Shelly Khumalo – Mampoer of the Week Award?

So Shelly pops down the local mall, and decides that she is going to nip in for a few moments and is reluctant to drag ALL her kids with her.

Who of us hasn’t?

I popped in to Woolworths today and left my three in my car.  Parking conditions and temperature was slightly different .. and no doubt there is a fair amount of tut-tutting and arrangement of facial features in a judgemental expression going on.

I am not trying to align myself with Shelly I am trying to indicate that she is not totally alone in this regard <<the one of stupid parenting decisions>>

Shelly has 4 children – and she used the” two with me, two in a boiling hot car” approach.

I can’t say I recommend this approach – unless you specifically do not want four children at the end of your shopping experience.  But there we go.  Clearly a serious facebook palm if there ever was one.

No doubt Shelly is an overtired mom making stupid decisions <<two kids under 2, clearly indicates she is sleep deprived at the very least>>.   Another factor is that Shelly drives a BMW  – I am naturally suspicious of BMW drivers, they do not seem to understand channelling lines on the N1, nor how to use their indicator lights and traffic circles confuse them totally.  Shelly also is from Vereeniging.

There are so many factors in this story.

She thought 2 young kids in a locked car in a parking lot when the temperature was close to 36 degrees, with a window slight ajar was a great idea.  It seems passer-byers, the police and the grim reaper thought otherwise.  And thank goodness for who ever had the good sense to smash in her car window — I might have taken a few whacks at her bonnet and car door for good measure, but that is me.

Shelly appeared in court earlier this week and was released on R2000.00 bail.  We all know if  she should just have been charged with being stupid, then she might have faced execution right now.

Shelly Khumalo is the poster child for everything that is wrong with being a mother and votes are in for the secret ballot that is Worst Parent of the Year 2011.

I have no idea what possesses her to leave her two kids in a car, in the heat.  Not a particularly bright idea and she really could have killed her kids.  She gets a 2 from the Chinese judge in this round, the UK judge scored her a 1.

I have no idea who she is or what the circumstances were around this rather unfortunate day.

My guess is her younger kid(s) might have been asleep.  She figured instead of dragging 4 kids screaming into a shopping centre with them going ape shit, she would do the next best thing.  Leave the two sleeping, and only drag the two older ones in as they would already be screaming <if you have ever dragged a child to a mall you will know what I am talking about> and run in and then run out.

Seems like a good plan.  In principle.  In execution, not so much.

But stupid people often become stupid parents, and stupid parents do make stupid decisions.

Sometimes really clever parents do really stupid things.  And average parents sort of swing between really clever and totally fkd up decision making.

I will be honest here – Shelly and her stupidity barely raises my eyebrow (I think I was distracted with cocaine-in-dreadlock lady as epic fail of the week).

Every day I drive my kids to school I see parents with young kids standing on the front seat, sitting unbuckled in the car, standing between the seats, sitting on their parent’s lap … or a combination of these variations.

Most of the parents who drop their kids off at both my kids’ schools do not buckle their kids up.

Shelly gets a fine, gets her named dragged through the press, and is probably a prize mampoer.  I see parents every day who risk the lives of their kids driving on busy roads, to about the same degree than Shelly did.

The same parents probably do not give their kids Niknaks and Oros, because it is “bad for them…” but reason out that flying through a windscreen at 60km an hour will be okay.

I am not suggesting that because there are so many stupid parents, we should go light on young Shelly from Vereeniging – but I do want to draw attention to how many stupid parents there are doing stupid things that risk the lives of their children, every day, and those people are not being torn apart by the feeding frenzy.

I hope her kids are okay.

I hope she takes something from this other than it being a really crappy decision.  I hope this event acts as an eye opener to parents who have probably locked their kids in hot cars, and it never dawned on them that this was a bad idea.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. But that’s a totally different situation – even this morning I left he kids in the car at a garage on front of the ATM. I could see them the entire time, the windows were open, etc etc.

    Reply
  2. I’m going to admit to leaving my kids in the car as well. Now for the justifications:
    1. I only do it at our local cafes, school or creche, when I’m in and out in one minute
    2. If it’s hot, all the windows will be open
    3. We live on a small farm, even if all of us climb out I leave the car unlocked to go in… save area

    Reply
  3. Patty

     /  December 14, 2011

    Maybe Im too paranoid, what if the car was hijacked with the kids inside WTF

    Reply
  4. This is the kind of story that makes me sleepless at night. What bothered me most is that she shouted at the paramedics who broke her precious car’s window. That gave me a sense of her priorities. Even if the children were in no real harm, how can you leasve tiny babies possibly asleep in the car, only to wake up and panic because they are all alone in a strange place. Makes me wonder about whether there is any love in that household. I am probably being hysterical but I dunno. Atleast there are four kids, they can look after and love each other to an extent. Or turn out to be really shit people like their mother sounds like. Judgemental much, me?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  December 14, 2011

      Yes … there are several questions raised on this one. I must believe judging my her reaction that she just did not realise the consequences of child being left in a hot car … either that or she really liked her car window …like a great deal.

      Reply
    • Sharon

       /  December 14, 2011

      I’m with you Margot! We are all guilty of making stupid decisions from time to time but really, where did she ever think it would be ok to leave a 6 month old and a 2 year old alone in a locked car? The list of things could potentially have gone wrong is endless. Not to mention the emotional trauma to those tiny babies.
      She is also being charged with assaulting a police officer because she punched the police man who assisted the paramedic in breaking her car window.
      Shelly WTF?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

