Have I told you how much I hate birthday parties?

I love your children’s birthday parties, but I truly do not enjoy the planning and co-ordination that goes into a birthday party for my children.

I would love for them to have a truly spectacular birthday party.

I would love it more if I have absolutely nothing to do with the planning, and just come as a guest.  I want to be rich enough to employ a party planner, and then give them a large wad of cash, some basics outlines and walk away from the entire matter.

For one, I procrastinate.

I do not get all pinterest and make a huge album of great ideas for birthday parties.

I also think that kid’s birthday parties have lost touch with reality – moms go all out to prove they can throw the best party, either to indicate how much they love their child or to show up moms who cannot order a Happy Meal without forgetting the toy.

It is just all gone on so overboard.  The end result is that you also need to up your game or your party just looks like 2 cupcakes and a cheap candle!!

I barely get in under the wire to book a suitable venue and order a cake on the right day.

Then as I think I am getting some sort of momentum, I put together the invites, and this is about the part where I truly lose what is left of my very delicate mind, and my very thin level of ability to like other people.

What the helvetica is it about parents (yes moms) who cannot RSVP timeously?  Get the invite, decide if you like the child enough to go, check your diary, make a decision, rsvp – easy as shite.

I supply an email and a cell number, so in no way does the person actually have to speak to me.  You can sms or email me anytime.  Even at 2 am.

Really, just a “howzit, see you at the party” or “howzit, sorry won’t be at the party” – less than 144 characters, decision, push and send response should use up less time than it takes you to change a tampon.

But, each and every birthday party is the same shite.  Send invites.  Make it very clear in the best possible language you would appreciate it/love it/offer free blow.jobs if they just rsvp by the date you have indicated.

Usually in bold uppercase, and if you are feeling slightly pissy then you would add italics as well – I have considered attached a LCD light  so the date and time that I am begging for an rsvp for flashes.  Repeatedly.

Even with all of this more than 1/2 the stupid and rude parents do not rsvp.

So, I am stuck wondering if they are just not “rsvp people” and I should still plan for them to be there – you know cover the cost per child, order a party pack and all that, as if they arrive.

It is not the parent who is going to feel like a right chop, but the kid who is going to stand there like “orphan annie with no party to go to” as I go “hey what I surprise, did not realise you were coming, errrrr…………..” , or do I assume that they are “not rsvp people” an dnot coming, but are just rude as fk not to tell me.

Am I the only person this happens to?

Should I take this as a personal slight?  Are my children that unpopular, that parents do not RSVP in the hope that they hold out to see if they get a better invite for the same day?

Every year this crap annoys me, and this year is no less annoying.

Next year Georgia/Isabelle/Connor will be having a “take my two best” friends to a movie and a lunch – pick two friends, and bring them, that is all.

Fk this dozen kids shit.

Do I sound a bit annoyed?  You have no idea!!!  Just RSVP for cheese and rice, what the hell is wrong with you?

<<official club badge, I am president, busy looking for an executive committee, if interested please let me know ….. >> 

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Karen

     /  June 17, 2012

    The party was lovely. And I am so glad glad I responded the minute I received your invite. I just really thought on arrival that the sign “Wine tasting” was the directions to the party 🙂 Pity it wasn’t 🙂

    Reply
  2. Learning from the disgruntled mob and trying to behave like an evolved specie – I’ve managed thus far with both my children to follow the “You Can Invite the Amount Of Friends To Your Party of The Age That You’re Turning” – eg: 2 years old 2 friends, 7 years old 7 friends. I write this on the invitation making the invitee feel special – pointing out that if they let me know that they can’t make it there will be several other little party buddies in the wings just waiting to take their place, there’s nothing like a bit of competition if you want people to respond.

    So far it’s worked – and by the time they each turn 10, that will be the most children (and poxy parents) I’ll have to deal with 🙂 At 11 they get to invite one friend, 2 when they’re 12 etc.

    I hope that when they turn 21 all that we’ll have to spring for is a one way flight overseas……

    Reply
  3. When someone doesn’t RSVP it says this:
    1. lack of breeding(meaning NO manners)
    2. lack of class(meaning no thought for anyone else)
    3. A selfish FCK of note
    4. an arrogant twat
    5. ignorant/clueless fckwit (fit in where applicable)

    I hate it when people don’t RSVP too. What do they think? That people must smell what their plans are? Can anyone be more stooooopid?

    I feel your pain.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 15, 2012

      This entire thing totally does my head in. It is the worst part of the party planning which I am already slightly less than fond of.

      Reply
  4. Reblogged this on MamaTattoo and commented:
    I love this blog!!!

    Reply
  5. Alexandra

     /  June 14, 2012

    One of my pet hates too. So I end up making extra party packs just in case while cursing the parents who haven’t responded.

    Reply
  6. Juanne

     /  June 14, 2012

    I feel your pain Celeste. I freakin hate it that people can’t just rsvp before the time. When I get an invite for a child birthday party, braai or whatever, I reply on the same day I get it if I know for sure that I don’t have anything on. Why oh why do you need to wait until exactly the day of the rsvp date to decide if your child or yourself can attend or not????!!!!!????!!!!! I can write an essay on how I feel about it but let’s leave it for now…..

    Reply
  7. This appears to be a universal problem :-/ It happens EVERY year for my kids too!! I will sms the moms whose numbers I have and ask if they are coming and STILL the reply is 50/50 :-/

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  June 15, 2012

      Part of me is glad it is not only me — but it still makes me fume!!! I am one day away from Georgia’s party and still have several guests outstanding who have not responded at all.

      Reply
  8. Carrie

     /  June 14, 2012

    OMG This drives me nuts! I will join your committee too! It happens at ALL events – kids as well as adult parties. I am planning a party for this Saturday – where I will be making supper, but just 2 says to go, and I have no idea how many I am catering for!
    Then there are also those that RSVP that they will be there, and then decline 2 hrs before the party when you have already spent time and money catering for them.
    Or those that RSVP (via Facebook) and hour before the party starts, when you are running around like a headless chicken in order to get everything sorted, so dont have time to check facebook – and then they get all huffy with you when they arrive! “I did RSVP you know”

    Reply
  9. Tania

     /  June 14, 2012

    You are not alone. It doesn’t help YOUR situation, but, you are not alone…

    Reply
  10. Share you sentiments! It’s the same here in Joburg! no RSVPs

    Reply
  11. I hate it! RSVP is not as difficult. I will join your committee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

