Sex On Fire …. and other household mishaps

I am working from home this week, for a variety of reasons.

My work, laptop, diary, workbooks and so on are spread over the dining room table, and it is all quite jolly.  I get a fair bit done, as all the kids are at school, so I get to put my head down and just get on with it. No distractions.  Unlimited supply of hot tea and day old bread.  What’s not to love?

Sat down this morning, got started.  Made some toast and some tea.

Was just thinking about how I had this great organisation going on my table, and at that point, I hit my tea mug over with my arm.

Hot tea running all over the desk and over everything I had so neatly organised.

My immediate reaction was to stuff the entire piece of toast in the general direction of my mouth, which would free up my hands to grab my laptop and lift it high away from the spillage.

I did all of this in a split second.  Comparing my split-second and catlike reflexes to a poised athlete – with a large piece of chocolate toast jammed into their mouth.

What I did not allow for was the rush of hot tea <freshly made> pouring into my lap.

For just a moment I started singing Kings of Leon – Sex On Fire …. I really have no idea what the lyrics of that song mean, but seriously my lady bits were on fire, so it made sense to sign the song.

 

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Really, I think that IS what Sex on Fire is about. Isn’t it? Ow. I did a classic paper-cup-coffee-on-the-dashboard-falls-into-lap-as-hubby-drives-away this morning. I feel your pain. Gonna make some chocolate toast now.

    Reply
  2. I hope you were able to save your stuff–papers and computer.

    What intrigued me most about this post is not the Sex on Fire, but the chocolate toast! 🙂 Please tell me what that is. Sounds yummy. Alabama USA doesn’t know about chocolate toast yet.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  January 26, 2012

      It is chocolate spread on toast – Nutella I think. If you lather enough on it just turns to “chocolate toast…”

      Reply
  3. Charlotte

     /  January 26, 2012

    Shame Celeste – but on the upside you are home to at least you could take an shower and tell me how you fit the entire slice of toast in your mouth?

    Reply
  4. ouch……..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

