Franschhoek I have your number! Call me, let’s get together.

Thanks again to everyone who reads this blog, and everyone who comments, and everyone who went along to VOTE.  Like really, thank you {tips hat}

I have had such awesome feedback and it really is all quite lovely. Yes, I appear like I don’t give a toss, but of course it is all caramel cupcakes and unicorns when someone says good things about my blog.

YOU LIKE ME, YOU REALLY LIKE ME!!  {gush gush}

Kennith has been away for about a month, so I have become a “hiking” widow.  I have had house, hearth and heathens (cleverly disguised as my children) to deal with.  Alone.  By myself.

I must confess there have been times when I have wanted to just off the entire household, but then there were times when the house is quiet, everyone is sleeping, I am making starfish shapes as I have the entire bed to myself, and I am surfing DSTV like a Mr-Price Surfing Champion!

He is due back next week Monday, and on Tuesday we have decided to take the day off work and spend the day celebrating/drinking cheap wine.

I am attempting to go to Franschoek – yes, I still have not been there.

I was aiming to go there on my birthday this year, but then circumstances conspired to work against me.  I do realise that I am probably the ONLY person living in Cape Town, who has not been to Franschhoek.  But there we go.  I am a Franschhoek Virgin!

I am so ready to pop THAT cherry.

On 17 July hopefully we are heading out for lunch/wine/truffles in Franschhoek – and I can buy a been there, done that t-shirt.

Things to celebrate over at the MacBarlow Manse:

1.  Reluctant Mom Winning Mommy Blogger 2012 – she still makes me proud {sniff} that old girl!

2.  Kennith summitting Elbrus, Russia and returning in one piece.  He has also lost a ton of weight and is super fit – he is at that point where he likes to stand around in his form-fitting underpants and says “you like, you like??”

3.  Kennith and my wedding anniversary on 17 July, and is also our first-date-anniversary – we got married on the date specifically for this.  I think our first date anniversary is 18 years and our wedding is 3 years.  Kennith only counts the 18 years – he gets quite chipped off if you say that we have been married “only 3 years”.

4. Happy Helpers -{ Nanny and Domestic Agency in Cape Town } taking off so damn well.  I am so proud of my little fledging.  She has managed to fall out the nest, and not nose dive into the tarmac.  Bless her little cotton socks!

5. Tuesday is as good as any day to celebrate that SCHOOL HOLIDAYS are the fk over, and kids can be handed back over to the school system!

Much to celebrate!

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. thelms

     /  July 11, 2012

    Wow!!!! You should be so PROUD of yourself.. I am very proud of how your new nanny business has turned out too well done. Yes Franshoek is a very special place and where ever you go enjoy the chocolates and wine cos its paradise town for these treats. Will be thinking of you guys.

    Reply
  2. Superb plan! Enjoy

    Reply
  3. Alexandra

     /  July 11, 2012

    Sounds superb and completely justifiable for ANY of the reasons above. I am trying to wangle myself a girls’ weekend away in Franschhoek for the first weekend in December – the Franschhoek Bubbles Festival (I’m a bubbly slut).

    Reply
  4. Katherine

     /  July 11, 2012

    go to rickety bridge – yummy wine!

    Reply
  5. Oooh! You have got to go to Haute Cabriere it is simply fabulous and they make some of my most favourite wines and champagnes! http://www.cabriere.co.za/
    Enjoy and congrats to all the wonderful achievements!

    Reply
  6. Hilary

     /  July 11, 2012

    Speaking as a mum to two toddlers who’s been at creche the whole time… I am L-O-V-I-N-G the smooth ride to work in the mornings. Dreading next Monday’s traffic nightmare already!!! P.S. Have a fab day with Super K aka Kennith…

    Reply
  7. Joyce

     /  July 11, 2012

    Oh and don’t forget to buy handmade (very yummy!!!) cocolates from the Chocolatier (?) in Franschhoek. Champagne truffles…. yummy!

    Reply
  8. Joyce

     /  July 11, 2012

    It sounds like Tuesday is gonna be your day chick! And you guys deserve it. So hopefully we can also see you guys soon too!

    Reply
  9. Congrats on all that is to be celebrated! Well done for winning Mommy Blogger.

    Reply
  10. giggle giggle about handing kids over. Franschoek is JUST the smooth side of the dogs bollocks. Love it. But don’t expect much in case you’re dissapointed. There’s a lovely Frenchy Decor shop on your right hand side as you drive into town. You must visit that for me. Who knows when I’ll leave the Eastern Cape again to viist that shop. (slightly jealous)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

