Babies in Tupperware?

On Friday I stopped in at Toys R Us, primarily to see if I could find the twin sister of Chocolate.

Afraid not.  It appears all {if not most} of the dolls/plastic babies available are of the blonde hair and blue-eyed variety.

The only not blonde babies were more a lightly steamed cafe latte colour than the rich bourneville shade I was looking for.

I started to feel somewhat enraged by the one-crayon-variety of dolls and toys available.  And I am blonde hair and blue-eyed, so my enragement is more out of “I want a black doll” than I would really prefer my child to play with a doll that reflects what she sees in the mirror.

I am not sure how parents who are not blue-eyed and blonde haired cope with this affront to their purchasing plans.

You know that you are making a scene when you approach a shop assistant {at Toys R Us} going: “Where are your black dolls?”

“Yes, I saw that black doll, but it is not black enough!  Why do you not stock black dolls???”  My voice might have gone up an octave on the word “black” just to show my annoyance.

When the sales assistant started to edge away from me and mouth the words “what the hell is wrong with this chick” was when I decided to continue browsing without assistance.

But seriously why have the ANC and COSATU not got behind this doll thing.  I mean really …. this is got to be more important than an acrylic pen.is on a piece of canvas.  Surely it must be!

When I thought nothing in the toy store could upset me, I found a baby in a tupperware container!  Baby too big squeezed in to a tupperware box.

I seldom go “WHAT THE FUCK”  in a toy store.  But this is definitely one of those.

The box started to look like a coffin to me.  The babies were hellishly real in every possible detail.

I totally get packing a plastic doll in a plastic box for sale – understand the concept, works well.  But when you are dealing with a doll that is so life like it is uncanny (and that is what they are trying to sell – life like looking babies and toddlers) then for the love of gd do not fold it up and stick it in a box!!

I am not sure of the options, but a large tupperware box stacked on top of each other, is really not appropriate to market this item.

These dolls are freakishly realistic.  They also cost about the same as a baby, so it is like having a baby, but getting a large tupperware box with it as a bonus.

I really am not sure of who {in their right mind} would buy a doll of this nature.  It freaks me out.  I stood there mesmerised for ages.  Not mesmerised in wonder of a glorious achievement, but mesmerised in a Ripley’s Believe it Or Not! sort of manner

I tried to take some pictures, but the reflection of the plastic “coffin” does not do them justice.

I cannot argue that these dolls are well made.  I cannot argue that the greatest care has been taken to make these dolls appear as life like as possible.  I cannot argue that who ever makes these dolls is immensely talented.

But this does not stop them being creepy, eerie and a bit scary … to me.

I get freaked out when I see Isabelle knocking Chocolate’s head against the fridge.  It upsets me, as I have no idea she saw me doing this to her brother, and is now mimicking my behaviour.  {just joking, no need to call child services …. really}

But Chocolate does not appear life-like – at a glance one can easily assess she is brown plastic parts with a t-shirt torso.

I am fairly sure I would not cope to see one of my girls “abuse” their baby doll, if their baby doll looked like a live doll.

However that withstanding, if these dolls rock your world, and you would like to get hold of the company that makes them to see if you can get hold of one, I will save you the need for google, and hook you up with their Facebook account: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Baltorinas-Unique-Baby-Dolls-Lifelike/302950328977

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Etta

     /  December 9, 2013

    I am really shocked of what was said about this talented doll maker, I visited the place where they are made and they are really remarkly life like. I also have one of the first dolls that was made by the doll maker and I am proud to have one of her life like dolls.

    Reply
  2. Cheyenne

     /  January 22, 2013

    I can understand that people can be upset about the fact that there’s no black babies, but they only make what Toys R us asks of them. And also, they do make black/ indian / coloured babies by special request. The plastic “coffins” that some of you are referring to, are the best containers and lasts the longest. They have tried many various packaging, and everything seemed to fail. They have been bestsellers at Toys R us and Reggies for the past 4 years and they are still going strong. They were not meant to freak anybody out, but rather give someone their very own unique doll. If you order directly by them you can even choose the hair and eye colour. They are expensive because everything is handmade, even the clothes. When they send them to the toy shops, they are neatly packed, and what happens to them after that is entirely up to the customers. I think all of you should just give this lady more credit as it is a wonderful job creating oppurtunity, and a very special talent to posess.

    Reply
  3. i once saw two young girls with their mom in woolies, one of them was holding one of these dolls. swaddled in a blanket, it looked so lifelike that i thought they were holding a sleeping new-born, and was horrified that their mom was allowing them to! i agree, they are very creepy!

    Reply
  4. Carrie

     /  June 7, 2012

    Ja, these dolls definately freak me out – getting Chucky flashbacks!
    But seriously, did I see the price correctly R1,795 for a TOY!!! Man, that is beyond ridiculous!

    Reply
  5. ClaireLL

     /  June 5, 2012

    I read a magazine article about these dolls – a woman went on a doll-making course & these were the result. She has a cult following. And some little girl’s nutjob parents have bought her about 200 so far…um, ja, that’s a down payment on something or other.

    Reply
  6. Hilary

     /  June 5, 2012

    That is truly scary and freaky as s*^t!!! With babies being discarded like rubbish these days this image makes me really sick. I am stunned. What idiot came up with this idea? Why not a nice, cute little plastic cradle? Hell for that price why not a porcelain cradle?

    Reply
  7. Okay, I refrained from commenting previously on the topic of black dolls at the risk of being negatively judged (you’ll see why). When I was doll-shopping with my daughter (who was about 3 at the time), I pointed to the chocolate-coloured doll. She flat-out refused to take that doll, saying she wanted the PRETTY doll – referring to a very similar doll …but with blue eyes, fair skin and light hair. What is so confusing is the fact we are darker-skinned – she, herself is a lovely rich bournville colour. She called the chocolate-coloured doll ‘yucky’ and ‘ugly’. I was stunned- where the hell was she learning her weird values [not from me, I swear]. Up until now, to her, white dolls are pretty, while she will not play with black dolls. It is so embarrassing to go doll shopping with her!

    Reply
    • Gina S

       /  August 21, 2012

      Wow! I wonder why she is saying that? I’ve seen some very cute black dolls.
      At three she must have heard something on a TV show or from someone- dont you think- and took it the wrong way? Has this since stopped or she still doesn’t play with her dark dolls? I didnt even think 3 year olds noticed people or dolls of different color, but I have a boy. Your post makes me very happy that I have a boy! The only Doll he wants is talking ‘Jessie’ from the movie Toy Story. But honestly when I took him with his gift card – he did not want her. Now he says he does again? I think the only way your situation could be worse is if you all were white. You would be branded racist and have no idea why. That is just crazy. Lots of love and good luck to you.

      Reply
  8. tracy

     /  June 5, 2012

    OMW, those “dolls” in their plastic coffins are the stuff of nightmares. I suggest we march on Toys-R-Us to demand they ban these gruesome creatures and take the manufacturers to the Film and Publication Board to have at least a 21 age restriction put on the things. These grillerige things are giving me the willies much more than the presidential penis did.

    Reply
  9. Alexandra

     /  June 5, 2012

    I agree I find these dolls freaky and creepy. But I find the fact that they’re packaged in plastic containers downright disturbing, it’s like child abuse.

    No way my children are having one of those even if I could afford one.

    Good luck to the entrepenuerial spirit out there who makes a fortune selling chocolate coloured dolls. Now that I would buy.

    Reply
  10. These have been on the market since last year.
    I too am freaked out about them and yes, they are made so realistic and with so much talent. But they are too expensive as well

    Reply
  11. I just saw one at a Reggies – about and hour ago and also took two steps back!

    Reply
  12. 11 and a half years ago I married my farmer and started teaching at the farm school. I found 4 black dolls. 2 with a winky and 2 with a life-ish like vajayjay. I had to search high and low for those dolls. I mentioned said privates as it was odd. no other dolls had private parts.

    I said it then and I’ll say it again….there is a niche market for black dolls in SA. I predicted this market years ago.

    On the matter, of the above mentioned, Chucky dolls in RM’s post today, I am totally unsettled by these dolls. They’re odd. They’re expensive. and they are freakiy. I don’t want one and neither will my kids EVER own one.

    It sort of smacks of psychological issues. (which we all have….but still…..)

    Reply
  13. I think they’re more than freaky and I’m really glad I have boy children 🙂

    Reply
  14. thecolouredfulwife

     /  June 5, 2012

    LOL, those dolls freak me out too. I thought those vintage porcelain dolls that people stock in their glass cabinets were bad but these are worse.

    I remember when I was younger I never wanted the “fairer skinned” newborn babies that my parents wanted to buy me because I wanted one that looked more like me. So if you do find some of these dolls let us know because I would still love to own one…

    Reply
  15. V

     /  June 5, 2012

    Those dolls freak me out as well. Always have, always will.

    Reply
  16. Dude! Forget the Tupperware, holy fack, did you see the price of those dolls????

    Reply
  17. Michele

     /  June 5, 2012

    I was also freaked out by those dolls in the plastic boxes, they are weird!!!
    My daughter is coloured and I have battled to find her a doll that is black or even coloured for that matter. The only black dolls I’ve found are ugly, seriously ugly. I’m still trying to fathom why they can’t make a pretty black doll. Anyway glad to see someone else has the same problem, maybe someone someday will wake up and make a whole lot of money by producing a nice, pretty black doll. I’ll be first in line to buy a few.

    Reply
  1. Babies in Tupperware? | The Reluctant Mom's Blog – Real Life Baby Dolls Online

Leave a Reply

