Barney is back .. that stupid purple singing dinosaur …

When Connor was a baby/toddler he was never allowed to watch television at will.

He was only allowed to watch the things that we put on for him.  Part of the reason (and this was before the joy of ceebeebies) was that I did not want him to be exposed to the adverts and also there was not a dedicated channel dedicated to younger kids, and Cartoon Network did not exactly fill me with joy, actually it still doesn’t.

So he got all the usual stuff Teletubbies, Postman Pat and Bob the Builder.  We had tons of Videos {look at us rocking it old school, but in our defense this was back in 2001, so videos were a bit more popular than DVDs back then.) and we could glue him to the tv for 3 weeks solid with the amount of stuff we had, so it was not like he was starved of choice.  Connor liked Teletubbies and he also liked Bob the Builder.

We had Barney but Connor was not interested and only showed an interest in Barney at around 4 years old.

My kids do not appear to be interested in Barney when they are smallies, but take to him around 2 1/2 and 3 1/2 or older.  The result is we get a few years break when we forget about Barney and the precocious children who sing along with him, but then someone pulls a DVD out and then it all comes back to you in horrific colour.

Isabelle has proved she is not the exception.  She has never shown an interest in the annoyingly happy purple dinosaur until about two months ago, but now she is hooked.

When she comes in to the tv room, she goes over to the cabinet where all the DVDs are packed and points at the Barney one and she goes “MUM, MUM, MUM….”

Late last week she does the usual, sits on the couch, Dexter (our Boston Terrier) hops up, and the two of them sit there absolutely dumb struck as Barney sings his way through “I love you, you love me….”  I am sure Dexter wanted to make a run for it, but Isabelle decided to hold him near so he wasn’t going to be going anywhere.

I am not sure the expression (for both of them) is love and enjoyment, it looks a lot more like shock and despair!

{Like Reluctant Mom, even just a little, please pop along and vote over at Kidz World Blogger Awards – Vote every day, as many times as you can click …. easy peasy}

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I no how Dexter feals “U SUCK U DANG DINO-FREAKAZOID!” btw lol on the pic. luved it!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Hilary

     /  June 27, 2012

    That is a freaking hilarious pic. I bet Dexter’s thinking ‘how the hell did I end up being the one to be put through this’ LOL

    Reply
  3. My oldest was hooked on B bigtime but grew out of it at about 5 or so. Luckily he never took to Teletubbies – can’t stand them! My soon to be 3 year old also does not really like the tubbies and he has not discovered Barney either. He is Mickey Mouse verskrik but will watch anything on Disney Junior. Everything the oldest used to watch is on video and we haven’t bothered to convert them or to buy new dvd’s so generally it is Disney Junior. I hear ‘Oh Tooooodles’ in my frikkin nightmares!!! And have to hit myself over the head when I catch myself singing Hot flipping diggity dog!!!

    Reply
  4. Gogga

     /  June 26, 2012

    Mmmm, that purple freaky thing is not a happy animal and I think Dexter detected it.
    Was Barney not used on those torture islands on terrorists to confess?

    Reply
  5. As long as they love watching and I get a bit off… It works for me! We know he is harmless! (I hope so?)

    Reply
  6. thecolouredfulwife

     /  June 26, 2012

    I HATE BARNEY!!!! and luckily my almost 4year old has not found a liking to him yet…fingers crossed that he skips this phase totally…LOVE the picture by the way…

    Reply
  7. My kids loved Barney as well. Thankfully he didn’t work on my nerves as much as he does on other parents it seems! 😉

    Reply
  8. Joyce

     /  June 26, 2012

    I still can’t get over Dexter’s expression. I can tell he really despises that purple dinosaur… I love this pic.

    Reply
  9. Ah Barney, I have to admit avoiding him a little. I also ‘edit’ the kids viewing, also use avi files and the PC. But then Nanny bought the youngest a Barney book … now he can sing the song too … And he looks exactly like Isabelle when he watches!

    Reply
  10. My children are also not allowed to watch Tv, Amandalynn who will be 6 on Thursday – I say with a tear in my eye – has learnt to work the DSTV remote and she is allowed to watch channel 309 the Disney Junior channel, we have talked and she understands that if she puts it on any other channel without my permission she wont be allowed to watch DSTV ever again. If you change the channel to Cartoon network she will run and tell me she does not want to watch it. Any way…

    On the subject of Barney, we have every DVD he has ever made!
    Amandalynn still loves him and Lorelai has been enjoying him for the last 2 years, he has been living in my house for 6 years. I wish they will out grow him some time soon! I hum his stupid toons in my bed at night!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

