No, seriously what the hell is in PRITT?

Is anyone else a bit shocked/outraged/ready to shit in their pants at the price of a tube of PRITT?

I did the usual buy-stationery-at-the-last-possible-moment stint this afternoon.

But, I love stationery, like in an unholy way.  I adore stationery shopping, so it is hardly a onerus task – I usually throw in a few pens for myself, for good measure, and as a thanks for being so damn awesome.

I am fine with paying R42.00 for a pack of Monami twister crayons.  I am okay with R12 for 3 HB Pencils, but the part that makes me throw up a little in my mouth is R45.00 for ONE tube of frik’n PRITT!

Which would almost be fine if my kids did not go through it like they were eating the stuff.  They must fkn love sticking, because I could be buying a tube every month, and this is after being nagged that they need PRITT for at least a week or more.

It is not the money, it is the value I connect to one tube of PRITT!

I mean seriously what the helvetica do they put into that stuff.  I am not sure whether to give it to my kids for school, or to tell them it is part of their birthday present.

Forty five frikn rand for a tube of PRITT!

But I bought it — but clearly with a touch of gall.  Does anyone know what is in it -I thought it was dead old horses, but clearly it is gold leaf or plutoniam.

Next Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. I know! BUt I just buy the no name brand stuff – to hec with the Pritt the list mentions.

    Reply
  2. ros

     /  July 16, 2012

    privilege, schmivlege – just because you have kids, irrespective of their level of skills, etc, does not make it OK for the corporates to rip us off. Checkers does indeed have on special, and yes, they also sell a brand that works just as well …stix-something, for much less. (you will usually find those brands that spend big bucks on advertising tend to be the more expensive, in their range. (ex: Woolies house chocs that are manufactured by cadbury’s, yet you are paying lots more for them than the good ol’ glass an a half versions). As a matter of interest, we stay in a small town, and find that our p ‘n p, Spar, etc, are more expensive on general items (not national specials) than the city branches.

    Reply
  3. Alexandra

     /  July 16, 2012

    I noticed that a year or so ago when I was ordered some for the office. Thought it was just me being out of touch but it did seem disproportionately expensive.

    Reply
  4. Joyce

     /  July 16, 2012

    I don’t understand why people still buy Pritt! There is a different brand (don’t ask me the name) that sticks just as well as Pritt does and costs a fifth of the price! Maybe it is toxic, I don’t know because I have always just bought it for myself and I don’t intend licking or eating it like my child would, but for a long time now I have been boycotting Pritt because of the price!

    Reply
  5. Geezo that’s alot of moola! Glue is also a staple in our home – I buy the PnP tube which is R10.00 and works just fine – and it still annoys me to toss it in as regularly as I buy toothpaste. I really don’t know what my kid does with all his glue…
    And I can be grateful for motor skills and lament blatant consumerism in one breath! I can multi-task like dat! xx

    Reply
    • Tania

       /  July 16, 2012

      Sadly there are always kids with parents who could not be bothered and thus use our kids stationery. I see it all the time with my 2 children. They are taught to share & be kind & so others take advantage of that.

      Reply
      • @Tania… that might be the case, but if I know my kid – he’s just as likely gluing his classmates to their chairs!!! 🙂

        Reply
  6. You got ripped off – Checkers Hyper has it for R24.99 for 43g

    Reply
    • Tania

       /  July 16, 2012

      Even though THAT is also crazy expensive, it is sure better than R45

      Reply
  7. Yo can look at it like that, I guess. Or you can count buying your kids Pritt, as an absolute blessing, that they have the hands, gross motor skills, fine motor skills, brain faculties to use it. What a priveledge.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  July 16, 2012

      They can also have thier fine motor skills with mazeina+a bit of water …..the issue is what is in PRITT to make it R42/R45 a tube!

      Reply
  1. Thanks for writing……….. « The fat diaries

Leave a Reply

