Little Face ….

I have read two books from Sophie Hannah and they were brilliant.  She writes brilliantly, and the best thing about her books is that “I don’t see it coming.”

I have been wanting to read “Little Face by Sophie Hannah” for some how never seem to see the book at a bookstore.  I saw a copy yesterday at my local “cheap and cheerful” bookstore and grabbed it. Cost R59.50.

Started reading it yesterday, and to say it was briliant would be a key understatement.

The short of it {no spoil alert needed} is a first time mom, Alice, gives birth to her baby following a complicated labour, and an emergency caesarian section.

Within the first two weeks of Alice being home with her new daughter Florence, she walks in to the nursery and a nightmare presents itself.

The baby lying in the cot is not Florence.  It is not the daughter Alice delivered. Alice is trying to convince her husband, her mother in law, and the police that her baby is missing, this usurper is not her Florence.

Cheese and vegetables, this is a great book.  I am not going to give anything away, except that this is a chilling, fast paced book.

Before you know it you are swept up in this gripping story.  The characters are a bit two dimensional, and I did feel the “police backstory” took away from the main story – and the characters were a bit extreme to be realisic, but this withstanding, it is still a great read.

Short’ish book – 357 pages, so you can kick it in a day or two and once you throw yourself in to it, you will tend to stop eating. drinking, using the shower until you have finished this book.

I dropped the kids off this morning, and had the book in my bag.  I had the last 27 pages to read, and I parked outside of Isabelle’s school after I dropped her off, and sat in my car absolutely soaking up this book.

Yike a doodle, it is a good one.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Thanks- I love reading book reviews and recommendations. Currently absorber by ” the leopard”

    Reply
  2. Oki Doki…. I a searching on Kalahari.net for this one.

    x

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 20, 2012

      It is not a “must read at all costs” but it was a good, quick, gripping, scare the pants off you …. which is a bit like a quickie really ….

      Reply
  3. Alexandra

     /  April 19, 2012

    How can you read a book like that?

    On the one hand I know if I start I’ll have to finish but I’m sure it would leave me with nightmares.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  April 20, 2012

      I think the subject sounds more daunting than it is — it is one of those book covers that freaks you out, but when you sit with the book it is not as “frightening” as it seemed. The book that still freaks me out is “Deep End of the Ocean” – I read it before I had kids, and it is still a book I think about probably at least once a week.

      Reply
      • Alexandra

         /  April 20, 2012

        Okay that sounds like I might actually be able to read it. Haven’t been able to watch The Changeling yet for the same reason.

        I read Deep End of the Ocean long before I had children – definitely could not read it now.

        Reply
        • reluctantmom

           /  April 20, 2012

          I saw the movie The Changeling, I really had not heard about it before I watched it. It is a story that also sits with me — I think anything where your child disappears is every parent’s nightmare.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

