Run away. Run away. Come back. Come back Annabelle.

I like my daily dose of normal.  My daily dose may appear chaotic and crazy to others, but is my normal, and the result is that my mind can tick off the “normal” every day.

If there is a shift or you take away a key element, or add something extra, I am likely to have a little spin out.  And this is the reason I make lists.  I always have a list, and I like to tick my things off my list, as then it makes me feel “in control” and that I have got it all buttoned down.

This morning I am driving to work.  Traffic is shocking.  My phone goes off, I hear it ring, but cannot attend to it and navigate an interchange.

I hear my phone beep a phone message.

I smile.  I love people who sms me a message, rather than leave a long fangled phone message.  I do like sms people.

I am in traffic, and in neutral. ,I dig my phone out.  It is an sms from a vet in Bergvliet saying “Hi we have your dog.  Thanks Carol St Francis Vet Clinic 021 712 0357.”

Hmm, I am thinking Carol is tucking into the tipple a bit early this morning.

I just left home.  My dog was there, and Bergvliet is several miles from Parow, even for a fast dog that might be bending the time/space thing a bit.

I call Carol – Carol tells me she has my staffie.  My brain is trying to compute.  I try to explain to her I do not have a Staffie.  She re-explaining to me that actually I do have a Staffie and she is at their vet.

I am starting to speak to Carol like she is a special needs person, and I am really to busy for these rather bizarre phone calls.

So she goes “I am sure microchips don’t lie.  We have your dog Annabelle, it is a red and white Staffie….”

Annabelle went missing about a year and a half ago.  I ran ads, I contacted vets, I put notes on Facebook, I cried, I worried, I felt terrible.  I healed.

I am floored. Once my brain started working, I decided to re-aim my vehicle towards Bergliet, and sure as sh*t there was Annabelle.

Older, fatter, but still Annabelle.

She looked at me like I had just come back from the shops, after buying some wine.  She was not going to tell me where she had been for the last year and a half, and instead decided to pant and leave saliva all over my car’s front seat.

Anything can be forgiven the day you get back from the dead.

I brought Annabelle home and explain that I had moved on.  I had mourned her death, I had got a new puppy.   Dexter looked at her and his hackles have risen, there appears to be an usurper in his midsts.

As my friend Joyce says, it is the dog version of the Bold and the Beautiful, where the dead husband returns to find his wife has now remarried … and has a new family … because in the Bold and the Beautiful, dead husbands and dead dogs always come back.

Moral of the story: Microchip your dog/cat.  That shit works.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Claire LL

     /  January 27, 2012

    This is the coolest happy-tears news! I’m sure I read about your story on FB, can’t find the page now. Enjoy the family dynamics 😉

    Reply
  2. Loretta

     /  January 23, 2012

    Oh my greatness! I am curious though to hear what Pepe thinks of this new development….

    Reply
    • Sharon

       /  January 24, 2012

      LOL! Yes me too! That was the first thought that crossed my mind… I wonder how Pepe is taking this news!

      Reply
      • reluctantmom

         /  January 24, 2012

        Pepe is dealing with it by going on a week’s leave …… sigh

        Reply
  3. Beth

     /  January 23, 2012

    Amazing! Wonder where on earth she’s been for a year and a half? I would be beside myself with happiness.

    Reply
  4. Mergon

     /  January 23, 2012

    Shit, Celeste!!! There’s tears in my heart but with a huge smile on my face. I’m so happy… for Annabelle, for you.

    Reply
  5. Charne

     /  January 23, 2012

    OMW – How cool is that!! Can’t believe its been a year and a half already!
    Glad that you have Annabelle back home. Pity she can’t talk and tell you where she’s been.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

