Leaky fish tank and other emergencies ….

Me sitting re-editing 400 images I already edited, but made a photoshop 101 error on, so I am sitting and redoing the editing, and not exactly loving every moment.  Editing once is fine, editting the same thing again because you are a tosser, really is somewhat unsatisfactory.

Phone rings.

Me: “Hello….”

Little voice: “Hello Mommy…”

Me: “Hi Connor, what’s up my boy…?”

Connor: “Mom, are you busy?”

Me: “Er, a little bit, what’s up Connor?”

Connor: “My fishing tank in my class has a leak, can you go to the pet shop and buy another one, and bring it to school now?”

Me: “errr…..”

Connor: “Please Mommy….. please …….”

Me – wondering how to argue with the fact that he knows I am not working.  He knows I am at home, he has a fish tank leak, which I can offer little in the way of advise for. Can I actually say NO when he is obviously speaking on his teacher’s cell phone with her and all the kids listening?

The short answer is I went to buy a fish tank, a cover and some pebbles and delivered it to Connor’s school within 45 minutes of his call.

So that gets me a Mommy of the Week Award.

The part where I lose it, is that I had his teacher’s name wrong (not slightly, totally wrong).  So could not find her class (as I had never attended a teacher-parent meeting clearly).

Fortunately only managed to find Connor’s class because he was standing at the front of the class and I was looking through the little glass window in the class room door.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. You sure are a GREAT mommy

    Reply
  2. SO totally you are a way better mom than me!

    Reply
  3. This earns you Mommy of the year award. Not because you got a new fish tank delivered within 45 minutes, but becuase Connor knew he could rely on you to do so. That may also make you wipped mommy of the year award too, but who cares. I am impressed.

    Reply
  4. Mom of the Year in my books!

    Reply
  5. Charlotte aka Scaredmom

     /  May 23, 2012

    Never gone to a parent teacher evening – you just made up for it by replacing a fish tank mid day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

