How the hell does Kate do 8?

I am not a big television fan.

I get home, I tend to do what I need in terms of dinner/bath/bed for kids, and then attend to myself in roughly the same order.  Out of choice I would rather read a book, but Kennith has other plans, and Kennith is the one who holds the remote.

Any the way, I don’t DSTV channel surf much, as I am seldom allowed to hold the remote.  But now that I am at home and I sit in my little pseudo office, I turn the television on and switch to a documentary and leave it in the background.

That being said I have managed to catch several inserts of Kate Plus 8 or Kate Makes 8 – or what ever it is called.  Key point woman who is divorced, has a set of twins and then a set of sextuplets (is that the correct word?) and all these kids are under 10 years old.

Any the who, most of the shows I have caught are her on outings with her 8 / EIGHT kids – I seriously have no idea how she does it.

Today I fetch the kids from school.  I stop at Woolworths, and I want to run in – I want to leave all three of them in the car and pop in.

Isabelle starts screaming her head off as she wants to come with me.  Georgia and Connor start screaming – not raising their voices – but screaming “I’M THE BOSS, I’M THE BOSS, I’M THE BOSS…” and then arguing vehemently about who will be the boss whilst I am away.

I am sitting in the driver’s seat wondering if I should just gas us all now – but then I think of how dos Kate copes with 8?

She always appears to have good hair, well french manicured nails, no roots showing, and usually is wearing heels with shorts.  She sometimes appears a little ruffled, but I never hear her cursing at her kids or going ape shit – maybe they edit those bits out.

I am just trying to pop in to Woolworths for a Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon (I had a craving) and I can’t even do that without my three going totally bat shit.

I have no idea how Kate Gosselin does it.

To get divorced and not fight for the other parent to take custody – with 8 kids!!!  That is really one of those times when you want your partner to take the kids, and you get visitation every second Wednesday night for three hours, up until they are about 12.

Anyway, I am going to google Kate (with 8) and figure out if she is on medication, because god’s truth there is no way any earthly person could look that good, have eight children and not be drinking by 10am!!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Carrie

     /  May 24, 2012

    The show is completely scripted. She even said so herself on her E! True Hollywood Story. She wasnt always to well groomed – fame has gone to her head. Anyone could deal with 8 kids if u had nannies, stylists, makeup artists, etc all hidden behind the cameras

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  May 24, 2012

      Still 8 kids and no freaking out ….. no matter how many people are sitting behind a camera, she is either a phenomenal actress of the person who editted that lot is Oliver Stone gifted!

      Reply
  2. Ciska

     /  May 24, 2012

    Online shopping, ladies! Best train Woolies ever got on! You can even order clothes and gifts! And only R50 delivery fee. Hell of a bargain to keep a little of your sanity, I’d say.

    Reply
  3. DOn’t you know reality tv us not really real? No way is she aas uflustered as that. Just having a divroce behind her already tells us that. And did you know that apparently parents with multiples is twice as likely to divorce? (I think the dads run away to the safetly of every single weekend and Wednesday nights)

    Reply
  4. I caught an episode once too. I have no idea how she copes.

    Reply
  5. a Woolies drive thru. Bloody Hell, that would be brilliant. Or pre -order and collect?

    Reply
  6. Hilary

     /  May 24, 2012

    LOL ‘I am sitting in the driver’s seat wondering if I should just gas us all now’ I totally relate. That about sums up most of my solo outings with my 1 and 4yr old boys. Which is why, when I have a fast food craving, DRIVE THROUGH McD’s or KFC is my best friend. Pity Woolies can’t come up with a drive through option…

    Reply
  7. I have never really understood this woman, I didn’t even know she had a reality show now,I’ll keep an eye out

    Reply

Leave a Reply

