Having my black dog at heel instead of pulling me along ….

Depression is somethings difficult to explain without it sounding …. a bit er ………. depressing.

It really is not the thing you can put a fun spin on,.  I try to make light of it, but people inevitably look at you more strangely than they did before.

At that point I down the glass of wine I am drinking (real or imaginary), and then you change the conversation as you offer to fill their glasses with more wine (real or imaginary).

Claire sent this link to me, and it is really exactly how depression is.

Depression and it’s little friend Generalised Anxiety Disorder <I have a social and sensory-sensitivity thrown in> is a total jedi-mind-fk.  It does not come with a cool light sabre and that heavy breathing guy in a slightly too big head mask.

Everyone tells you to “just be happy” or “snap out of it” or “you will get over it.”  All I want to do is get the shovel out of the garage, and hit the person in the head.  Then go and lie back on my bed, and stare into the vacant distanc, or close my eyes and wish for sleep to come.

Even when everyone is dancing around and so frkn happy, I sit there and smile and really I want to curl up in a ball somewhere, or at the least hold my breath until I pass out.

Social situations push me further than I want to go.  But I seldom opt out of social things, as the remedy is not to sit in a room, and rock yourself to sleep, but the solution is to put my self into social situations and remind myself that “I can do this, I can do this ….”

I think most people who suffer from depression can win an Oscar for faking-happy.  I tend to have to fake interest/happiness/contentment/mild interest when in reality I just want to somewhere and die.

To add to it, no one says {okay you are depressed, it’s okay that you do not feel the same as other people} so as a child/young teenager/young adult you decide that if everyone is smiling, what you need to do to fit in is to smile …. like a bit of a douche bag, as you really are just mimicking behaviour.

Seems the correct thing to do, right?

I have suffered/struggled/ignored depression for several years.

It just is.  I can’t blame things. I am just made this way. I think there were contributing factors, but to be honest no matter how things had occurred, I probably would have ended up in the same place.

<for me making this observation is a huge step, I have lamented various issues around my up-bringing for several years as a way to pin the tail on to the donkey going ‘that’s what caused this’…. but the reality is that I was made this way, there were some environmental issues that probably did not help, but odds are I would have ended up the same place no matter the journey>

My happiest moments are often tainted because I am smiling, but in reality I am not happy at all.  I knew I should be.  The problem was that “should” never equalled actually “feeling happy.”  I do try though.  Gawd only knows I try.  But it never seems quite enough.  <Excuse me while I leave the room to self-flagelate.>

The last few years have had some okay years and some shocker years.  2011 has been a corker, and really no one deserves a shag-and-a-medal more than Kennith for his trouble this year.  He has so stood there and taken it like standing up like no one’s business.

I am not writing this post, because I can click my heels together and screamed, I am cured.  But right now, with my respite from the {hole that is depression} it is wonderful to see things in life’s full Technicolor … even if it is just for a little bit.

<…in the last two days, I have started to get this gnawing sensation, that things are starting to creep back … that the edges of my pages are starting to crumble … just that little bit …. it really terrifies me…>

Illustrations are from “I had a Black Dog” from the uber fabulous Matthew Johnstone – you can purchase his books through Kalahari (delivery free until the 30 November 2011).

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Buddy

     /  July 9, 2014

    Great post; living with the black dog on my back for over 4 decades. Each day at a time, praying for relief. Living life between pills and shock therapy – any relief just to keep going. Your post hit home on many fronts. I would not wish depression on my worst enemy. Without support from family and friends I would not be around. Seeking the right professional support critical – this illness/sickness cannot be wished away. Your mind-set and thought patterns are so out of whack most have no comprehension of the daily struggle and pain. Why continue a question one ruminates each waking hour. Thanks again for taking the time to put together this web page.

    Reply
  2. I am so glad that I found your blog. I can so relate to that black hole called depression and the acting happy rather than actually feeling that way. Be glad that you can “feel” the depression starting to circle the edges. Do the things that bring you the most joy and laugh until it huts. It may not stave it off, but maybe it won’t be so bad this time. Hang in there!

    From one hole to the next – you are not alone.

    Reply
    • Thank you —- I think that is the thing about depression is you feel so alone. No matter how many people you are surrounded with, because it feels like no one understands you …..

      Reply
  3. Julie

     /  May 16, 2012

    Thank you so much for sharing so beautifully. Am looking forward to reading more of what you have to say. You express in a very lovely and profound way. I adore the illustration. Perfect.

    Reply
  4. Well said. Again.
    Sneaky dog, depression.

    May we be allowed to drop the acts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

