The dog that got away ….

Dogs, kids, paintings, lavender – all falls into a similiar category for me “Project!”

Once I decide on a course of action, I make a list, tick off what needs to be done, and it is on like Donkey Kong!

I started the year not wanting a dog.  I sort of warmed to it in the middle of the year.  We dog-sat Satan’s dog mid-year.

I decided I was happy never having a dog in my home. I rethought the thought.  I researched.  I mused.  I sat and day-dreamed.  I obsessed.  I decided I was very keen on a French Bulldog or a Boston Terrier.  Or one of each. Or two of each  <<ssshhh don’t tell Kennith>>

I saw some lovely French Bulldogs. I gasped and sighed.  I will have to wait for the next litter to be considered.

I started chatting to breeders about Boston Terriers.  There was nothing available until next year.  I met a breeder who had a litter.  We spoke.  We emailed.  I named him Dexter.

I was very excited.  Money changed hands. Promises were made. I bought a puppy bed and some puppy food.

The “relationship” went sour.  My money was returned.  I mourn the “loss” of Dexter.

I am back on a waiting lists.

This year will not be “The Year of the Dog” in our house. Kennith suggests we pop down to the local rescue society and pick a dog up.  I have said no, I feel strongly that I want a specific breed from a specific breeder.

Kennith shrugs. I appear resolute.  We do not talk about “getting a dog” to the kids, we talk in code “when will the package arrive?”

So, no dog this year.  I am very disappointed about the nearly-our-dog-Dexter, but I will just need to wait it out like a patient potential dog owner.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’m sorry to hear about Dexter. I have a boston terrier/jack russel mix and she’s just the best. I know it can be really tempting to get a specific dog from a breeder but often times pure breds have more problems than mixes/mutts because of the “in-line breeding” and will cost you more at the vet’s office. Most boston terrier’s have problems breathing because of their squished faces but since mine is a jack russel mix, she has zero respiratory problems. I would suggest going to a pound or animal rescue shelter just to have a look and see if one of those puppies doesn’t make your heart melt. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve volunteered at a shelter and wanted to take someone home with me. The only reason I don’t have 1000 puppies at home is because my friends make me leave before I actually adopt (well that and I moved to another country last month).

    I guess I’m just commenting because I don’t want you to completely rule out a shelter puppy. They’re just as loving and sweet and you’d be doing a good thing by saving a puppy from being euthanized.

    Reply
  2. julie

     /  November 28, 2011

    Sorry about Dexter.

    Reply
  3. Juanita

     /  November 25, 2011

    Think you made the right choice!!!! Doesn’t make it easier though 😦

    Reply
  4. as above? (John B)

    Reply
  5. John B

     /  November 25, 2011

    why did the relationship with Dexter / Dexter’s family sour?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  November 25, 2011

      I am trying to find a good way to put this. The breeder had a litter that had some problems being registered with KUSA. There appeared to be issues, and I had only been informed about them about 48 hours before he was meant to fly down to me. It was in the process of being registered, but there were just too many things that were red flags in the process. And I was also really annoyed/disappointed/not sitting well with me, that there were so many issues and this had not been raised with me before hand.

      I also had concerns when I went over the pedigree that there was a lot more “line breeding” than I was comfortable with. I think had the KUSA issue not come along, I would have taken the puppy, but when there were “issues” with KUSA, it just raised too many questions and at some point, it made more sense to take myself out of the relationship.

      I realised I had remained in it, much longer than good sense dictated, because I was already emotionally committed to Dexter. But at a point sense returned and I withdrew myself from the relationship with the breeder.

      And that is sort of where we are.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

