First Words and other Magic Moments

I have been lamenting for some time that Isabelle, who turns 3 on the 10 June 2012, does not talk.

She makes sounds which are variations in the level of screechs, but one would not consider it talking.

Last night I am sitting in my “Les Nesman” office, and there is a glass next to me.  The glass incidently, is not filled with wine as is the norm, but with Tonic Water and three slices of lemon.

Isabelle saunters in to the area, and she is holding her plastic juice bottle, filled with Oros even though it is around 6:30pm.

I carry on working.

Isabelle comes up behind me and as clear as the day is bright goes “CHEERS” and knocks her bottle against my glass.

I guess we can put that down as her first word.

<Isabelle saying Cheese like a Pirate>

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. And a very good first word too!

    Reply
  2. Alexandra

     /  June 8, 2012

    WKRP in Cincinatti – he had the wall marked out with masking tape.

    Both my children love saying cheers. Nothing to do with me (surprisingly) – their auntie taught them.

    You are way more relaxed than I was, I was threatening to take Aidan to a speech therapist because he was unlikely to reach the milestone of 50 words by his second birthday but then he went from 6 words to 50 words in a matter of weeks.

    Reply
  3. Cheers Isabelle!

    Reply
  4. Hi Celeste I love your blog! Your honesty has touched many of my heartstrings both as a mommy (albeit to teenagers) (and I warn you, little kids, little problems, big kids……) and a professional and new blogger. You are definitely my favourite mommyblogger.

    My son’s first word was “die” because as a speech therapist I shaped his babbling into a word – so I love Cheers 🙂 It rings true
    As a therapist – I am worrying a bit (hope you don’t mind). Get her checked out by a speech therapist.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 8, 2012

      Thanks Nikki, nice to meet you.
      I will get Isabelle assessed in the next three months if there is not a drastic/overnight improvement.

      Reply
  5. LOL! I’m amazed by how much she looks like Georgia in that photo! Cheers!

    Reply
  6. Charne

     /  June 8, 2012

    now there is a brilliant first word!!! And Isabelle is starting to look sooooo much like Georgia – wow!

    Reply
  7. Bevan

     /  June 8, 2012

    les nesman from wkrp in cincinnati? now there’s a blast from the past!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 8, 2012

      I am glad someone remembered — rememember he had the “fake” walls and door, which he would “imaginary” open and close when ever he went to his desk ….

      Reply
  8. Oh and a very Happy Birthday to Isabelle for Sunday! Cheers!

    Reply
  9. Bwhahahaha! J does the same. You know I don’t frequent alcoholic drinks but somehow J is always aware of My alcoholic drinks when I’m having them. The other day I was having Milo in avery fancy glass mug and he pipes up”Oh, Mummy’s having beer?” WTF? The way he carries on you’d swear I’m an alcoholic….

    Reply
  10. ha ha. mama se kind

    Reply

Leave a Reply

