China does not play well with others …..

This week there has been quite a lot of debate about the execution of Janice Linden.  Janice Bronwyn Linden was caught at Baiyun International Airport in the southern Chinese city of Guangzhou in November 2008.

The Chinese don’t mess about when it comes to drug smuggling, something they consider to have “a very negative impact on society”. She was sentenced to death.  She was convicted of smuggling 3 kilograms of TIK (it has a better name, but that was what it was.)

Of course the debate will always rage as to whether Janice was guilty or whether she was a pawn in something bigger.

I did not know Janice’s name until earlier this week, so I do not recall the 2008 story.  But China is not for sissies, and if you are going to smuggle drugs in then you must be prepared for the serious high jump.

Hulle wat nie kak van kabouters af nie!  And they like drugs like they like jam.  And they jam fuckall it would seem.

Of all the places I think would be a bad place to smuggle drugs in to, my guess is really any way in the East is probably not a great idea.  I have not done tons of research, but my guess is cross those areas off your “places to go with a bag of TIK” … just saying.

I am not sure where I stand on the death sentence.  I do feel that there are certain crimes that are committed and certain criminals that will never be out of jail, never be able to fit back in to society.  They will be career criminals and they are just not nice people.

I do feel that people should contribute to society, if not a total contribution like running out and saving a frog or finding a way to overcome world famine, then at the very least not make society a bitch for everyone else.

If you are unable to “fit in to society” without killing, raping or maiming someone, then my short answer is yes, you no longer get the right to live in society, and if you are not living …. then … that leaves limited options.

Do I think that gives someone the right to kill you?  I am not 100% sure on that.

Do you think that the death sentence is the answer and is sufficient motivation to someone to not commit a particular crime?  I am not sure, but it does cut down on having to see the same ijut in the legal system.

Do you think rapists and murders should be sentenced to death? Yes, especially if it is a crime against a child, then no mercy, I am thinking blunt forced trauma would be a suitable end.

Do I feel bad that a woman died in China?  Yes.

Do I feel bad that the Chinese government stood up and made a decision, and were not going to allow foreigners to influence their decision-making?  No.

Do I admire China that they are able to see a crime + issue a sentence + move it through promptly and with speed?  Yes, definitely.

I do not know Janice.  I do not know if she was guilty or not.  But if she was in any way connected to smuggling drugs, then I am not totally disappointed that China has decided to meet out the death penalty for drug smuggling.

But in related news … A South African woman was arrested at Bangkok’s international airport after police said they found 1.5kg of cocaine hidden in her dreadlocks. Nbanda Nolubabalo, 23, was searched on Monday when police said they noticed a white substance in her hair shortly after she stepped off a Qatar Airways flight that originated in San Paulo and flew through Qatar to Suvarnabhumi Airport, the Bangkok Post said.

The search uncovered 1.5kg of cocaine with a street value of 4.5 million baht (about R1.2 million) hidden in her dreadlocks, authorities said.

Police said the suspect admitted smuggling the drug and said she had been hired for 60 000 baht to deliver it to a customer at a hotel in Bangkok.

Bangkok Officer: “It appears you have cocaine in your dreadlocks….”

Nobanda:  “What?  I know nothing about that.  I am using a new hair treatment with all natural ingredients …. I know nothing about 1.5kg of cocaine in my hair … I thought it was dandruff build-up….honest ….”

I have no idea how one even begins to explain your way out of that one …..

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Charne

     /  December 14, 2011

    I am also on the fence here. But one could argue that if drug smugglers deserve the death sentence because they destroy society, then that could also mean that drug users should get the death sentence?………….. just a thought.

    Reply
  2. Oops! And this has to be one of the funniest blog post Titles of 2011. You’re well cool. Not that I’m really that down with the kids, not sure how much of a compliment that is

    Reply
  3. Drugs are bad but no one should die for 3kg. People make mistakes. She should have had that mistake corrected and should go to jail for years. But imagine you make a mistake like that, and you have to die for it? I do not believe in the death penalty at all, for any reason, but I am more likely to be persuaded that a serial killer should die than someone who smuggles 3 kg of drugs. I think it is horrific. I understand drugs destroy lives, but in the drug equation there are two people, the seller and the buyer and the buyer assumes some responsibility, whereas in a murder the responsibility lies very much with the murderer.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  December 13, 2011

      I am not 100% sure I agree with you – 3kg of drugs that can be cut up and resold is a lot of drugs. I am not sure at which point “smuggling drugs” is worth a life. But that being said, I am not sure at which point it is not. If I had a child that had spent years in rehab or died from an overdose, I might not be that keen on light sentences, but I am not sure if a death sentence is too much or just the right about.

      I am a bit on the fence on this issue right now.

      Reply
  4. She def. had a bad hair day there. But in all seriousness, my B.I.L(brother in law) was addicted to Chrystal Meth(tik) and he’s clean now but it’s no joke and lots of shit went down to get him where he is today. So, no I’ve NO sympathy for any drug smugglers. In fact, lock the fuckers up I say and throw away the key.

    The death sentence is a tricky one. I believe in it but as a Christian I can’t believe in it…if your know what I mean? (I want to believe in it, but I can’t).

    Zero tolerance and all that. Drugs cause violence, theft, lies, deceit, unwanted pregnancies, pretty much only bad things result from people that take drugs. Where’s the good in being lenient?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

