 20 words. The clearest being “dawg” and “no” – the least clear being “mommy” which I think she is holding out for and drop in when I deposit her in Grade R.  I have stopped sitting infront of her repeating “mommy, say mommy, say mommy, please say mommy, mo-mmy, it’s really easy …. say mommy … mommy will buy you a pony if you say mommy … mommy … say mommy …. crap, just say mommy …. mo…mmy … say it …….”

I got tired of trying to bribe her whilst she looked at me suspiciously. She knew I was not going to get her a pony. And I knew she was not going to do what I asked her to.

Isabelle does not eat meat, unless it is a fish finger coated in crumbs.  She lives a mainly vegetarian existence <we aren’t vegetarians by the way> I just did not get around to introducing meat into her diet.

I bought a book on potty training.  Isabelle is not in the “potty training in a week” mould, and she took a real and aggresive aversion to the potty.

She has wowwed me and in the last month she is pretty much out of nappies.  She uses her white cheap-arse potty when ever she can.  All of this happened while I was “away at the little clinic” and then other people stepped in and took control of my house, as I appeared to be drooling at slobbering on my chin and otherwise engaged.

I am thrilled Isabelle uses her potty.

She has not made one accident, if you exclude the time she missed the potty all together, and the other time when she sat down in her nightie and it was under her arse and then she went “potty” – but if you exclude those two, she is pretty much potty trained.

I am so proud of her I actually gloat!

On the other hand Darron <super sport reference if you can do the Naas accent> is that each potty trip saves us just under R3.00 in nappies. Right now her “doggie” is still wearing nappies, so technically we are purchasing nappies for a stuffed dog …..

We went to a fishing spot on Saturday late afternoon/early evening – I took the potty along. Nothing quite like taking a dump out in the great outdoors.

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Great going Isabelle! Our L only trained after hitting 4 and going to a play therapist for 3 months. See – you are not the worst mommy – without a doubt that’s me

    Reply
  2. Hilary

     /  November 23, 2011

    She’s gorgeous. I bet she’s gonna hate you one day for taking this pic. Hopefully you won’t embarass her by whipping it out at her 21st b.day do…

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 23, 2011

      You must see the ones I did not publish …… she will need to thank me.

      Reply
  3. That is great>
    We also just celebrated our little one of nearly three being toilet trained. She just announced last week that was it, and that was it! She does not even wear a nappy to bed anymore.
    I get super excited about the savings and how much easier it is on us. Although, having to run to all the loos in the mall, or having to constantly asks if she wants to go to the toilet makes it still a it of a pain…

    Reply
  4. p.s (it’s killing me) who are these girls on my right in the photograph? and who are they to you…..? (the moustache picture?)

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 23, 2011

      The photo was taken at the Blo Cape Town Gettogether ….. they are all bloggers in Cape Town …..

      Reply
      • reluctantmom

         /  November 23, 2011

        Maybe not at the Blo Cape Town get together, but more likely the Blog Cape Town …..

        Reply
  5. oh my hat…no more nappies to cough up for..what a bonus.

    Reply
  6. Sharon

     /  November 23, 2011

    Way to go Isbelle!
    We’ve just started potty training and Ava seems to have the same aversion to the potty but only if I’m around. She’ll use the toilet with everyone except me! Not sure what I’m doing wrong! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Mandy

     /  November 23, 2011

    What a cute picture! Cannot believe how much she has grown! beautiful xxxx

    Reply
  8. Joyce

     /  November 23, 2011

    Now that is a cute pic!!! Definitely have to keep that one for the day she gets married! Congrats on your poo accomplishment, Isabelle!!!!

    Reply
  9. Charlotte

     /  November 23, 2011

    Love the picture!

    Go Isabelle!

    Reply
  10. Romaine

     /  November 23, 2011

    YAY Isabelle….. I am gloating as I type this…… I remember you posting about potty training and nappies a while ago and her not speaking but she seems to be doing quite well. I Love the pic of her, her hair has grown and she is beautiful man…… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

