I love books, and have just discovered the Library!

I prefer to buy my own books.  I browse bookstores for hours, I can hang around kalahari.net like a troll for hours and choose books.  I love reading almost as much as I love finding and purchasing books.

Having a birthday or other festival and hoping for a gift – expect a book if I have anything to do with it??

I have tried libraries. I have found, in the past, that libraries do not like me.  I can read a book in a day, but the moment you apply pressure to me that I must read a book by a particular date/time then it is like the kiss of death.  Then I develop reader’s block and I miss the 2 week deadline, and next thing I am receiving window envelopes from the library reminding me of the cost of replacing the clutch of books I have been holding for 4 months and change.

I have been “expelled” from too many libraries to count, and that is fine as I love buying books, so have just had to rethink grocery shopping to allow the bulk of the money for bread and snacks to go towards books. Easy enough.  So now I buy books, and then I buy groceries with the money that is left.

Sorry kids, no horse riding lessons or braces this year, Mommy needs to buy books.

I went along to Bellville Library and was AMAZED by how large and well stocked the library was.  I stood on the blue industrial carpet and clapped and squeaked like a demented seal amazed.

The real prize for me, was that they have Audio Books. I love Audio Books, and if you have ever tried to buy any you will realise it is cheaper just to pay someone R60.00 an hour to read the book to you, slowly!

Audio book are ridiculously expensive.  And Bellville library have a ton of them.  I joined the library and was so proud when they handed my little laminated card over to me. It was like keys to the chocolate factory.

I have been wanting to read “Company of Liars” by Karen Maitland – it is a real block of a book and every time I pick it up for some reason I just cannot get started on it.

It is set around the 1348 Plague in England.  Excellent book, but a reading commitment.  But no more – I picked up the Audio Book – 16 CD set of unabridged version, and I have been listening to it in the car for the last two weeks.  Brilliant, brilliant – well read, enthralling story, and I get to listen to this instead of listening to the radio.

And the “hidden benefit” is that the kids go quiet when they get in car so they can listen to it — no screaming, no fighting, we all sit in silence listening to an audio book.  It has made me look at collecting the kids from school with an entirely new enthusiasm, and especially if you add the fact that I run the car heater on MAXIMUM.

Warm car + a person reading you a book.  Heaven freaking heaven!!  With my library card, I get to take out books, audio books, movies and CDs – I am so delighted with this find.  Well done City of Cape Town for a rocking Library system.

{above image with actual book title “When Did Wild Poodles Roam the Earth?” by David Feldman ……. I am so hooked, so expect me to drop pearls of wisdom quite soon}

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I’m definitely a book buyer. I have trouble reading books that other people have read unless it’s someone I know lending me the book. I feel like a weirdo, but that’s just how it is. Library in my area doesn’t have much selection, so that doesn’t help.

    Reply
  2. KennithB

     /  August 8, 2012

    So where is that kindle I bought you?

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  August 8, 2012

      In the first draw of my desk, top right hand side.

      I love the idea of a kindle, but I think I am just one of those people who likes the feel and smell of paper and ink.

      Reply
  3. I have also rediscovered our library ans the kids books are great. Every two weeks the kids thinks its Christmas when I bring the new books home

    Reply
  4. Good things in Jhb – listeners library! Have always used them on long trips and we have often landed up driving around the block ten times just to finish the book. Now also use audible.com $7.99/monthfor 1st 3months and then it goes up a bit but you can cancel at any point and download books onto iPod/iPhone . Far more convenient and you have them forever!

    Reply
  5. I used to trawl the library with my mom from about 4yrs to 13yrs most Saturday mornings. (I went to a farm school and we didn’t have sport on Saturdays.) When my mom phoned to book the church for our wedding, the Secretary of the church, who happened to be the old retired faithful librarian from my youth, remembered me from the library and wouldn’t let my mom pay the 800 South African Rond for the church…so in that case my loyalty paid off…LOL

    We have a very arb library here. So I buy books. But great to expose your kids to a library if you have the chance to.

    Reply
  6. One Parent Short

     /  August 8, 2012

    Have you seen this website? I was addicted to it for years when I had The Worlds Most Boring Job, and you just reminded me to go and find it again …
    http://awfullibrarybooks.net/index.php?s=phunology

    Reply
  7. Tania

     /  August 8, 2012

    Milnerton Library is also a great place. As a child I loved it, as an adult, living in the Cape, I loved it, now when I visit, I go there with my kids just to experience it. We have libraries up here but the ones in my area are satelite ones, or very old & danky & open odd hours. In saying that, my son takes his 6 books every 2 months, choosing them he enjoys just as much as reading them. Emily loves choosing her own too. We have something called friends of the library up here, for R30 a year, you are allowed to keep the books for a month, thereafter, renew for another 1-2 months if need be.

    Reply
    • reluctantmom

       /  August 8, 2012

      I saw a note about “friends of the library” so I will look in to it.

      Reply
  8. Romaine

     /  August 8, 2012

    My Favourite Library is Bellville Library, the kids Love it as well. Must admit the only thing I go there for is kids books though have never tried audio books will definitely have a look at it though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

