Cheers chicks and china-beans …..

Yes, today is not exactly the highpoint of my week, but any the who, such it is – I did lie in bed this morning wondering if I could just skip today — all together.  There  is not too much I can do {falls flaying to the ground….} other than get up, brush your teeth, look at your fine mane of hair, and put your big girl panties on, and suck it the fk up!

I do appreciate the words of wisdom, and general back patting that has gone on following my last post – it is much appreciated, and even though I wince at clichés sometimes it is quite nice to hear the much used, but well-regarded “closed doors mean new doors open” vibe.

All very kumba-ya-m’lord …. so thanks, really, thanks –  a girl sometimes needs a bit of upbeat to feel better about her shit.

I don’t really have a plan at the moment as to what I will be doing tomorrow or next week, but I thought I would take today, maybe tomorrow, maybe even the next day and take a deep breath and read my book a bit, then see what happens.

The “nervous and anxious” part of me wants to run around the room like a headless chicken screaming “the sky, the sky, it’s falling in!”

The lazy-lie-on-the-couch-wine-swilling-oaf wants to click her heels in glee that she gets to finish “World without End” by Ken Follett.  I am on page 553 of this 1237 page monster, and I am truly loving every moment, so that is about all that is on my IMMEDIATE horizon.

Tomorrow I can deal with tomorrow, or maybe the day after tomorrow.

Today I plan to eat a drive through McDonald’s meal with a coke light {you know it balances itself out} and read my book a bit – that is what I have planned, anything after that is a surprise.  For both you and me.

Side bar >> I really am having that dilemma about whether I stand up from my cubicle and say something like “Cheerio my beeatches – catch you on the flip side” and make a dramatic exit – or whether I quietly slip out while everyone is out on lunch – thus avoiding the really uncomfortable “bye, keep well” “I am sure it is for the best” “You will see you will find something better” “Hey, keep in touch” “I am going to miss you — all the best hey” or what ever variation there is on any of those key “get the fk out the office door” phrases.

Odds are, I will opt for the silent exit, and in about four weeks someone will look up and go – “Where is that slightly unstable person, with the wild eyes and intense frown who used to sit over in the orange cubicle?  If she is gone, can I get her parking bay?”

Yep, I think I will avoid all the hugging and kissing and awkward moments as I quietly slip out the door.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I hope it’s a quick and pain free departure! Then finish your book, and whatever’s next will come along. Cream cake with fruit on top, one also cancels out the other. Just saying ..

    Reply
  2. Dot

     /  April 12, 2012

    Good luck with the exit – the bastards left behind are probably all stressing about how long till their turn. Enjioy the book!

    Reply
  3. Not a day goes by without looking to see if you have posted. I have awarded you with the Liebster Blog Award for being my favourite blogger – http://www.lifecherries.com/2012/04/liebster-blog-award.html
    PS – World Without End is a fantastic book and is well worth taking the trouble to get through it. Hope you have read the first book as well.

    Reply
  4. In my head as I slink out I would go “Ok then bye – not sure where my kids will get their next meal from but y’all have a good day now” and then “Oh and by the way you are fat and that lipstick makes you look like a hooker” and then “Tomorrow I am going to sleep in while you freaks are all sitting in traffic to get to this dump” – and so it goes on!!!!

    Even though I left my last job willingly I still said all these things as I made my exit!

    Reply
  5. I would love to say “Fuck your job” or something like that.

    Reply
  6. I agree – the quiet exit is the best bet here.
    Enjoy the novel and let you worry about tomorrow, tomorrow 🙂

    Reply
  7. I had loved my job and I was rather good at it. I had to go on temporary disability leave and in the beginning I got the odd mail. The longer I was sick, the less I heard.

    Eventually I resigned. I wasn’t coping physically and didn’t work my months notice and got no well wishes party or gift after years of service. I felt sad.

    I would leave silently during lunch.

    Reply
  8. I don’t mean to make light of your exit, but the Jerry Maguire Grand Exit with Renee Zelwegger springs to mind? Leave the gold fish though.

    enjoy Ken’s epic novel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

