The one where Kennith climbs a Mountain!

Kennith is a bit of a lie on the couch, scratch his crotch, and reach for the remote kind of guy – but who amongst us isn’t, right?

But you give him a challenge.  You throw 2 or 3 other people in to the challenge and that gets Kennith moving like a mad man.  That boy does “competition” like no one’s business.

He goes from couch potato to super hero in a moment! Underpants on the outside and everything.

Kennith is always trying to draw me into challenges. “come on let’s see who can…..” but I prefer to operate on my own steam. I do not get all worked up with power high fives, and chest beating when I am hunting in a packc – me I am a loner.  Like to do my sh&t, like to do it alone.

I am not really motivated by group rah-rah-rahs.  But that is where Kennith and I differ on a fundamental way.

I am not sure where the idea of climbing Mt Elbrus came from.  I am fairly sure the blame sits with John Black, who is also known for climbing anything that sits still long enough.  He has also been known to blow aerosole cans apart in fires, but that is the fun that John Black brings.

Kennith did Kilimanjaro back in 2005, and he really enjoyed it – I think the week after the mountain in Zanzibar probably made it all the better, no doubt.  The added “benefit” of a newborn baby at home, was probably more motivation to exit at the nearest border control and head for sunny places where they say things like “Relax ….. and chill……….”

Kennith really got behind the idea of doing Mt Elbrus.   I think he really got behind it from end of last year, like really got behind it!

He hiked, biked and worked out like a man possessed.

Granted he did leave me with three kids whilst he went off to be “challenged” each weekend on a bike ride or a hike, but I am trying not to hold that against him (with the help of weekly psychologist meetings and medication) but you must admire his ability to put his head down and just get on with it.

Kennith started this epic adventure weighing close to 130 kilograms.

He started cycling and took part in The Argus and a few other get-on-your-bike-spike adventures.  This year was his second Argus.  Whilst last year he looked like death warmed up when it was over, this year, he just looked a spot of tired.

Kennith found a trainer and the two of them would get together at the local gym at about 5am to throw kettles around and basically to see if Kennith could rupture his sphincter.  Exercise is not the most stimulating thing in the world, listening to someone else’s rendition of their exercise at about 6:30 am is a bit less than awe inspiring, but anyway, must give the boy his dues.

Kennith cut down on ice cream, cakes, beer and all things good.  His idea of a good meal would include chicken without skin and a salad.  His drink of choice has been water.  Every meal this year has been “what’s for dinner, but it can’t have carbs…” which nullifies my idea of dinner being 4 slices of white bread with 2 inches of Nutella spread on it!

Kennith has been working like a demon and just before he left he weighed in at 98 kilograms!  A very impressive achievement by anyone’s standard.

He flew out on Friday, 22 June and is back on the 16 July.  On Friday (just past) they were making a go for the summit, so I have not heard from him since then.  I heard from him today and he confirmed that they made the summit, which is such an achievement.

Some bits of random information about Elbrus, in the event you are too lazy to google it:

  • Mount Elbrus, the highest mountain in Russia, is also the highest mountain in the Caucasus Range in southern Russia near the border with Georgia. Mount Elbrus with 15,554 feet (4,741 meters) of prominence is the tenth most prominent mountain in the world.
  • Elbrus has two summits with the West Summit at 18,510 feet (5,642 meters) slightly higher than the East Summit at 18,442 feet (5,621 meters).
  • Mount Elbrus is perpetually snow-covered with an icecap and 22 glaciers. Three major rivers—Baksan, Malka, and Kuban—arise from the glaciers.
  • Climbers regularly die on Mount Elbrus, as many as 30 a year. In 2004 alone, 48 climbers and skiers died on the mountain. Elbrus is considered one of the world’s most deadly peaks with a high ratio of climber deaths to climbers.

So at the moment Kennith is on his way down Mt Elbrus.  Here are some pictures in the event that you are curious in a voyeuristic sort of way.

Kennith at the airport – all decked out in Cape Union Mart gear.

Kennith and Natalie Black – Natalie by the by is pregnant and has skewed the bar for all pregnant people, now and forever. If you think after this you can lie on the couch and moan about being pregnant, your husband/boyfriend is going to google Natalie’s picture and come and show you how you should look and that you should have an ice pick, as you shovel yet another cupcake in your pie hole.

Who knew a mountain covered in ice could be this much funny?  Nope not me.

And this is a very exhausted looking Kennith.

Could you imagine having that much ice around you, and being that exhausted and having to get your arse down a mountain?  Nope, me neither, but kudos to Kennith.  I would have curled up in a ball, eaten all my snacks and quietly gone to sleep, forever!

What Dexter said when I told him Kennith climbed a mountain …. you get the sense that Dexter is voicing my thoughts “Why the hell would you climb a mountain, just so you can come down it again?  Bitch please!!”

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I’m well impressed. Inspired. And also feeling fat, lazy and guilty. In that order!
    Farksakes now I have to drag my butt out for a run today! Meh.

    Reply
  2. Claire

     /  July 5, 2012

    Question: how do us readers end up with husbands that do odd extreme sporting activities? My husband did the Wild Run last year. Why would anyone want to run for 3 days?…unless something ferocious was chasing you. Like one of those Planet Fitness recruiters.

    Well done to your husband for being hardcore!

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 5, 2012

      I found a lay on the couch guy — but now he has turned in to Johnny Extreme — I think it is all a thin veiled attempt to get away from the kids …..

      Reply
  3. Joyce

     /  July 4, 2012

    Nice post Celeste. The guy has done really well. He has been less fun for the rest of us, but he really looks good and must feel great!

    Reply
  4. Elbrus. thanks for the lowdown. WAS too lazy to google it. Now I’ve learnt something. Well done Kennith, well done my boy!

    Reply
  5. Dave

     /  July 3, 2012

    What an achievement! Go Kennith

    Reply
  6. Charne

     /  July 3, 2012

    Wow! Super impressive. Well done Kennith and Natalie!!! And Celeste – well done for holding up the fort at home (personally, I think the mountain climb may have been easier).

    Reply
  7. Hilary

     /  July 3, 2012

    Hope you dont mind my saying, but I gotta say it, Kennith is looking really hot in that first pic.

    Reply
  8. Wow! Well done Kennith. Now, I feel even worse about not getting my arse into gear yet. I want to do the Two Oceans next year…. I better get a move on.

    Reply
  9. Wow! Way to go Kennith! And looking hot too!
    But in all seriousness, I’m with Dexter on this one!

    Reply
  10. Ah Dexter boy, clever kid! Anyways, I am suitably impressed with Kenneth and the mad preggy girl! I always though climbing our local koppie at 28 weeks preggers with twins was a rare achievement, but clearly not

    Reply
  11. I’m with Dexter on this one… crazy people…

    Reply
  12. and the fact that the doggie made it too. Brilliant!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

