Stay at Home Moms …. kill me now!

If I have ever spoken derogatively to a stay at home mom, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies.

If I have ever used a tone in my voice to make it sound like the fact that I have a job to go to (that allows me to brush my teeth and leave the house) is in any way better than your situation, please let me offer my humblest apologise.

I am working from my little corner in my house.  Each morning I wake up and get out of bed, as if I have a place to go to work.

I shower and brush my teeth simultaneously, dress, scream at kids to get ready, throw kids in car, forget something and have to go back, scream at kids for fighting in car, try to explain to Connor that I am slightly not interested in his Star Wars sticker collection ….. check that everyone is buckled in, reverse, argue with Georgia over {insert several options}, check time realise I am late …. get a bit stressed

I stick to a schedule that in my head I need to be “at the office and working” no later than 08h30.

All of this “drop off madness” goes on for about an hour.

But then I have three kids safely deposited at various schools across the northern suburbs, and I head home to make some tea, a nutella smeared sandwich and quietly (yet happily) work until about 16h40 and then I dash off to grab kids and it all begins again.

I have quiet content working time from 08h35 – 16h40.  Bliss does not even begin to hint at it.

No one is screaming.

No one is arguing.

No one needs a bum wipe.

I just get on with my day and it is all rather blissful.  I am a little worker bee content with my lot in life.  Happy. Happy. Content is me.

But then last Wednesday Isabelle was sick and stayed home.

My day descended into crying, moaning and the constant pulling of the corner of my jacket and the high pitched whine of “Mem, Mem, Mem …” in ever louder repetition (from Isabelle, not the maid, though she also calls me Mem….go figure).

Isabelle was off sick on Wednesday and Thursday.  Thursday I said that even if she has the bubonic plague she is going to school on Friday.

I don’t care if she infects every last child in her school, as long as I can have a few hours away from that incessantly whining and crying.

50 kids sick is a small price to pay for my 8 hours of peace and mental stability.

Friday arrived and she was still really sick.  I dressed her for school oblivious to the fact that she was coughing up a lung and green coloured sputum.  I just wanted her to go to her place where they make something arty with a Marie biscuit and she gets to play with her little Asian friend, and be 2km away from me.

Kennith called and said I really should not be sending her to school.

I cussed, only because he was right and I knew that the next 8 hours were going to be painful and only one of us was going to get medication.

Geez Louise!  At least I had today to send her off to school – and I think I might have hummed in happiness after I dropped them off.

I have absolutely no idea how stay at home moms cope.  I am convinced they are made from a certain mettle (not sure how to spell that, too lazy to go and google it) which I appear to have an alarming under supply of.

Stay at home moms, I seriously have no idea — like none —- how you do it, and appear to remain sane!  I don’t envy you, but I am amazed in wonder and humbleness.

{like Reluctant Mom, please pop along and vote over at Kidz World Blogger Awards}

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. How we manage to appear to remain safe? Well, the key word is APPEAR. We’re always two words away from losing it completely 😉

    Reply
  2. Well, this is the part where you hear people say “being a sahm is EASY”. Boy, what do they know?! Took me years before I finally figure out how I would deal with all the whining and crying and non stop mess inside home 🙂 Its insane, but I’m loving it!

    Reply
  3. I think both ways can be hard, I stay at home and work at home too. Hubby and I run a business together, so it’s all a bit of a mix up at time. Four year old’s at preschool until 2p.m. every day, but two year old at home. Hubbys just as likely to be with the kids whilst I’m working as vice verca. And we have no Nanny or help, very appreciated babysitters … I love it hey, it’s hard but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Reply
  4. Janine Rose

     /  June 20, 2012

    Thank you for this post. I get so cross when people ask me what I do and I tell them I am a Sahm and I either get ask ‘is that it?’ or ‘you so lucky’. I don’t have a maid at all so I am the chief toilet cleaner, and I have days when the only adult I talk to is my husband who usually studies in the evenings because he is studying part time and working. I need to learn to drink more…

    Reply
  5. Bwahahaha!!!! I can only laugh becuase I feel the same way! I was not BOrn that way! I am not SAHM material. Once in a while, I’ll take a day off and keep Dudie home. But those are becoming few and far in between. Last week, I was off for the week with Flu. Dudie also showed symptoms, so me being the “wannabe mommy of the year” decide to keep him home on Wed. Then I thought, I might as well keep him home for the week and then he can recover properly as he’ll have the weekend too. Well, we made it through Wed, barely got through Thursday. And by then I was ready to kill anyone including DH if they just looked at me. I threw my toys out the cot and took Dudie to school on Friday. I left him there for the whole day, after DH suggested that I take him for half day. Well, they got home, to a somewhat more approachable me.

    Reply
  6. WAAAAHAHAH! I had to laugh. I am sick as a dog, but I’d rather come to work and infect the entire office than stay home with Hannah, who stays home with our helper. I could never be a stay at home mom. Ever.

    Reply
  7. Helen (1st-Timer)

     /  June 19, 2012

    Nah it’s not that bad once you get used to it – provided you’re organized and have help. My 2y old is at school from 8.30 until 12 and we have activities for 3 afternoons a week and my dad babysits 1 afternoon while I tutor. I do have a char twice a week though. I actually think it is much harder for working moms. You have to combine “quality” child time with daily house admin and your job – all rounded off with somr working mom guilt. At least I get to do the PnP shopping in relative peace… I have no idea how working moms get everything done and remain even faintly well adjusted.

    Reply
  8. I am home in the afternoons with my 28-month-old daughter. We usually have 3 afternoon activities a week and now that it is school holidays and they’re all closed, I’m stressing about what to do with her every day! I certainly couldn’t do it all day, every day!

    Reply
  9. Hilary

     /  June 19, 2012

    Having been home intermittently over the last 2 weeks with my 16mnth and 4yr old (on seperate occassions ) who was sick with Gastro (yes, shit indeed) I know exactly what you’re saying. Thanks for helping to ease my guilt for wishing I was anywhere but there. Stay at Home Mums rock!

    Reply
  10. Alexandra

     /  June 19, 2012

    I totally agree, I could not be a SAHM – I’m just not made that way.

    Reply
  11. Mike

     /  June 19, 2012

    Actually, you may have been just a teeny bit “well how hard can it be?” in between Matthew being born and the arrival of Connor…

    Reply
  12. I’m with you – I do not know how do they do it. I have the utterly most respect for them. Hats off to them.

    Reply
  13. ,,,,,,,,,,oh yes! at least you dont have the constant cleaning and washing to do aswell,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,SO OVER IT,,,,,,,,, have to blog in my insomnia time,,,,,,,,,enjoy the moments when you get them,, and will definately be voting for you!xxxxxxx

    Reply
  14. I go crazy occasionally. What was especially hard was when DH was deployed and we had two teenagers at home and a preschooler–and we homeschooled. We have no family close, so that was a very hard time. We are still homeschooling, still have the kids, and DH is retired from the military. But things look better, mostly because of Pristiq anti-depressant. It is working wonderfully for me. I don’t feel like biting their heads off anymore. 🙂

    Reply
  15. I totally agree – it is far easier to to work (even with other people’s kids) than stay with your own.

    Reply
  16. Lovely!!! I understand completely – your time gets high jacked!

    Reply
  17. I miss working from home. A lot. Staying home with my sweet son would kill me though. I love him, but could not spend all day every day with him and I can assure you he feels the same way. I don’t want to run my own business and work from home jobs are scarce so I go off to work happily and thankful that I have my own office and work with really nice people.

    Hats off to stay at home moms!

    Reply
  18. working from home is hectic with kids hanging on your eyelash. I sometimes lock myself in my workroom.

    Reply
  1. A Stay at Home Parent Is Not Your Backup Plan | Tiffany Bernard

Leave a Reply

