It starts again ….

That creeping sensation that things are not quite as they should be.

The whispers of self-doubt.

The gnawing sensation that everyone is plotting against me.

The hiss that people are talking about me.  Incessantly.  Always in the negative.

The worry that I am doing something wrong.  Everything wrong.  About to be “caught out” for doing something wrong I have not even done.  At all.  Ever.

The sounds of whispers and innuendos and recrimination.

Small sounds reverberate in my eardrums as echos.  My children’s chewing that sounds like the brass frkn band going off tune next to me.

The mental arguing and cross-questioning and “should I” or “what if…” and “maybe you need to go and fix that….”

Unfortunately it has all started again.  It was so lovely when it was gone.  It was so lovely.

It started as a quiet whisper in the darkness, but now it is turning into screaming in the day.    It might just be because I am feeling exhausted.  Tired to the bone.

Not ideal considering “yearly holidays” has just finished and I am in negative leave.  I could climb in to bed, pull the covers over my head and sleep for a week.

On the upside it is not depression.  Yip, fkn hooray for that.  Talk about seeing the silver lining.

But it is the mania – the creeping sensation of the full-blown anxiety as it’s bleeding fingers start to linger around the edges – the exaggerated sense of anxiety – every nerve ending hot like a poker – at the same time my brain starts to shut down because it can’t deal with multiple stimuli.

Yesterday.  True Story.  I forgot how to fill the kettle with water.  I was trying to make tea and coffee, and I knew I should fill the kettle, but I looked at the kettle and thought “fk how do I get water in there….” and the I opted to boil the kettle and hope there was enough to fill two cups.

By the time the water was boiled and I poured the water in to two cups, my brain went: “Hey the kettle comes of the thingy-me-bob, you just pick the kettle up and direct it at the tap thing …. and tah-dah….water in the kettle”  But I could not work that out earlier.

When you cannot mentally work out how to fill the kettle with water, it is time to call in medical supervision or at the very least a priest and an intervention or exorcism going.

Fk!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. No words of wisdom just to say that because you are willing to be so honest and able to describe things so well, it gives those of us fortunate enough never to have experienced such feelings a little insight into how terrifying and difficult it must be. Thinking of you and hoping things can be sorted before they get worse.

    Reply
  2. Sharon

     /  January 10, 2012

    I’m not sure what the suitable response is to this post. Sorry you’re going through this Celeste and hope that you can get a grip on it before it spirals out of control again.
    Thinking of you!

    Reply
  3. Big hug!

    Been going through something similar lately. The self questioning after each contact with the outside world. The constant rerunning of every word spoken, checking and rechecking to see if I didn’t give offense and pushed people away with what I said and did…

    Reply
  4. I know that feeling of anxiety way too well ((hugs))

    Reply
  1. What if we treated every illness the way that we treat mental illness? |
  2. Sometimes….. | Run Tonto Run......

Leave a Reply

